Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2017, 21:08   #106
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,139
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by redog View Post
Hi
I am getting a crash and able to replicate on 3 computers.

Ubuntu 16.04
Open 4.6.1

Process as follows:
Options/Display/Units/Bearings
Show true bearings and headings (UNTICK)
Show magnetic bearings and headings (TICK)
click OK
Close O
Restart O
Open route manager
Try to open properties of any route by any means ,double click or highlight and click properties.

O shuts down.

Cheers all
Redog
I can reproduce this problem in Windows. I believe it is a bug. I am trying to locate the exact cause and will post a pull request if I can find it.
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 22:25   #107
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: QC, Canada
Boat: Kelt 8.50
Posts: 76
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by redog View Post
Hi
I am getting a crash and able to replicate on 3 computers.

Ubuntu 16.04
Open 4.6.1

Process as follows:
Options/Display/Units/Bearings
Show true bearings and headings (UNTICK)
Show magnetic bearings and headings (TICK)
click OK
Close O
Restart O
Open route manager
Try to open properties of any route by any means ,double click or highlight and click properties.

O shuts down.

Cheers all
Redog
I also get a crash. See crash report
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture du 2017-06-02 00-21-26.png
Views:	45
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	148960  
__________________

__________________
houlejm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 05:03   #108
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 144
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Possible bug on Linux.

Running 4.6.1 on Raspberry Pi 3 ( all up to date )

The heading of the ownship icon freezes when autofollow is on. Manually move the chart or release autofollow and the icon starts indicating the correct heading again.

Heading comes from HDG sentence

In a possibly connected issue the Ownship icon does not recognise the heading when the only sentence into OCPN is HDM; although the the dashboard does recognise HDM (but ironically the display box on the Dash is labelled HDG; which is isn't).

Anybody else seeing this?
__________________
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 07:18   #109
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,139
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by houlejm View Post
I also get a crash. See crash report
I can confirm this as a real bug. I have a fix I am testing now. If anyone wants to test the fix on their system and you can build OpenCPN send me a PM. If you want to test under Windows I can create a new installation of 4.6.1 with the bug fixed.

The bug happens only when magnetic variation heading option is selected.

Dan
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2017, 04:13   #110
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fizz 40'
Posts: 107
OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 doesn't terminate correctly

Dear all, I have tried to use the search function, but did not get to precisely a similar described problem:

Since installation of OpenCPN 4.6.1 I ran unto problems, when terminating te program. Initially I got an information, that I could send back diagnostic data. This I did, but didn't see any response so far. However, the problem is not necessarily a major problem, but meantime it became a nuisance, as all the last data you entered are lost, when the program is being terminated.

But .... I found a workaround: When you close the Toolbar just before terminating the program, everything works as it should.

Maybe this finding is helpful in diagnosing this problem??

Anyhow, hopefully this is not duplicate to any other entry or to an already communicated circumvention.

One final thing - I too want to take the opportunity to thanky ou all for the wonderful work you are doing. OpenCPN is my STANDARD chart-plotter.

All the best, Uwe
__________________
HUR450502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2017, 06:41   #111
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,956
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Uwe...

Thanks for the report.

I do not understand what you mean here:

"But .... I found a workaround: When you close the Toolbar just before terminating the program, everything works as it should. "

Close the toolbar?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2017, 06:54   #112
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fizz 40'
Posts: 107
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Hi Dave, thanks for your reply and sorry, when I was not clear.

What happens is, that when you want to terminate OpenCPN - either by clicking at the "cross" right upper corner or go to the "File" menu and click on quit or just enter Ctrl-Q, the program hangs and you get a Windows message telling that the program isn't functioning any more. You then can click on "close" and then Windows terminates the program.

However, when this happens, all data that was entered e.g. a new route, etc., is lost.

If - before terminating the program I close the toolbar (clicking on this little handle so the toolbar goes away), and then terminate the program, it terminates normally, no Windows message and all data entered previously is still there when you re-open.

