Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2011, 16:34   #16
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Thanks,Dacust(for your other helps I read and site too !)Thanks Sinbad!So that's what a "ply" is..!
I was just investigating some chart-gobbledeegeekas sinbad suggested ...and find When CHS digitised the whole paperchart,the ol paper borders are there but hidden when viewed on screen in a nav program.The Plys control this(Now I know what Plys are!)...so I don't see scales and big white borders that the paper charts have.But Likely,newer charts don't have 2" borders and scales as you say,sinbad...

I think too I get from this what Cagney was saying per big-borders that he pointed out in #2 as a weakness?But my actual experience in tiff2kap of this so far is only in saving a totally BLANK white template.It's a quirk I came to once.It wants a palette...Some RGB values?

Therefore,I guess It's well to start with ANY picture or chart with some colour ,is all.
Frankly,it's a bonus where I don't have to use map_cal2 at all.It's wonderful where needed but Its like gettin the vicegrips when a socket won't grip.suddenly I have to get everytool I own spread out?No!
See,I didn't care about plys or anyof that using tiff2kap as above,bingo bango,I had 2 charts,same place,one scribbled on,one original.Both suitable to gps on.
__________________

__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 16:51   #17
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
I just converted a .tif chart to 127 colours in Gimp2 but as I saved it,it reverted to
256 colours and was not accepted by TIFF2KAP.

etc..
I know,I know.Don't you hate that!Faststone is stubborn too.
Irfan WILL obey and has a 128colour option-the max tiff2kap or libsbsb allows but pretty good for GE.Its hidden as "others" in the colour depth option.
Irfan's also got a little paint and text option but it's basic.
I'm still looking for the perfect picture tool for this.
__________________

__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 17:27   #18
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
I know,I know.Don't you hate that!Faststone is stubborn too.
Irfan WILL obey and has a 128colour option-the max tiff2kap or libsbsb allows but pretty good for GE.Its hidden as "others" in the colour depth option.
Irfan's also got a little paint and text option but it's basic.
I'm still looking for the perfect picture tool for this.
You probably already know this, but the Imagemagick "convert" will convert the color depth for you just fine.

Like this:
  • convert image1.tif -colors 128 image2.tif

P.S. I could never get 128 colors to work with tif2bsb. I had to use 127. Any trick you used to get 128 to work?

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 17:31   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thank you Dan for the explanation.
I was actually referring to scanned bitmaps in MapCal where after entering the REF's,you select the 'Border' function to 'Activate changes' of the automatically placed corner geo refs. Even proprietary commercial bitmaps usually have the actual map area corner locations printed in the top right and bottom left corner and continuing to the 'Border' function will store the physical corner locations as 4 PLY's.

If the area of the bitmap that is chart are the only geo locations entered,then they are entered as REF's,the extreme 4 corners being designated as PLY's.

The first listing below is the header consealed in the .kap chart itself, the second being the MapCal's CHARTCAL.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	REF-PLY LOCATIONS.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	324.8 KB
ID:	23418  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 18:38   #20
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacust View Post
You probably already know this, but the Imagemagick "convert" will convert the color depth for you just fine.

Like this:
  • convert image1.tif -colors 128 image2.tif

P.S. I could never get 128 colors to work with tif2bsb. I had to use 127. Any trick you used to get 128 to work?

-dan
ummm.Actually,you're talking to the wrong guy.I'm a just a USER describing recipes.
contact M'dJ...see earlier posts-but that's a good question!Why 127 in libbsb?I would have to revisit making bsb's with libbsb trying irfanview's idea of 128....I was downgrading to 16 at that time!
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 19:03   #21
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Yes,Dacust-definitely 128 colours

Click image for larger version

Name:	GoogleGoofyChart16editis 128.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	84.3 KB
ID:	23419

Dacust,Using FastStone(sigh,how many do I need!)

I find this report from the original tif I used for an earlier picture post...definitely says 128 colours-oh cripes I should use bsb2tiff and see what IT dumps from the kap made-that'd be interesting

More(hey,I'm back!)yes,bsb2tiff dumps a 128 colour tif from the kap
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 20:08   #22
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
Attachment 23419

Dacust,Using FastStone(sigh,how many do I need!)

