Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 19:23   #91
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Team....

Just for fun, I attach an underway pix taken during my recent Gulf Stream crossing.

Please note:
1. Speed 9.3 Kts (which was 3.5+ kts of fair current at this low-cruise power setting). Located Gulf Stream axis with GRIB from rtofs....

2. OCPN set to green-screen, F6 dimmed, cm93 Dusk setting.
This works for me, and allows easy transition to/from analog radar display at night.

3. As always, AIS targets abound in the Gulf Stream. Most are heavy Class A targets running 16-18 kts.

Just for fun......

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	green1.jpg
Views:	677
Size:	315.9 KB
ID:	39385  
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 19:33   #92
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

...here's an odd thing that's different from 2.5.. I have a java app(MobileWitch) that sends keyboard commands via bluetooth...
The (mapped) arrow keys don't work on 2.6.1524 , but work fine on 2.5 and most other windows type apps too. All the other keyboard shortcuts that I've mapped still work fine in 2.6.1524. It's just the arrow keys that don't work.

The actual keys on the keyboard work fine, so it's not a bug, just a curiousity.

for what it's worth, the mapping in Mobile Witch:
left arrow is 37, right is 39,up is 38, down is 40.
__________________

__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 06:28   #93
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Dave

Testing chart groups, I find that in GL mode (only), charts from different groups can be displayed at the same time.

Click image for larger version

Name:	group.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	352.4 KB
ID:	39568

I first displayed the US chart group. The picture is what happened when switching to the UK chart group. There is a US chart mixed into the display. The red PLY lines o the US chart belongs to the UK group!

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 19:54   #94
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Thomas....

Re: mixed-up groups.....
I cannot reproduce this.

Is it reliably created by you?

Something funny: The chart bar shows two charts available, but it sure looks like there are three distinct chart patches shown on screen.

I think the OpenGL texture maps are scrambled.
Still looking....

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:16   #95
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Dave

I tested the setup again, and I can recreate the error. Though it is not exactly the same chart area covered, and the same charts involved.
More about the setup here. If you have the bandwidth available, I can do you a 7-zipped package for testing.
Quote:
Is it reliably created by you?
Yes, but I could be blind for my own errors, but I canīt find any...

While at it I tested another possible scenario.

The charts that are in the chart-groups are deleted from the "Active Chart Directories". The chart groups are left unchanged. Should we pop up an error message or just make it impossible to delete an Active directory as long as it's a part of a chart group? Should something be written to the the log?

In this perticular test, the UK chart group continued to work but not the US group.
Closing down, deleting "chartlist.dat" and restarting resulted in only the background black vector chart being displayed by th UK & US chart groups. So it seems to be a bit unpredictable exactly what happens.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:15   #96
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Thomas...

Very odd...

I have strong Wifi now, so maybe I should try to reproduce the effect with your scenario. Please send to my email.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:45   #97
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

I can also duplicate bad behaviour Thomas winkled out.
(on XP, Dell420, with openGL ON)
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:53   #98
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

in fact, here's some bad behaviour without the chart groups invoked. OpenGL is On)
Click image for larger version

Name:	badchart-OPENGL.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	351.8 KB
ID:	39630

added. But might be due to fiddling with cahrt groups while testing, and "Scan Charts Update Database" applied
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 16:25   #99
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Thomas & Happy...

Got it. Found a smoking gun....

A problem with cache coherency on group change. Only affects raster charts on group switch, with OpenGL ON.

Set for next Beta

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:10   #100
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Dave,

While you are in a debugging mode, how about tracing this small but annoying behaviour which is with us since 2.5 (and possibly earlier)? The toolbar will float to the centre of the screen and stay there. This is 100% reproductible with my setup:

  1. start OpenCPN
  2. click ToolBox icon
  3. in ToolBox press 'Cancel'
The tool bar will stay in the middle of the screen as illustrated.

Physical screen resolution is 1024x768.
OpenGL disabled, as I have very poor support for it on this hardware and it makes things slower.

Marius
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	59
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	39664  
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:31   #101
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrm View Post
Dave,

While you are in a debugging mode, how about tracing this small but annoying behaviour which is with us since 2.5 (and possibly earlier)? The toolbar will float to the centre of the screen and stay there. This is 100% reproductible with my setup:

  1. start OpenCPN
  2. click ToolBox icon
  3. in ToolBox press 'Cancel'
The tool bar will stay in the middle of the screen as illustrated.

Physical screen resolution is 1024x768.
OpenGL disabled, as I have very poor support for it on this hardware and it makes things slower.

Marius
Marius, what operating system? I can't replicate this problem on XP....

Dirk
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:39   #102
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeaseOnLife View Post
Marius, what operating system? I can't replicate this problem on XP....

Dirk
Linux, Ubuntu 10.10.
Wx libraries upgraded to get sound working, but the same problem was before, so it is not the cause.
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:16   #103
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
A problem with track selection

If two tracks are wholly or partially overlapping,
and the track which was there first is hidden,
then the second - visible - track
cannot be selected with right mouse click on the common part.

It is rare for tracks to overlap, but I use tracks for drawing a paper charts inventory. I have one set for "All charts on board" and another set for "Folio Mediterranean", so they do overlap indeed.

The attached example is a real usage case with layers, but the effect is the same with tracks not belonging to any layer.
OCPN 2.5.0 displays the same behaviour.
It affects tracks only, not routes.

I tried to look into the source, but the boat is moving too much... tomorrow they promise a calm day...

Piotr
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	folio_KB_med_sel1.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	121.9 KB
ID:	39670   Click image for larger version

Name:	folio_KB_med_sel2.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	121.5 KB
ID:	39671  

Attached Files
File Type: doc folio_KB_all.gpx.doc (92.7 KB, 31 views)
File Type: doc folio_KB_med.gpx.doc (22.9 KB, 28 views)
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 13:25   #104
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrm View Post
Linux, Ubuntu 10.10.
Wx libraries upgraded to get sound working, but the same problem was before, so it is not the cause.
In addition, I tested on another Linux machine, Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS, with a bigger physical display, 1680x1050, and the toolbar problem does not appear. So there may be a speculative hint that the behaviour might be related to the amount of (vertical) screen space available and whether the ToolBox window fits inside the main window..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	67
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	39674  
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 14:45   #105
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 490
Re: OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524

Anyone knows how to increase the length of the current arrows?
Regards.
P_dub
__________________

__________________
P_Dub is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn for Navigation gpshephe Marine Electronics 10 30-12-2013 10:33
What Do You Think of Selling OpenCPN? esan6 OpenCPN 25 23-10-2013 09:35
Help with OpenCPN Sailorman375 Navigation 3 11-08-2013 21:58
OpenCPN Build on Windows - Please Help! kenchan OpenCPN 2 25-03-2012 19:55
OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1511 bdbcat OpenCPN 64 23-03-2012 10:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.