The system is Windows 10 (64 Bit) Update 1703 and- of course - on the latest patch level.

Does this help?

Thanks a lot for your help and

best regards,

Uwe
__________________
HUR450502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2017, 08:09   #113
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,956
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Uwe...

I suspect a plugin problem.

You may try to disable all your plugins, and try normal exit. If it works OK, then add plugins back, one-by-one, and find the offending plugin item.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2017, 08:33   #114
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fizz 40'
Posts: 107
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Hi Dave,

thanks a lot for the fast and - of course - effective reply.

Yes, you are right, it is obviously a PLUGIN problem. When I disabled "Celestial Navigation", the problem disappeared. I will check, if there was a problem mentioned in the Celestial Navigation threads. However, the problem is solved for me now ....

Thanks again a lot!!!

Best regards,

Uwe
__________________
HUR450502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2017, 02:14   #115
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Currently in Malaysia
Boat: Valiant Esprit 37
Posts: 127
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

I just installed 4.6.1 on a Windows 7 computer and noticed a change that was not present in the 4.5.? release I upgraded from.

Land mass and island names are now appearing twice on CM93 charts and the new one is in a very large font. Changing the font for Charttext has no effect on the name with the large name. I can't seem to find anyway to get rid of the double name.

It appears that the CM93 Chart Detail level has some effect on this. I prefer to keep the detail level setting at a 4 or 5. As I reduce it closer to zero some of the large names disappear when the chart is zoomed out, while others remain. It adds a lot of clutter to the display.

Is there anyway to control this?

I've attached a screen clip as an example.

Thanks!

Gene
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Double Names.JPG
Views:	31
Size:	27.9 KB
ID:	150154  
__________________
reflectionsv37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2017, 07:14   #116
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fizz 40'
Posts: 107
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Dear Dave,

I have tocorrect ma message below. It seems, that the "Object Search" Plugin is causing the problem, but only, when the toolbar contains so many plugins (as it does on my system) that it spills into a second line of icons.

Does this give you some more information??


Thanks, and best regards, Uwe

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUR450502 View Post
Hi Dave,

thanks a lot for the fast and - of course - effective reply.

Yes, you are right, it is obviously a PLUGIN problem. When I disabled "Celestial Navigation", the problem disappeared. I will check, if there was a problem mentioned in the Celestial Navigation threads. However, the problem is solved for me now ....

Thanks again a lot!!!

Best regards,

Uwe
__________________
HUR450502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2017, 01:08   #117
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 284
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Config does not work track width
By default TrackLineWidth = 2
I set TrackLineWidth = 1 or 3
Displayed as 2
https://opencpn.org/flyspray/index.p...s&task_id=2252

I changed the order of the toolbar icons in the source
When you hide the icons in the choise toolbar icon and restart the program, the hidden icons are displayed and the neighboring ones are hidden.
It is possible that the order of the default location of the icons has been violated.
ToolbarConfig does not work correctly!
https://opencpn.org/flyspray/index.p...s&task_id=2253

Please correct!
__________________
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2017, 06:03   #118
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,139
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikal View Post
Config does not work track width
By default TrackLineWidth = 2
I set TrackLineWidth = 1 or 3
Displayed as 2
https://opencpn.org/flyspray/index.p...s&task_id=2252

I changed the order of the toolbar icons in the source
When you hide the icons in the choise toolbar icon and restart the program, the hidden icons are displayed and the neighboring ones are hidden.
It is possible that the order of the default location of the icons has been violated.
ToolbarConfig does not work correctly!
https://opencpn.org/flyspray/index.p...s&task_id=2253

Please correct!
Baikal,

There is no need to yell at the developers. They are all volunteering their time.

Your first issue with track width can be easily fixed in the program. However, I think the intention was to delete this feature and instead use the track width property found in the route properties manager. You can change the width of a stored track using the route properties tool bar button.

