Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-09-2014, 15:43   #1
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Hi, we have the USB plugged into the Raymarine AIS transponder. When it works it's great, but occasionally it just stops working. Usually to get it working again I need to unplug or pull the power cable from the transponder to bring back AIS targets.
Any ideas on how to make it more stable would be greatly appreciated!
Laptop is windows 7, port description is AIS class b tranciever, srt marine tech, 38400 8 none 1 flow control none
Thanks if anyone has any tips, much appreciated
__________________

__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2014, 16:47   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

monte...
The OpenCPN version you are using? Can we see your logfile from the moment when the targets disappeared?

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2014, 21:06   #3
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Ohhhh, yeah, I had that problem.
Hell if i remember the solution, but once its dine you are fine.

The port closes when the computer display etc stops... Ummmm. Its something like switching to make the port always on in power settings.

One of the Opencpn people will know.
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2014, 21:16   #4
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,710
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

If don't know about OpenCPN, but we change these settings a ton at work. It solves most USB hardware hang ups..

Power Setting For USB Ports On Windows 7
__________________
travellerw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2014, 02:22   #5
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Thanks guys..version is 3.2.2. I just changed the USB port settings to disable power saving. I'll try save the log file next time it happens.
Monte
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2014, 02:40   #6
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Monte,

additionally you might have a look as well if there is a newer firmware for your device.
em-trak did update the B100 due to quirks with USB and the AIS650 is a Raymarine branded B100.


Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2014, 03:39   #7
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Thanks again, great info !
Raymarine has a firmware update and driver update so I just installed both

from the raymarine site :
v1.10
Aug 2014
Corrects an issue with STng bus recovery, after a brief bus power interruption
Conform to NEMA2000 specification changes for device class and function codes
Fix issue of USB communications failing on some PC hosts when attached to the host while it boots
New config file to prevent conflicting GPS data being transmitted onto STng (PGN129026)

After installing AIS works well on opencpn, I will leave it runnign and see if its stable now..fingers crossed!
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2014, 03:50   #8
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Ok that seems to have fixed it, it's been running for 60hrs and still good. I closed the laptop and reopened it and targets started appearing immediately. Thanks again for the great advice
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2014, 04:50   #9
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me

Great news
__________________

__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something's Bugging Me... emmajayashton Provisioning: Food & Drink 45 17-08-2014 19:20
Raymarine E80 + AIS 650 + McMurdo AIS PLB MOB rgleason Marine Electronics 1 24-04-2014 18:26
AIS with laptop and OPNCPN Mhorowitz Marine Electronics 6 21-01-2014 13:04
De-Bugging Diesel dpex Powered Boats 21 02-03-2010 14:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.