Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2011, 08:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Route Transfers Using NME0183

I use CPN to upload routes from an XP tablet to my Raymarine C70 via a NMEA 0183 buss. I cannot successfully upload a 49 waypoint route to the plotter. I can send smaller routes. When the uploaded data is observed at the plotter, all the ecwpl strings are received but the final ecrte string is not.

Question
What will the last 49 waypoint route statement look like? If the route is short enough, the C70 receives it. I'm suspecting when the number of way points push the string beyond two 82 character strings, somebody barfs. I cannot tell who is unhappy because CPN does not allow you to see what it is transmitting. When the C70 is setup in the dianostic mode to observe what is being sent to it, I see all the ecwpt strings but no final ecrte string. If the route is small enough i.e. 12 way points the process is OK. Has anybody run across this problem??????

Phil
__________________

__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:42   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Llittlechay,
Thanks for getting back to me. I'm new to this. I cannot seem to get anybody to comment on the route xfer issue. I to use a mux and configured the computer, GPS and the C70 as inputs into the mux and then use what I need on the output. What started the problem is I initially chose SeaClear for the PC based program. When I uploaded routes, SeaClear's route xfer process sends all the way points (individual sentences, how ever many way points you have) and then it follows with the individual route information (it does this for how ever many way points you have i.e. 49 way points- 49 route sentences). The speed at which it xfers the data is of course 4800 but it does not hesitate between NMEA sentences. It rips through them in the blink of an eye. The problem is my mux may or may not choke on the data stream. I investigated CPN and it sends the same way point sentence but it delays for about a second before it sends the next way point. This process is repeated for all the way points. It's great by the way. Unlike SeaClear, CPN only sends one sentence for the route info. The route sentence contains all the way points. A 12 position route is ok but if you try and send a large route with 49 way points ( I chose 49 because the C70 states not to exceed 50 way points per route) it does not show up at the C70. I suspect CPN is xmitting the sentence but the C70 is not interpreting correctly. I cannot see what is xmitted because CPN only allows us to look at what is coming in. I have taken the mux out of the loop for troubleshooting because I have wondered if the problem was the length of the 49 waypoint route sentence. The syntax for the ecrte statement provides for multiple sentences, how many sentences I don't know. Any thoughts???? Thanks,

Phil
__________________

__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:59   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Phil,
not wanting to modify the code, I would try to setup Eterlogic - VSPE: tool for serial ports emulation with a Spy device to have a look at the NMEA stream going out.

If I manage to remember it, I will have a look at this issue on OpenCPN's side when I have a chance to get to a friend's boat with very similar config. He's gone to Greece now, so there will not be a chance before mid August though...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 13:25   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Phil, what OS are you using?
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 14:08   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Thanks Pavel and Littlechay,
The OS is XP I think I'm at 3 and to get the info out of the Samsung Tablet, I use a USB converter Development Modules
Specifically the eval232R
I'll look/get a hold of the eterlogic tool.

Thanks again

Phil
__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 08:57   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

To all that are interested in this thread.
I setup the eterlogic tool and observed the route sentence transmitted for a 49 waypoint route. The last few sentences are:
$ECWPL,3950.748,N,07303.733,W,047*7F
$ECWPL,3942.712,N,07304.070,W,048*7B
$ECWPL,3933.882,N,07305.419,W,049*70
$ECRTE,1,1,c,49pointroute,001,002,003,004,
005,006,007,008,009,010,011,012,013,014,015,
016,017,018,019,020,021,022,023,024,025,026,
027,028,029,030,031,032,033,034,035,036,037,
038,039,040,041,042,043,044,045,046,047,048,049*F3

I believe the character length exceeds the max length and as such the Raymarine C70 doesn't know what to do with it.

Phil
__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 09:21   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Phil,
do you have an idea how long the sentence can be or how does raimarine itself handle such a situation?

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 09:58   #8
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

nilespf/nohal....

Quick google search suggests is 80 chars, or 82 with crlf....

So, we need to split ECRTE into multiple sentences. That's defined in the protocol, but unimplemented in OpenCPN.

I'll take a look at the complexity/risk of doing this today....

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 11:20   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Dave/nohal,
CPN is a good citizen as it relates to the buss, it does not overload as SeaClear does so if you decide to solve the issue by transmitting 49 rte sentences I guess the only consequence would be a bit longer to upload. Whoever put the delay it the code really thought it through, it runs like a hose in my system. As mentioned before, there is a bunch of data my mux has to eat and as such, not much room left for an instrument/pgm that just blabs.

Phil
__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 11:23   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route xfers Using NME0183

Dave/nohal,
OOps forgot to ask, any chance of being able to see the outgoing data? I know, no good deed goes unpunished!!!!!

pn
__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 21:16   #11
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
Re: Route Transfers Using NME0183

pn...

I built a test version of OCPN with multi-sentence ECRTE upload.

You may download and test from

opencpn.org/httpdocs/downloads/test/opencpn.exe

This is the bare application, 2.4.715. You may copy it over your existing 2.4.714 in {Program Files}

You will see echo of NMEA sentences sent to GPS in the log.....

Quick feedback appreciated....trying to close out 2.5 Release.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 01:19   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Route Transfers Using NME0183

Correct link: http://opencpn.org/downloads/test/opencpn.exe
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 05:23   #13
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
Re: Route Transfers Using NME0183

nohal...

Thanks for the correction. Midnight brain fade.....

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 08:46   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route Transfers Using NME0183

I have downloaded and tried the new version, here is the output data on the buss. I will be sailing to Baltimore this weekend and will test to ensure the chart plotter (Raymarine, C70 Classic version) accepts the string. It looks like a million bucks and nice work!

Phil
__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 08:51   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Boat: Beneteau 361
Posts: 19
Re: Route Transfers Using NME0183

Forgot the data

$ECWPL,3950.748,N,07303.733,W,047*7F
$ECWPL,3942.712,N,07304.070,W,048*7B
$ECWPL,3933.882,N,07305.419,W,049*70
$ECRTE,5,1,c,49pointroute,001,002,003,004,005,006, 007,008,009,010,011*26
$ECRTE,5,2,c,49pointroute,012,013,014,015,016,017, 018,019,020,021,022*24
$ECRTE,5,3,c,49pointroute,023,024,025,026,027,028, 029,030,031,032,033*24
$ECRTE,5,4,c,49pointroute,034,035,036,037,038,039, 040,041,042,043,044*22
$ECRTE,5,5,c,49pointroute,045,046,047,048,049*23

short route name
$ECWPL,3950.748,N,07303.733,W,047*7F
$ECWPL,3942.712,N,07304.070,W,048*7B
$ECWPL,3933.882,N,07305.419,W,049*70
$ECRTE,4,1,c,test,001,002,003,004,005,006,007,008, 009,010,011,012,013*28
$ECRTE,4,2,c,test,014,015,016,017,018,019,020,021, 022,023,024,025,026*2E
$ECRTE,4,3,c,test,027,028,029,030,031,032,033,034, 035,036,037,038,039*2E
$ECRTE,4,4,c,test,040,041,042,043,044,045,046,047, 048,049*31

pn
__________________

__________________
nilespf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31
Export Route Data to Spreadsheet James Baines OpenCPN 2 11-07-2011 03:06
How to Convert "*.route" Route File into ".*wpt" File To Be Used in Maxsea V.10 doiroda Navigation 6 10-07-2011 00:53
How can I copy the Route Data file? James Baines OpenCPN 5 23-06-2011 15:20
iPad Route Navigation Cotemar Navigation 3 05-05-2011 07:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.