Will you please verify that you can manually set the track width of a stored track using the route property button? Does that satisfy your needs? If not please explain why it does not. Maybe there is a better solution than manually editing the opencpn.ini file.

Your second bug seems to be caused by changes you have made in your source code. Each time I disable a tool bar feature it stays disabled even after closing and reopening the program. If you change the source code and cause a bug then no one else can fix it except you. It might help to explain exactly what you did because I cannot see the changes you made.
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2017, 09:43   #119
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 284
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Baikal,

There is no need to yell at the developers. They are all volunteering their time.

Your first issue with track width can be easily fixed in the program. However, I think the intention was to delete this feature and instead use the track width property found in the route properties manager. You can change the width of a stored track using the route properties tool bar button.

Will you please verify that you can manually set the track width of a stored track using the route property button? Does that satisfy your needs? If not please explain why it does not. Maybe there is a better solution than manually editing the opencpn.ini file.

Your second bug seems to be caused by changes you have made in your source code. Each time I disable a tool bar feature it stays disabled even after closing and reopening the program. If you change the source code and cause a bug then no one else can fix it except you. It might help to explain exactly what you did because I cannot see the changes you made.
And I'm not screaming and I'm reporting bugs as before!
A similar bug with the config of the width of the track was already there and Dave corrected it.
I need a track record with a default width of "1" so I configured it in the config.

Below is the code for the changed order Toolbar icon, just two changes.
opencpn.exe with change

screen config Disabling icons

After the program is restarted, the configuration of the disabled icons changes


Code:
CheckAndAddPlugInTool(tb);
	tipString = wxString(_("Auto Follow")) << _T(" (F2)");
	if (g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil(ID_FOLLOW, tipString))
		tb->AddTool(ID_FOLLOW, _T("follow"),
		style->GetToolIcon(_T("follow"), TOOLICON_NORMAL),
		style->GetToolIcon(_T("follow"), TOOLICON_TOGGLED), wxITEM_CHECK, tipString);

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = wxString( _("Zoom In") ) << _T(" (+)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_ZOOMIN, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_ZOOMIN, _T("zoomin"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("zoomin"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = wxString( _("Zoom Out") ) << _T(" (-)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_ZOOMOUT, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_ZOOMOUT, _T("zoomout"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("zoomout"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );

    m_toolbar_scale_tools_shown = pCurrentStack && pCurrentStack->b_valid
            && ( pCurrentStack->nEntry > 1 );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = wxString( _("Shift to Larger Scale Chart") ) << _T(" (F7)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_STKDN, tipString ) ) {
        newtool = tb->AddTool( ID_STKDN, _T("scin"),
                style->GetToolIcon( _T("scin"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );
        newtool->Enable( m_toolbar_scale_tools_shown );
    }

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = wxString( _("Shift to Smaller Scale Chart") ) << _T(" (F8)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_STKUP, tipString ) ) {
        newtool = tb->AddTool( ID_STKUP, _T("scout"),
                style->GetToolIcon( _T("scout"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );
        newtool->Enable( m_toolbar_scale_tools_shown );
    }

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = wxString( _("Create Route") ) << _T(" (Ctrl-R)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_ROUTE, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_ROUTE, _T("route"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("route"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("route"), TOOLICON_TOGGLED ), wxITEM_CHECK, tipString );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    bool gs = false;
#ifdef USE_S57
    if (ps52plib)
        gs = ps52plib->GetShowS57Text();
#endif

    if (gs)
        tipString = wxString( _("Hide ENC text") ) << _T(" (T)");
    else
        tipString = wxString( _("Show ENC text") ) << _T(" (T)");

