Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2016, 18:17   #1
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

We need about 3 people to confirm that this error no longer occurs in order to close it. The Original Poster is not available.
FS#1536 : Active Route Console XTE calculation Error
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2016, 01:47   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Rick
I used it yesterday and all XTE-use, UI-Window, NMEA sentences (XTE, APB, RMB) use the same value. So I would say it's OK.


But talking XTE, a wiki issue if you please:

This text in the wiki is not valid:
Quote:
Note that the "XTE - Measured cross track error" NMEA message, that is a part of the APB message is not adjusted by the APB bearing precision setting. It is however possible to set the precision of the XTE through the opencpn.ini / opencpn. conf file. Add a line

[Settings]
......
NMEAAPBXTEPrecision=3
......
This will give you X.XXX for the XTE field precision. Default is "2", or X.XX
What I can find:
- "NMEAAPBXTEPrecision" is not read anywhere in the code so adding this value to config file has no impact.
- Also is the XTE value in the ECAPB sentence actually adapted by the NMEAAPBPrecision.
- The XTE value in other NMEA sentences (ECXTE, ECRMB) is not adapted by the NMEAAPBPrecision status.

I think the wiki needs to be updated. If no objections to my findings could you manage that?

Håkan
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2016, 07:32   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

This is good Hakan, thank you! I can update wiki and will close the flyspray item.

I have seen XTE freeze in earlier versions and this was fixed easily by deactivating the route and then activating the route so the Active Route Console was restarted and XTE was restarted. I have not had this behavior recently.

Any other comments please, before I go ahead and do this?
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2016, 08:13   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Hakan by "wiki" do you mean this page?
Marks and Routes | Official OpenCPN Homepage
down at
"Active Route Console Window - Showing Active Leg Data"

Also, I think we need a page tag for this important Console, and we need to link to it from

Route & Mark Manager | Official OpenCPN Homepage

and refer directly to the "Active Route Console" in the Route Manager section.

I see nothing about setting accuracy here...?

--
The other place you might be referring is Terminology?
where there is a Cross Track Error entry.
Terminology | Official OpenCPN Homepage


PS: In an effort to Disambiguate VMG...

I'd also like the get the "VMG" changed to "VMC" because this value is dependent on the next waypoint so it is "Velocity Made Good to Course". Is there some way this could be done?
--It would then be consistent with "Terminology" and then VMG can be used appropriately for Velocity Made Good (upwind and downwind).
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2016, 16:02   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Sorry Rick, should have past a link
If you search for: NMEAAPBXTEPrecision
These links appear:
Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Configuration File | Official OpenCPN Homepage
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 02:27   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 883
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Hi,
The NMEAAPBPrecision setting is set in the connections settings page for connections that have outgoing messages. The precision is applied in the src/nmea0183/apb.cpp file and is applied to:
  • CrossTrackErrorMagnitude
  • BearingOriginToDestination
  • BearingPresentPositionToDestination
  • HeadingToSteer
This change was made as some auto pilots are limited in the precision they can accept in the APB message. So all other messages and internally the precision is not changed. There is no change to the XTE message as that was not requested at the time.

I am the one that removed the NMEAAPBXTEPrecision setting (dec 2014) from the opencpn.ini/conf file and replaced it by NMEAAPBPrecision which covered the precision of all settings in the APB message not just the XTE. I also removed a 'hidden' setting and used the UI to set it. However, I missed updating the wiki. Sorry.

Jon
__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 12:27   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Ok, is this right?

Under "Connections Filter"
Added

  • Quote:
    Note: The "APB bearing precision" (or NMEAAPBPrecision) setting is set in the Connections settings page for connections that have outgoing messages. The precision is applied in the src/nmea0183/apb.cpp file and is applied to:
    Quote:
    • CrossTrackErrorMagnitude
    • BearingOriginToDestination
    • BearingPresentPositionToDestination
    • HeadingToSteer
    • This change was made as some auto pilots are limited in the precision they can accept in the APB message. So all other messages and internally the precision is not changed. There is no change to the XTE message as that was not requested at the time.
Just above Input filtering.




---
HOWEVER, I am confused about this statement further down after Output and Connection Notes:
Quote:
Sending an Active Route to an Autopilot

  • Autopilot APB and XTE precision settings are harmonized to always be the same.
  • On Route activation, OpenCPN sends the ECRMB, ECRMC and ECAPB NMEA sentences to an Auto Pilot, if it is connected to a port, with output activated.
  • Implement configurable NMEA Talker ID
Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Also, Does what Jon wrote mean that under the Configuration File, Configuration File | Official OpenCPN Homepage this paragraph must be changed:
Quote:
Setting the precision of the XTE - "Cross Track Error" when using an autopilot
See more in Options Setting APB precision.
[Settings]
......
NMEAAPBXTEPrecision=3
.....
This will give you X.XXX for the XTE field precision.

Default is "2", or X.XX
+++
Which seems to be stating a contradiction to what Jon wrote. I just want to get this correct guys!

