Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2010, 12:51   #76
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
In 2.2.716 I am unable to drag a mark. I was trying to modify a route by "inserting a mark" and then dragging it so as to miss an obstruction. The manual indicates that marks can be dragged, but is mute about waypoints.
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2010, 13:05   #77
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
May be you must unlock it in Toolbox, then Etc. tab and Waypoint locking

Jean-Pierre
__________________

__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2010, 16:54   #78
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Thanks, Jean-Pierre I didn't notice that. I don't remember setting it but I must have, as I remember moving WP in the past.

Howerver, is it strange that a locked waypoint can be deleted but not moved? I would have guessed the opposite.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2010, 04:38   #79
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Thomas..

I was thinking that at first, but many of my moored/anchored targets do NOT show a black spot? Thanks anyway...

Tore
Tore

In the cases you are referring to - are these vessels actually transmitting a "Navigational Status" of "Ship at anchor or berthed" ?
The Icon is based on this message, not the vessels speed.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2010, 07:15   #80
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomation

You are probably right, but then many ships are not transmitting correct info.
did not think their location state could be surpressed or omitted by the users.
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 09:26   #81
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where my little boat is ;-) now Philippines
Boat: Catamaran Schionning Wilderness 1320, built myself
Posts: 189
Version 2.2 Build 808
Win7 Ultimate 64 press 'Route Manager' button and 'Opencpn crashes.

Got a few routes and tracks that I would like to save - how to do?!?!?!?
__________________
blubaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 09:50   #82
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by blubaju View Post
Got a few routes and tracks that I would like to save - how to do?!?!?!?
Install version 2.1.0 and PRESERVE config files on setup.
Go to the Routemanager and ...

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 12:28   #83
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Greetings. Apologies in advance for what I am sure is viewed as an unpopular newbie question. I am a big fan of OpenCPN and thank you all for making this wonderful open source product. It is awesome. I am going on a 6-day trip around the NC outer banks starting Friday 8/20 and I have my routes all plotted and ready to go. I also have paper charts and onboard GPS but am excited about playing with OpenCPN. So here's my question: I am currently using 2.1 and am very familiar with all the functionality it has that I am going to use. In layman's terms - is there any additional functionality or usability enhancements in 2.2 that would make it worth me trying the latest stable 2.2 beta? I have read through the thread and see all the various change notes - none stand out but to be honest many are completely greek to me so if they have user impacts I wouldn't know.

Thanks again - love this stuff.
__________________
one wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 13:53   #84
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by one wolf View Post
So here's my question: I am currently using 2.1 and am very familiar with all the functionality it has that I am going to use. In layman's terms - is there any additional functionality or usability enhancements in 2.2 that would make it worth me trying the latest stable 2.2 beta? I have read through the thread and see all the various change notes - none stand out but to be honest many are completely greek to me so if they have user impacts I wouldn't know.
Wolf...
Well, 2.2 is in beta (= intentionally broken to an extent varying with time) phase right now, so don't expect it to be as stable as the stable version. I would say you will not see much changes, so take 2.1 which you know is working for you, unless you want to play with celestial navigation, which is the biggest "visible" addition (but not that stable yet ).

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2010, 04:36   #85
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Question to all Windows users

Hi,

I have a question to all Windows testers:
Is it possible to install OpenCPN (all versions from 1.3.6 up to the latest Beta) without admin privileges (as a standard user) with UAC enabled (Win >= Vista)?

If so, could you please have a look at the Registry if the following keys exist:
  • HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Uninstall\OpenCPN ...
  • HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\opencpn.org
  • HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\OpenCPN
  • or any other keys (starting with "opencpn") under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\...
If not, please look at the same subkeys but in 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE'.
IMPORTANT: Make sure you are loged on as a standard user (not as a PowerUser in XP or as an Admin)!

Please report back
  1. your installed version(s) of OpenCPN
  2. your Windows Version (2K, XP, Vista, 7)
  3. your UAC setting (for Win >= Vista)
Thanks a lot for your help,

Gunther

PS: I am running Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit and I am unable to install OpenCPN without granting admin privileges to a standard user when running the setup file. The problem hereby is that as soon as you grant the admin privileges to the standard user he is no longer the owner of the task/ process. Instead it is the user from whom you granted the privileges. As a logical result from this behaviour it isn't possible to install OpenCPN for a standard user but instead you have to install it for all users. Only by doing so a standard user will be able to run OpenCPN on the system.

But as I only have a Windows 7 system and normally have only one (admin) user account on my machine I would like to ensure/ check back, if my "observation"/ conclusions are right.
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2010, 10:47   #86
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
The "moored" designation has to be entered into the sending ship's AIS system for it to show on the receiving end as moored. I's not a matter of speed = 0 or anything, it's a status flag. In my experience on Lake Michigan, very few AIS targets bother to set their status to "moored" when they are, they just leave the system active. I've seen freighters at dock for three days that never indacate a moored status. BTW, many here don't set their destination either.

Given that's it's only currently required for international voayages, once even the freighters from Canada have entered US waters, they get lax on it.
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 09:42   #87
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 302
tidal info special characters

Hoi Dave,
So far fantastic. I'm running the windows 2.1 version now 24/7 onbard a coaster trading in NW europe.
Only one minor bug found sofar in the tidal info.
If there are special characters used in port names and/or descriptions the tidal curve remains blank.
I changed in the HARMONIC files : Brunsbüttel into Brunsbuttel (Germany)
and Cuxhaven steubenhöft into steubenhoeft en everythings works again.
Problem apears to be in linux build 805 aswell in stable windows 2.1
regards
Dirk
__________________
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 15:06   #88
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almería, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Hello, been far too busy to take all but a cursory glance at the new betas..

In the AIS target list, would it make sense to sort targets by distance from ownship, or even permit user to select column to sort by?

Regards
__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 15:39   #89
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by idpnd View Post

In the AIS target list, would it make sense to sort targets by distance from ownship, or even permit user to select column to sort by?

Regards
would prefer the "minutes to the crash". a ferry with 42 knots in 5 miles distance is more dangerous than the fisher with 3 knots 2 miles away.
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:50   #90
Registered User
 
petermoree's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: TINTEL (36ft Hoek design) see http://www.moree.nl/tintel
Posts: 126
After using AIS intensively in the busiest shippinglanes in the world (Rotterdam/Hamburg areas) I do not need any improvements from the current software.
Your logic is right, but setting your own heading marker at 20 minutes ahead and that of the AIS shipping the same you can see very well where everyone is in about 20 minutes ahead of the present. This gave me the best info I have ever had in crossing shipping lanes. Additional software options would just make OCPN heavier than necessary in my opinion.
__________________

__________________
petermoree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Test / Technical bdbcat OpenCPN 2072 12-12-2017 18:48
OpenCPN Version 2.2 Beta Test bdbcat OpenCPN 437 15-12-2010 20:17
OpenCPN Version 2.1.0 Beta bdbcat OpenCPN 1045 25-06-2010 11:09
OpenCPN Version 1.3.5 Beta Technical bdbcat OpenCPN 544 24-03-2010 11:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.