    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_ENC_TEXT, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_ENC_TEXT, _T("text"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("text"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("text"), TOOLICON_TOGGLED ), wxITEM_CHECK, tipString );

    m_pAISTool = NULL;
    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("Hide AIS Targets");          // inital state is on
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_AIS, tipString ) )
        m_pAISTool = tb->AddTool( ID_AIS, _T("AIS"), style->GetToolIcon( _T("AIS"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ),
                                  style->GetToolIcon( _T("AIS"), TOOLICON_DISABLED ),
                                  wxITEM_NORMAL, tipString );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("Show Currents");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_CURRENT, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_CURRENT, _T("current"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("current"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_CHECK );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("Show Tides");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_TIDE, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_TIDE, _T("tide"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("tide"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_CHECK );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("Print Chart");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_PRINT, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_PRINT, _T("print"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("print"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("Route & Mark Manager");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_ROUTEMANAGER, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_ROUTEMANAGER,
            _T("route_manager"), style->GetToolIcon( _T("route_manager"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ),
            tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("Enable Tracking");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_TRACK, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_TRACK, _T("track"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("track"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("track"), TOOLICON_TOGGLED ), wxITEM_CHECK, tipString );

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = wxString( _("Change Color Scheme") ) << _T(" (F5)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_COLSCHEME, tipString ) ){
        tb->AddTool( ID_COLSCHEME,
            _T("colorscheme"), style->GetToolIcon( _T("colorscheme"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ),
            tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );
        tb->SetToolTooltipHiViz( ID_COLSCHEME, true );  // cause the Tooltip to always be visible, whatever
                                                        //  the colorscheme
    }

    CheckAndAddPlugInTool( tb );
    tipString = _("About OpenCPN");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_ABOUT, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_ABOUT, _T("help"),
            style->GetToolIcon( _T("help"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );

    //      Add any PlugIn toolbar tools that request default positioning
    AddDefaultPositionPlugInTools( tb );

	CheckAndAddPlugInTool(tb);
	tipString = _("Options");
	if (g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil(ID_SETTINGS, tipString))
		tb->AddTool(ID_SETTINGS, _T("settings"),
		style->GetToolIcon(_T("settings"), TOOLICON_NORMAL), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL);

    //  And finally add the MOB tool
    tipString = wxString( _("Drop MOB Marker") ) << _(" (Ctrl-Space)");
    if( g_MainToolbar->_toolbarConfigMenuUtil( ID_MOB, tipString ) )
        tb->AddTool( ID_MOB, _T("mob_btn"),
                     style->GetToolIcon( _T("mob_btn"), TOOLICON_NORMAL ), tipString, wxITEM_NORMAL );
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	152554   Click image for larger version

Name:	21.JPG
Views:	82
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	152555  

__________________
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2017, 13:39   #120
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,139
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Baikal,

I realize now English may not be your first language. When you end a sentence with ! or write in all CAPS then that is "yelling" in English. So your first sentence above is "yelling" at me. Please don't do that.

I have submitted a pull request to Github to use the TrackLineWidth value in the ini file as the default track width which is also used during track creation. It was probably an oversight that the default track width was using RouteLineWidth instead of TrackLineWidth. As a workaround you can change RouteLineWidth to 1. That should also change the default track width in 4.6.1.

As for your second bug report, this is not a bug in the official code of the toolbar dialog in my opinion. The bug is in your version of the code. The compiler is not a mind reader. You cannot change the order of icons in one place and expect the compiler to find all the other needed changes on its own. Your code will not work because it breaks a few other important things such as the enable/disable checkbox context menu when right clicking the toolbar. To get that to work you will have to make several more code changes.

There are other things you can break by rearranging the source code to change the order in how the toolbar is populated. For example, the MOB button must be always at the end so it can be moved after the plugin icons for easy finding in an emergency. The compiler does not know this. There may be other unforeseen effects.

If you want to find a way to make it easy to rearrange the tool bar source code then you are free to do it and submit a pull request on Github. Then the developer team will review your changes and accept it or not. But it will be a lot of work for not much gain in my opinion.

Best regards,
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, lease, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 185 14-09-2012 08:43
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.802 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 158 14-08-2012 11:07
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 91 01-08-2012 18:08



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.