Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2014, 15:48   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Question port names cannot be displayed

Hello to all people using this fine piece of software.
I have downloaded the opencpn ver 3.3.302 and used it with some cm93 version maps for my area which seem to work ok. Port names are visible.
I have teried to download o-charts and S63 maps for my area but it seems its impossible to make port name appear on my charts. Do you have any ideas? Chartworld suggets to set parameters in the setting. I HAVE DONE THIS BUT I HAVE NO RESULTS.
thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cm93.png
Views:	78
Size:	204.1 KB
ID:	91396   Click image for larger version

Name:	S63.png
Views:	84
Size:	181.0 KB
ID:	91397  

Click image for larger version

Name:	SETTINGS.png
Views:	83
Size:	249.1 KB
ID:	91398  
__________________

__________________
gerkios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 17:23   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,314
Re: port names cannot be displayed

Try toggling Show ENC Text - Hit T several times.
Try Settings > Charts > Vector Charts > Display Category
Try Mariners Standard or All or Standard

Hate to say it, but the manual is pretty good, you can read it here.

PS after looking at what you show, perhaps the port name is not entered or available?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:48   #3
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: port names cannot be displayed

Gerkios,

your settings for vector charts look ok for me. (Comparing line by line, as Greek is not a language I understand)

What happens if you zoom in? (Example in the screenshots)
When changing from one chart to one with a different scale zooming in you might see less information. Zooming in further will show more details.

Don't expect to have the same information at the same zoom level for CM93 and S-63 charts!

Hubert
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2014-11-12 a la(s) 09.39.07.png
Views:	67
Size:	158.4 KB
ID:	91420   Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2014-11-12 a la(s) 09.39.34.png
Views:	59
Size:	217.3 KB
ID:	91421  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2014-11-12 a la(s) 09.40.02.png
Views:	63
Size:	148.9 KB
ID:	91422   Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2014-11-12 a la(s) 09.40.24.png
Views:	58
Size:	161.9 KB
ID:	91423  

__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 13:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Re: port names cannot be displayed

Chartsworld answered as follows:
"please be informed that the names of the harbours are included to the Navionics charts. Please check the settings of your ECDIS/ECS. Often it is needed to set a hook in the settings to display names and labels properly"

I suppose they meant to properly setup settings of open cpn. which I did of course but still no ports visible.

So interest on this matter is still vivid.
__________________
gerkios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 14:03   #5
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: port names cannot be displayed

Gerkios,

just to clarify:
- which charts did you license from ChartWorld? Plain S-63 or a Navionics set from ChartWorld? For the latter we had never an opportunity to test.

- your settings seem to be ok from your screenshot (the CW stuff with the "hook")
- what happens when you zoom-in as in the sample we posted?

EDIT: and please try the latest Beta from today 3.3.2316 if possible so that we are talking from the same base

Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 14:38   #6
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: port names cannot be displayed

Gerkios,

another idea:
when you send a mail to ChartWorld put us in cc.
Will speed up things!
__________________

__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS targets not displayed jolanda OpenCPN 1 18-03-2014 06:10
Incorrect Displayed on Quilted Screen fgd3 OpenCPN 10 23-12-2013 12:19
Raymarine Classic E80 but no DSC displayed MI248 Marine Electronics 6 03-09-2013 17:45
Displayed Colour / Style for GPX Tracks jsavage OpenCPN 4 16-11-2010 11:48
Displayed Engine Hours and Idling sailorboy1 Engines and Propulsion Systems 10 26-03-2010 15:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.