I find this report from the original tif I used for an earlier picture post...definitely says 128 colours-oh cripes I should use bsb2tiff and see what IT dumps from the kap made-that'd be interesting

More(hey,I'm back!)yes,bsb2tiff dumps a 128 colour tif from the kap
OK. I'll have to go revisit my stuff and see why it didn't work for me. I musta missed something.

Thanks,

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 21:06   #23
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacust View Post
OK. I'll have to go revisit my stuff and see why it didn't work for me. I musta missed something.

Thanks,

-dan
Oh,don't go away!I bin workin...ran a whole old style show a google ozied,sent to mapcal,saved as WCI,exported as bmp and CHARTCAL.DIR,hdr made from the DIR and the bmp made to 128tif(irfanview) THEN to tif2bsb...ran QUICK popped out a kap yes,mapCal cryptic stream error.Dragged this bad kap onto BSBFIX-it spewed.Tried "fixed"again in MapCal.Black.No message. Black.

NOW again but this time tiff2kap with same tif above + input corner coords from MapCal.(converted to decimal)Done.Loads.Voila.

Now imagine that without half the poopah...google earth corners noted or direct from MobileAtlasCreator or OpenCPN..still the tif needed but....well,I'm a fan.
And if MapCal asks me calibration- may- have- changed- are- you sure you- want-to- quit? one more time....
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:56   #24
MdJ
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: France
Boat: Etap 22i
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacust View Post
You probably already know this, but the Imagemagick "convert" will convert the color depth for you just fine.

Like this:
  • convert image1.tif -colors 128 image2.tif

P.S. I could never get 128 colors to work with tif2bsb. I had to use 127. Any trick you used to get 128 to work?

-dan

Hello,

tiff2kap accept 128 colors max, tif2bsb accept 127 colors max.

Color management in kap files is specific and I noticed different codes in GDAL, libsb ...

My interpretation in RGB notation index that is exactly the number of color in the palette index ranging from 0 to 127

If an index is not specified then it must be black.
Generally the index 0 is not specified in the KAP files.

Another problem is that most tools (Gimp. ..) when reduced to 128 colors are not a palette limited to 128 first index, but uses the 256 index.

This is why we must use convert or gm convert to reduce colors.
__________________
MdJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:32   #25
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by MdJ View Post
Hello,

tiff2kap accept 128 colors max, tif2bsb accept 127 colors max.

Color management in kap files is specific and I noticed different codes in GDAL, libsb ...

My interpretation in RGB notation index that is exactly the number of color in the palette index ranging from 0 to 127

If an index is not specified then it must be black.
Generally the index 0 is not specified in the KAP files.

Another problem is that most tools (Gimp. ..) when reduced to 128 colors are not a palette limited to 128 first index, but uses the 256 index.

This is why we must use convert or gm convert to reduce colors.
Bonjour,M'dJ...maintenant ,Irfanview ,c'est tres bien avec tiff2kap...
It could also be run from CMD.(but easy Windows GUI better for "Users")
But it is not Open source...?
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:37   #26
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
M'dJ,is there a reason a totally white "template' chart can't be made into a kap?
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:31   #27
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
But a blank Black "template" tif (128 colours) does work fine converted to a kap....seems to keep it's palette too
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:41   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
Like this one? (I did not bother to "expand" the PLY rectangle.)
Well... perhaps not totally white
H5089.kap.doc

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:45   #29
MdJ
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: France
Boat: Etap 22i
Posts: 61
Hello HappySeagull,

tiff2kap code and source is free for all usages, but kap compression is deposed (to write kap file, not read).

See http://home.gdal.org/projects/bsb/ipi.html

(I do not know the current situation may have changed ?)

Irfanview is free for non commercial usage.
See What is IrfanView

I know only few tools under Windows, because I work under linux Ubuntu for development and also in navigation with OpenCPN on an Eee PC 1012HA (12v)
__________________
MdJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:53   #30
MdJ
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: France
Boat: Etap 22i
Posts: 61
Excuse me but I do not understand your question
__________________

__________________
MdJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.