I note that in my opencpn.ini file I find value
NMEAAPBPrecision=3
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 12:43   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Ok, it's not mutually exclusive, now under "Add Serial Connection" and further down under "AddNetwork Connection" just above "Input Filter" its changed to read:

Quote:
  • Note: The "APB bearing precision" (or NMEAAPBPrecision in Opencpn.ini file) setting is set in the Connections settings page for connections that have outgoing messages. The precision is applied in the src/nmea0183/apb.cpp file and is applied to:
    • CrossTrackErrorMagnitude
    • BearingOriginToDestination
    • BearingPresentPositionToDestination
    • HeadingToSteer
    • This change was made as some auto pilots are limited in the precision they can accept in the APB message. So all other messages and internally the precision is not changed. There is no change to the XTE message as that was not requested at the time.
  • Note: "XTE - Measured cross track error" NMEA message, that is a part of the APB message is not adjusted by the APB bearing precision setting. It is however possible to set the precision of the XTE through the opencpn.ini / opencpn. conf file. Add a line
[Settings]
......
NMEAAPBXTEPrecision=3
...... This will give you X.XXX for the XTE field precision. Default is "2", or X.XX See Configuration File page for more detail.
Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage


The Configuration File page still reads:
Quote:
Setting the precision of the XTE - "Cross Track Error" when using an autopilot
See more in Options Setting APB precision.
[Settings]
......
NMEAAPBXTEPrecision=3
.....
This will give you X.XXX for the XTE field precision.

Default is "2", or X.XX
+++
Configuration File | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Is this ok?
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 12:54   #9
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Ok, now which is it do you think? It appears that there is no NMEAAPBXTEPrecision in the opencpn.ini file. - Correct? Can that value be added and will it change XTE precision? -No?

Does the precision of XTE change with change of NMEAAAPBPrecision? - No?

Hakan
Quote:
What I can find:
- "NMEAAPBXTEPrecision" is not read anywhere in the code so adding this value to config file has no impact.
- Also is the XTE value in the ECAPB sentence actually adapted by the NMEAAPBPrecision.
- The XTE value in other NMEA sentences (ECXTE, ECRMB) is not adapted by the NMEAAPBPrecision status.

Jon
Quote:
...There is no change to the XTE message as that was not requested at the time.

I am the one that removed the NMEAAPBXTEPrecision setting (dec 2014) from the opencpn.ini/conf file and replaced it by NMEAAPBPrecision which covered the precision of all settings in the APB message not just the XTE.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 13:15   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Rick..
Jon is of course correct.
- NMEAAPBXTEPrecision does not exist.
- Only (EC)APB sentence is affected by a precision change in options-connection. (And not the (EC)XTE sentence.)
I meant exactly what Jon says but maybe my English - you know...

Thanks for your huge efforts to keep the wiki up to date.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 16:48   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 883
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Rick,
Sorry if I confused. As Håkan says, only the (EC)APB sentence is changed by this setting. The APB sentences include the cross track error as one of its fields, it does not include the XTE sentence as a whole.

You can set the APB precision using either the UI (Options/Connections/APB...) or in the conf/ini file (assuming you don't have ocpn running) by changing the 'NMEAAPBPrecision' element.

Thanks for your efforts on the wiki.

Jon
__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 17:58   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Hakan What you said largely conforms to what I understood jon said. I can now correct what is written.
Is there any reason for greater xte precision? I am guessing not from my experience.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 02:50   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

re: "Is there any reason for greater xte precision?"
I suppose normally not greater than three decimals but my AP (Simrad WP30) refers to a two decimal value in there manual. This is the reason I started to dig in this since my AP is not following the line correct. I'll now instead try to send a two decimal ECAPB sentence only and skip the other two sentences where cross tack error are included.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 09:07   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,423
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Is it correct to state that the Active Route Console only shows data from your instruments? IE: There are no calculations done to complete the data?
----
I am now going to close the FS# XTE Calc error in Tracker.
----
Modified Configuration File | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Hope I got the Versions correct.
----
Made a much needed Link Flag to Active Route Console
----
Now the two locations read:
Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Quote:
Note: The "APB bearing precision" (or NMEAAPBPrecision in Opencpn.ini file) setting is set in the Options > Connections settings page for connections that have outgoing messages. The precision is applied in the src/nmea0183/apb.cpp file and is applied to:
  • CrossTrackErrorMagnitude
  • BearingOriginToDestination
  • BearingPresentPositionToDestination
  • HeadingToSteer
  • This change was made as some auto pilots are limited in the precision they can accept in the APB message. So all other messages and internally the precision is not changed. There is no change to the XTE message as that was not requested at the time.
Quote:
Note: "XTE - Measured cross track error" NMEA message, that is a part of the APB message is not adjusted by the APB bearing precision setting. Also it is no longer possible to set the precision of the XTE through the opencpn.ini / opencpn. conf file because the setting NMEAAPBXTEPrecision has been removed as of Version 4.2.0. See Configuration File page for more detail.
Hope this is correct now... Please confirm. Thanks for all your help.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2016, 13:01   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Please confirm if, XTE calc error/freeze is fixed.

Rick..
1)
Quote:
Is it correct to state that the Active Route Console only shows data from your instruments? IE: There are no calculations done to complete the data?
No - the VMG value is calculated in OCPN

2)
Modified Configuration file.......:
NMEAAPBPrecision: Default is 3 e.g. X.XXX

My opinion: Don't mention history, just describe what's valid now.
(So I suggest you take away: "The NMEAAPBXTEPrecision setting was removed and any.....")

Håkan
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cal, lease

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engle duty cycle calc F51 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 23-04-2014 23:55
Jib Sheet Strength Calc unbusted67 Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 22 09-12-2013 15:09
Can Anyone Confirm The Make Of My Wheel Pedestal Greg Shakeshaft Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 9 15-05-2013 06:48
Confirm Gear Ratio Extemporaneous Propellers & Drive Systems 12 04-06-2010 20:27
storm jib area calc bobsadler Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 4 08-07-2008 00:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.