Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-04-2014, 08:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Raster Scan Chart Problem

After using OpenCPN for a few years, with CM93 and many raster scan charts, suddenly none of my rasterscan charts appear on OpenCPN. They show on the "Charts" tool box tab. I've forced database rebuilds, copied them to another folder, reinstalled OpenCPN, looked in the log...I can't find any problem. But they still no longer appear on my OpenCPN screen. The CM93 charts look fine, but no rasterscan charts.

I have WIN8.

Anyone have any ideas.

(my next step is to do a system restore, maybe the last set of win 8 updates are preventing these charts from working)

Fred
__________________
wingssail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2014, 08:25   #2
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: Raster Scan Chart Problem

Fred,

Before doing anything wrong can you precise the OpenCPnVersion ?

As long your chart have been put at the right place everything should be OK

Serge
__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2014, 12:12   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Re: Raster Scan Chart Problem

Thanks Serge, I experienced this problem on version 3.2.0. I downloaded 3.2.2 Build 2013-05-08 and it behaved exactly the same.

However, the problem has since resolved itself. I'm not sure how or why. For information I did the following:
1. Attempted to restore the operating system (windows 8.0) since this was the only change since OpenCPN had worked properly. The restore failed. I got a message saying that the C: drive had errors.
2. Ran CHKDSK which found no errors.
3. Just for drill I added some NOAA rasterscan charts to my library and behold, they worked fine (so I thought maybe it was only charts I had created?).
4. Checked my charts again, and...It all works!

So, right now, I don't have a problem. Possibly I never did, could have been I just didn't zoom in correctly to reveal the charts, I don't know. Meanwhile, I checked my back-up computers, which both work fine.

Fred Roswold, SV Wings, Panama
__________________
wingssail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raritan Electro Scan Geoduck Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 54 14-06-2016 12:12
Raritan Electro Scan Hold-and-Treat Systems Geoduck Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 24 11-02-2013 10:12
Purasan / Electra Scan ? chemenway Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 05-02-2013 17:06
HOWTO: Northern Great Lakes-Michigan Raster Chart Display Workaround GreatLakesBoatr OpenCPN 1 11-07-2012 07:12
Structure Scan: Fwd Looking Sonar ? mikefossl Marine Electronics 22 07-02-2012 02:16



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.