Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-05-2012, 13:45   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Pavel..

I have a strange problem with v 2.6.1729.
A previously created track from a car trip around the neighbourhood using my GPS will not be deleted. Although I can find no trace of it anywhere in the layers or other areas,it keeps reappearing all the time. When right clicking the track,the box shows all the trip details but selecting delete track does nothing?
I am not using the Waypoint locking feature.

Tore
__________________

__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2012, 13:53   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Tore...
If the "Delete Track" does nothing, then the track is 100% part of one of your layer GPX files. I will address this somehow in some of the next releases, but for now you will have to find it manually.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2012, 14:01   #18
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Pavel..

As a test,I switched off all the layers items,one by one but the track did not disappear.

I also checked all the waypoint items in the BRAZIL.gpx file. Also deleted all the navobj... files in the Datafiles directory but it´s still there. Very strange,never happened before.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:48   #19
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Hello Dave,

I raised an issue regarding the window display GRIB. I thought it was solved but I checked with this version of OpenCPN. It still exists.

If you open the plug-in GRIB and if you push the window down too far, sometimes it goes down too low. Just forget it and close OpenCPN. So at the next opening NMSO and GRIB window, this window opens too low. She is unreachable.

This is because in the process of closing OpenCPN, the characteristics of the window GRIB is recorded each time.

It would be preferable to automatically record such characteristics:

GRIBDialogSizeX=300
GRIBDialogSizeY=500
GRIBDialogPosX=30
GRIBDialogPosY=30

instead of the common characteristics

Best regards

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 07:55   #20
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Gilletarom....

I received your translations. Thanks.

About GRIB dialog lost position:

Could you send us a screen shot of the position of GRIB dialog before you exit, in the condition where it will not be reachable next time you start OpenCPN. I want to see the worst case, please.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:52   #21
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

hello dave,

I Have run 26-1729, I have open Grib plug-in and I put down the grib window.

So this window is not visible.

I chutdown OpenCPN

In opencpn.ini there is, in a test :

ShowGRIBIcon=1
GRIBUseMS=1
GRIBDialogSizeX=302
GRIBDialogSizeY=505
GRIBDialogPosX=-2
GRIBDialogPosY=597

I run OpenCPN, I run GRIB plug-in ... But the window is not visble.

Many users are losted and they asked us on the french forum.

Gilletarom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-06-01_One.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	41726   Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-06-01_Two.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	41727  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-06-01_Thre.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	41728  
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:53   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Dave

I have a problem displaying a route leg rollover properties, when using OpenGL. I can't get the small yellow dialog to stay displayed. Moving the cursor near the route makes the rollover flash momentarily, but it doesn't
stay. No problems at all in non GL mode.

Click image for larger version

Name:	non_gl.png
Views:	45
Size:	7.5 KB
ID:	41749

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:25   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Dave

I have a problem displaying a route leg rollover properties, when using OpenGL. I can't get the small yellow dialog to stay displayed. Moving the cursor near the route makes the rollover flash momentarily, but it doesn't
stay. No problems at all in non GL mode.
Thomas
This could be an unsolvable problem... [EDIT: Of course it's solvable, the thing could be rendered in OpenGL instead, but that's big code change then...]

The tooltip is a ordinary (non-opengl) window, which goes on top of the OpenGL canvas. This is apparently not a supported thing to do. Werther it works depends on the OpenGL driver. It used to work with some Intel drivers but not with nVidia. I got it to work better (on all drivers I can test) in the last beta by making the tooltip a child of the GL canvas rather that being a child of the surrounding frame.

What is happening in your case is probably that the OpenGL driver decides to repaint, and the repaint (which happens in hardware) doesn't know or care about the fact that there is another window supposed to be on top of it.

What OpenGL driver are you using?

Can you also check if it did work in earlier beta versions? I suspect it didn't.

/j
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:44   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Jesper

64 bits kubuntu 12.04
ATI Radeon HD 5450, with the ATI driver version 8.881-110728a-1229500-ATI

And yes, it works with 2.6.1715 -portable, but not with 2.6.1729 -portable, using the same portable setup.

Thomas

PS
The similar rollover for AIS targets, still works!!
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:09   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Jesper

64 bits kubuntu 12.04
ATI Radeon HD 5450, with the ATI driver version 8.881-110728a-1229500-ATI

And yes, it works with 2.6.1715 -portable, but not with 2.6.1729 -portable, using the same portable setup.

Thomas

PS
The similar rollover for AIS targets, still works!!
Ouch. When you say that I realize I didn't test AIS rollovers on nVidia because I don't have that computer hooked to AIS data. This means we are in a situation that if the window is a child of the frame it works on ATI and if it is a child of the glcc it works on nVidia...

Gnarl...
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 18:19   #26
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Hello Beta Testers:

Here is pop-quiz:

Is anyone using OpenCPN with all of the following:

1. Windows
2. nVidia Graphics card, any kind
3. OpenGL mode
4. AIS receiver or simulator.

We wonder if rollover popup windows appear when mousing over an AIS target. Can anyone verify this?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:13   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
1. Windows
2. nVidia Graphics card, any kind
3. OpenGL mode
4. AIS receiver or simulator.

We wonder if rollover popup windows appear when mousing over an AIS target. Can anyone verify this?
It's not so easy to research intermittent problems, sometimes you think you see a cause when it's just luck...

Anyway, I dismounted a bit of my navstn cabling to get the nVidia laptop connected.

So... With the nVidia patch as of last night, AIS rollovers are fine. For the same value of "fine" as route rollovers.

/j
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:01   #28
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Hi,

we had the boat today running for four hours and I have to report two ugly crashes.
- W7 Prof, 32bit
- source for GSP and AIS em-trak B100 via built in USB

Windows came up with an alert, that OpenCPN crashed and would have be shut down. This was not possible in one case - hard reset required.
The Opencpn log does not show any messages that might give a hint what triggered the crash.
The hibernation functions of the USBs are disabled, furthermore the PC is running from an inverter, not on batteries.
This morning I changed the buffer setting in the virtual com-port, but as it is a virtual one, I can't imagine that this might have an influence.

There has always been an outage of the AIS/GPS stream after some time (some times after 10 min, sometimes 1.5h, have not found a pattern for that timing), but it was not possible for me to determine if the reason is the AIS or the PC.
Previously we had to shut down Opencpn, plug-off the USB (wait sufficient time so Windows discovers that the device is gone), re-plug and start OpenCPN again. Unstable, but not stalling the program.

Any idea - perhaps Windows logs - where to search?

Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 11:01   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
This morning I changed the buffer setting in the virtual com-port, but as it is a virtual one, I can't imagine that this might have an influence.
Well I can imagine some scenarios. Let's say for example your have some instability, for example a bad contact in the usb cable or some driver problem. If there is enough buffer for O not to notice the problem, and continue reading until the driver has sorted itself again somehow, buffer size could influence. Theoretically...

If O is frozen to the extent that t can't be stopped, it is probably stuck in some driver code waiting for an event that never happens. So something is going wrong in a way that our code to detect a port failure and restart it after a while doesn't trigger or fails to sort the problem.

@Dave: Shouldn't we be logging something say around nmea.cpp:2602 when this happens, so it would be easier to detect if it was happening now and then?

/j
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 11:50   #30
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1729

Pavel..

I created a demo track today but I am unable to delete it afterwards.
It is no part of any waypoint file or in the layers area.
I also still have that old land track I mentioned earlier,unable to remove/delete.

Please advice.

Tore
__________________

__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.