Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2010, 10:19   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Does the Garmin USB interface work for you otherwise in receive mode? Does it produce lat/lon, etc?
Dave,
yes - OpenCPN gets lat/lon (doesn't matter whether the device is set to NMEA In/Out or Garmin Host)
The log shows some more info about the device in the receive scenario:
Code:
6:07:46 PM: NMEA Data Source is....GARMIN
6:07:46 PM: AIS Data Source is....None
6:07:46 PM: Using WVSChart datafile: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\wvsdata\wvs43.dat
6:07:46 PM: NMEA AutoPilot Port is....None
6:07:46 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins/celestial_navigation_pi.dll
6:07:46 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins/dashboard_pi.dll
6:07:46 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins/demo_pi.dll
6:07:46 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\plugins/grib_pi.dll
6:07:46 PM: Chartlist file not found, config chart dir array is empty.  Chartlist target file is:C:\Users\nohal\AppData\Roaming\opencpn\CHRTLIST.DAT
6:07:46 PM: Searching for Garmin DeviceInterface...
6:07:46 PM: Windows GUID for interface is \\?\usb#vid_091e&pid_0003#5&889521f&0&1#{2c9c45c2-8e7d-4c08-a12d-816bbae722c0}
6:07:46 PM: Successful Garmin USB syncup.
6:07:48 PM: Found Garmin USB Driver.
6:07:48 PM: Found Garmin Device.
6:07:53 PM: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
But even when the device is in NMEA mode, there is nothing at all in the NMEA data stream window...

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 11:42   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
how are your Garmin GPS's connected to your PC's?? are they direct serial/usb or through a multiplex??

I have a Garmin GPS152 conected to a shipmodul miniplex2 usb multiplex ShipModul Marine Electronics along with the rest of the repeaters, autohelm, etc and I cant for the life of me figure out how to send a route or waypoints to the device!
__________________

__________________
mattpayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 11:56   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpayne View Post
how are your Garmin GPS's connected to your PC's?? are they direct serial/usb or through a multiplex??

I have a Garmin GPS152 conected to a shipmodul miniplex2 usb multiplex ShipModul Marine Electronics along with the rest of the repeaters, autohelm, etc and I cant for the life of me figure out how to send a route or waypoints to the device!
Matt,
most of the people use serial connection. Not working USB is the problem we've been talking about with Dave in the last few posts.
Right now try to export your routes/waypoints to GPX and upload it using GPSBabel: convert, upload, download data from GPS and Map programs (works for me with direct USB connection to 276C)
152 is not listed as supported in Garmin serial/USB protocol (garmin) but a try doesn't hurt

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 11:58   #19
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Matt....

This is the scenario that we are targeting. Garmin GPS's will not accept route uploads via the normal NMEA sentences defined for this purpose. They require the Garmin Protocol for upload.

The current git repo code works with your configuration, i.e. a Garmin device with serial interface to the PC, either direct for some models, or thru a USB/Serial converter for others.

We shall have this function available in Beta shortly, if you don't want to build from source.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 12:15   #20
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Might be just me, but I'd prefer it not overwrite a route. Leave it up to me to make sure there is room on the GPS for a route.

Unless, that is, you can pop up a warning message and let me choose the route to overlay, or a check box to decide what to do in case of no room...

But, trust me, if you implement it just as you have proposed, I will definitely make good use of it.

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 15:15   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Matt....

This is the scenario that we are targeting. Garmin GPS's will not accept route uploads via the normal NMEA sentences defined for this purpose. They require the Garmin Protocol for upload.

The current git repo code works with your configuration, i.e. a Garmin device with serial interface to the PC, either direct for some models, or thru a USB/Serial converter for others.

We shall have this function available in Beta shortly, if you don't want to build from source.

Thanks
Dave

Ive been reading some of the threads on here with regards to the garmins being a sod! gpsbabel could well work, but the GPS isnt connected directly to the PC, the only connector it has is connected to the boat via the NEMA multiplexer and the multiplexer is then conectd to the pc.

I guess the only way to work it, would be to plan the route on opencpn, conect the GPS to the pc using a garmin-USB cable, then reconnect the GPS to the rest of the boat via the multiplexer again... or buy a different GPS!!!

any ideas on a simple GPS that can take a route via NEMA???
__________________
mattpayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 15:46   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

Great ! I have try and for me it is working as you say. I upload 10 routes in my GPS and then the last one overwrite number one.

I agree with Dacust, it would be fine if we can get a warning message before overwriting. I have the possibility with the GPS to copy one route number to an other one and as that, before overwriting a route I need, I can send route number 1 to number 10 and so on until number 19.

Jean-Pierre
__________________

__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin touch screen question Therapy Navigation 14 29-03-2009 08:07
Nobeltec for Mac Users TaoJones Marine Electronics 0 03-10-2007 14:06
Bad welcome message for new users sailor2 Forum Tech Support & Site Help 1 25-05-2007 14:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.