Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-04-2013, 06:35   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
LifePart2's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ex Canada - now on the boat
Boat: Leopard 42 catamaran
Posts: 125
Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

I have a Furuno radar. If I move my cursor onto a target, and then press a certain button, the radar will output a NMEA sentence such as:

$RATLL,,3647.422,N,01432.592,E,,,,*58

This is received by my Standard Horizon CPV350 chartplotter and displayed as a mark (waypoint) with the caption "RADAR020" next to it.

However, my OpenCPN ver 3.2.0, which also receives the same NMEA sentence, does not display anything.

Have I configured something wrong? Is this type of NMEA sentence not recognised by OpenCPN? Or is there something else amiss here?

It would be nice to be able to send such targets to OpenCPN, so any suggestions on how I could achieve that would be gratefully accepted!

Thanks

Noel
__________________

__________________
Noel Swanson

Life is too short to live in ugly places.
LifePart2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 07:54   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

"$RATLL,,3647.422,N,01432.592,E,,,,*58"

Is not mentioned in the manual. I looked it up.

Screen shots and logs are sometimes helpful to diagnose problems.
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 08:08   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

LifePart2....

OpenCPN Version 3.2 does not recognize or decode $RATLL sentence.
It's on the list of upgrades for the next version, and I think this is the first time we have actually received from a user a valid sample TTL sentence.
Now we have a test case to work with, and I thank you.

Could you tell us the model of Furuno radar which you are using?
I assume it is only possible to mark one target at a time?
Also, does this radar do MARPA tracking?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 11:37   #4
Marine Service Provider
 
LifePart2's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ex Canada - now on the boat
Boat: Leopard 42 catamaran
Posts: 125
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

It is model 1623 - basically their entry level 6 inch display monochrome. It does not to MARPA as best I know.

It will send a RATLL every time I press the button, so I can send you as many samples as you like but, as you can see, they seem to be pretty simple - just a lat long position that indicates where the cursor is when I press the button.

The Standard Horizon displays them as waypoints which can then be edited just like any other waypoint.
__________________
Noel Swanson

Life is too short to live in ugly places.
LifePart2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 17:12   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

Ah OK, pretty "creative" use of the specification Wondering if we can assume that for all the radars a TLL without target ID is a cursor position... Anybody with other radars to shed a bit more light on this?

Many thanks for the info

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 04:44   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

Hi guys i am also doing some data fusion from several sources for a Msc Project
and I have the same issue
I get radar string though nmea
$RATTM,..,...,..,..,..,,.,,.,..,,M*3D
but does not receive any data what is the issue
because i was able to get the data from the older version of opencpn but not with
the new version
__________________
hvalola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:35   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

hvalola...
I'm not entirely sure I understand you... You say that the opencpn internal MUX is dropping TTM sentences for you? It's "impossible" unless set by user, there's no artificial intelligence implemented... Could you try to explain your problem a bit more thoroughly?

Thanks

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 21:48   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

hi
I have build OpenCpn 3.2 using the source it works fine
then I tried to send radar data using NMEA even though the ais data displayed radar data does not appear.
i create file writer on AIS_Decoder::OnEvtAIS( OCPN_DataStreamEvent& event ) function
but OCPN_DataStreamEvent only sends AIS data

please help
__________________
hvalola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 23:16   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

hvalola...
What are you doing in OnEvtAIS?
As you can see in the source code, OpenCPN 3.2 itself does not use TTM/TLL sentences for anything so it obviously does not get to the AIS codepath...
As to route the NMEA sentences, there's a multiplexer in OpenCPN, routing all that arrives to whatever input to the destinations user configures without having to do any programming, I suppose what you want is to implement display of TTL/TTM inside OpenCPN, right?
I already did it and it will be part of the upcoming 3.3 beta series (the initial code is available in https://github.com/nohal/OpenCPN/tree/arpa and needs testing before it will be commited to the master as I have no radar available).

Seeing your source code would certainly help to understand your problem much better as I really don't have an idea what you mean by "creating a file writer on OnEvtAIS"....

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 02:47   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

Thanks nohal
multiplexer has done the trick thanks a lot
__________________
hvalola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:43   #11
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Radar Target Mark Not Out Put To OpenCPN

hvalola....

Perhaps you could share some more of your code. We want to include this NMEA sentence in the next version, but have limited test capability.

It seems only reasonable.....

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.