Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-10-2019, 03:25   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 72
Range rings : is it a bug?

Newly created marks present double sized range rings !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	New Mark.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	201532   Click image for larger version

Name:	Old Mark.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	201533  

__________________

Didier B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2019, 10:31   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 356
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

I can't reproduce exactly the effect you describe. But if you create a mark with range rings, then change the ring spacing, the existing mark rings do not change. A new mark will have the correct new ring spacing. So you end up with marks with different range rings as they are only drawn once at the time the mark is created.
__________________

hoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2019, 17:51   #3
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 1,660
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

Is there a way to create a mark with no rings? I was creating a route, and each point came up with a ring. It's a pain to go back and delete them all, since I couldn't find a way to multi-select and change them all. It was easier to export it to .gpx, edit the file, and re-import.
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2019, 22:21   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Currently in Malaysia
Boat: Valiant Esprit 37
Posts: 184
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

There are issues with range rings in V5.0. I wrote up a detailed explanation of what is happening and why in the fly tracker. It is task number 2591. It also explains to eliminate the default range rings that are now being applied.

Be sure to vote for the tracker to help increase it's priority so this will get fixed.

Gene
reflectionsv37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2019, 22:35   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 72
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

Hi, I already posted about this bug Unwanted marks circles 4 monthes ago,
I finally decided to enter the bug tracker in opencpn.org, and a search with "range rings" displayed 2 items :
https://opencpn.org/flyspray/index.p...rom=&closedto=

  • 2591 : Waypoint Range Rings Mysteriously Appearing, severity : medium
  • 2570 : New Range Rings with half radius, severity : high
(Note the half radius bug was recorded in the beginning on June)

No doubt these issues, duly reported, will be solved in the coming updates !
Didier B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2019, 23:30   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,579
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptTom View Post
Is there a way to create a mark with no rings? I was creating a route, and each point came up with a ring. It's a pain to go back and delete them all, since I couldn't find a way to multi-select and change them all. It was easier to export it to .gpx, edit the file, and re-import.
CapTom..
You set the presence of rings for new marks in Options->Ships->Routes/Points->Number of rings. None for no rings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_ring.png
Views:	31
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	201577  
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 05:32   #7
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 1,660
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
CapTom..
You set the presence of rings for new marks in Options->Ships->Routes/Points->Number of rings. None for no rings.
I never would have thought to look there. Thank you!!

Edit: Am I reading that correctly? It implies (since it's in the Own Ship / Display Options section) that it would display rings around the "own ship" display while underway. Not a bad feature. I might want that on.

What I don't want, is every time I create a new route point, another ring is displayed. Pretty soon the screen is all rings. I've found that this is a property of the waypoint (route point) and I can change it later, but that's tedious.
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 06:48   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,579
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

again: Options->Ships->Routes/Points (not Own ship!) See my pic.

There you can set several defaults for new marks
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 16:46   #9
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,634
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

Wiki changes:


Options> Ships > See "Range"
Options> Ships > See "Range-Points" at the bottom
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 19:04   #10
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 1,660
Re: Range rings : is it a bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
again: Options->Ships->Routes/Points (not Own ship!) See my pic.

There you can set several defaults for new marks
Duh. Now I see it. Hectic day, should have looked closer. Sorry.
__________________

CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range rings are not accurate dtayls OpenCPN 5 14-09-2018 04:22
O-Rings & Fuel gettinthere Engines and Propulsion Systems 2 25-07-2010 13:16
cotter pins or rings??? fla.sailor Construction, Maintenance & Refit 63 15-12-2008 09:31
location of lifting rings captden Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 3 19-01-2007 16:44

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.