Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2018, 11:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 38
Route info to Raymarine via seatalk

Hello All
I regularly send route info to the autopilot (Raymarine st60+) from OpenCPN via nmea (wifi miniplex) I also have the Seatalk info coming back in to OpenCPN and car read the boat's data. I cannot, however send a route from OpenCPN to the autopilot using seatalk. Should this be possible? Is there some sort of formatting issue? I was hoping to ditch the NMEA bus and stick with seatalk but the autopilot screams "no data" at me when I disable the NMEA output.

Cheers.
__________________

jimseng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2018, 21:26   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 12,043
Re: Route info to Raymarine via seatalk

The nmea0183 commands are basically one waypoint at a time, just as a regular chartplotter does. Opencpn feeds the active route one wpt at a time, which is normal and as expected by the autopilot.

You have it workin properly
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 21:20   #3
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, BC Canada
Boat: Uniflite 31, 1973
Posts: 172
Images: 1
Re: Route info to Raymarine via seatalk

There was a RM NMEA/SeaTalk converter, now a discontinued product, you might look for one on ebay (save the search and get an email when one comes up). Connect your PC data in and out to the converter and connect it to the ST bus and it will work.
__________________
Experience develops good judgment; bad judgement develops experience.
EngNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 02:49   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany, sailing: Northsea
Boat: Friendship 28
Posts: 140
Re: Route info to Raymarine via seatalk

Hi,

if you want to use seatalk you have to translate the NMEA sentences to seatalk.

You can look here: www.gadgetpool.de - Die Homepage and youŽll find a "Seatalk NMEA Bridge". I use an older model from them and it works since years in both directions.

Regards

Andreas
Andreas29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 18:47   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 12,043
Re: Route info to Raymarine via seatalk

See Sup. Hardware
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...e:seatalk_nmea
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 19:48   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Marina del Rey
Boat: Hunter 31
Posts: 693
Re: Route info to Raymarine via seatalk

As mentioned above, you do not send a route to the autopilot. The route is in the chartplotter (Raymarine, Garmin, OpenCPN) and you send the current waypoint, bearing, distance, cross track error, etc. to the autopilot. You do not need any converters, just connect the nmea output from CPN to the nmea input on the ST60+.

There is also no useful information that you can take from the autopilot to OpenCPN, so you do not need the reverse connection. Now, if you have other Seatalk data such as depth, wind or speed, then you need a Seatalk to nmea converter to be able to use/display that. In most cases though, it is cheaper to display the data on the autopilot head.
__________________

Pizzazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, route, seatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Seatalk 1 To Seatalk Ng Converter Kit E22158 Wench'sCaptain Classifieds Archive 1 27-10-2015 20:09
Raymarine A50 Won't Send Data to SeaTalk surfmachine Marine Electronics 5 14-07-2012 18:23
Raymarine SmartController and SeaTalk NG ggarrouste Marine Electronics 8 17-07-2011 12:15
R&R SeaTalk Connector to Route Wire F51 Marine Electronics 1 13-03-2011 08:52
Raymarine E120 Display/SeaTalk for sale PS37 Classifieds Archive 1 16-03-2009 14:40



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.