Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-03-2016, 13:20   #76
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Harlingen, The Netherlands
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 513
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Btw. It is by design that the arrow of now stays as outline and the one for offset times shows colored. Isn't it?

www.ladyrover.jimdo.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1458588021449.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	121152  
__________________

Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2016, 15:19   #77
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Thanks Rick, I was just about to reply!

Mike
__________________

__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2016, 16:15   #78
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Harlingen, The Netherlands
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 513
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Here is one more thought.

Would it be an idea to create the option to connect (at will) the time adjustment between OT currents and the Grib plugin?

That way one could step forward and see what current and wind are doing in parallel.

Might help to avoid nasty moment...



www.ladyrover.jimdo.com
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2016, 03:52   #79
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Franziska,

The standard OpenCPN "currents" button on the toolbar shows the current at the present time, as an arrow in outline.

OTcurrent allows you to choose any date/time. If you press the 'Now' button on OTcurrent (the clock icon) you should get arrows that match the ones from the 'current' button on the toolbar.

I am not going to add plugin messaging for OTcurrent due to the limited coverage of the harmonic tidal current predictions. However, there are gribs that already have forecasts of tidal current (see the Grib2 plugin threads on this forum).

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2016, 17:20   #80
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Harlingen, The Netherlands
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 513
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Hi Mike. Understood. Great Plugin thanks for info & support!

www.ladyrover.jimdo.com
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 02:15   #81
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

On the Linux (Ubuntu 16.04) O version, it took me a while to discover that this plugin will only display arrows IF the extension of the harmonic file is written in capital i.e. HARMONIC.IDX, not HARMONIC.idx
Open itself does not care, both W8 and Linux versions

BTW Very useful plugin in the English channel area
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 05:47   #82
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Re: OTCurrent Plugin Newbie with a Mac

HI, I'm new to opencpn but getting around it ok.

Have downloaded the otcurrent pluging and installed.

Although the dialog boxes show up. I cant get it to show any current info...

Its automatically selected the HARMONIC folder, which I haven't changed, yet still no current info at any magnification.

I'm I missing a most basic step?

Regards

Dave
__________________
SVGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 05:52   #83
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Are you outside the US? It is possible that you are located in a place that the default harmonic file does not include.
__________________
Please support OpenCPN by donating through Paypal!
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 06:06   #84
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

On the Mac... and inside otcurrent preferences. It shows the harmonic data (which I cant change) but when tracing the actual folder (on the mac) to make this alteration....

It shows no date in the actual folder where the harmonic data should be.
__________________
SVGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 06:07   #85
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by RhythmDoctor View Post
Are you outside the US? It is possible that you are located in a place that the default harmonic file does not include.
Location of current data
For Europe (mainly Southern North Sea, English Channel and Western France)
you can download
http://opencpn.shoreline.fr/__OpenCP...monics_V10.zip

For UK see also
http://www.visitmyharbour.com/tidal-stream-utility/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	303.2 KB
ID:	145054  
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 06:08   #86
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

I'm based in the UK so if there is other date I could download Id be greatfull if I was pointed there.

Dave
__________________
SVGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 13:26   #87
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

If you need to do a quick test with your existing harmonics, pan across to the USA and zoom in. You will be able to see the plugin in action and try the various options. Good suggestion for UK/European currents by 'sailorF54' above.

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 09:25   #88
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

For Linux users running oTCurrent in European waters.

If you are using V10 please rename HARMONIC.idx as HARMONIC.IDX. Without this change you will not see any arrows or current information with the plugin. I will make a note in the manual.

This change is not necessary if you are only using the 'Currents' button on the toolbar.

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 13:57   #89
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Would it be possible to allow Time Zone selection? I'm planning a route in the USA from my home in Europe. The time selection facility is allowing only my European time zone, and so USA currents are 6 hours out of sync with tidal heights derived using V10 Harmonic.idx which coincides with NOAA Tide Predictions.
M
__________________
Maelruan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 14:58   #90
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Re: OTCurrent Plugin

Does anyone know how to correct the Time Zones in V10 Harmonic.idx?
E.g., today the tide graph for ports on the North shore of the Bristol Channel show UTC +0100 while those on the South shore show UTC +0000.
M
__________________

__________________
Maelruan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
current, plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN PlugIn Development bdbcat OpenCPN 78 29-07-2017 03:15
Plugin: DashBoard SethDart OpenCPN 470 24-08-2016 21:34
BSB 4 PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 93 20-02-2016 04:41
New History Plugin for OpenCPN boat_alexandra OpenCPN 11 04-10-2010 15:11
Writing Plugin for nv.digital Map Format ? Netsurfer OpenCPN 7 17-08-2010 17:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.