Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2010, 12:13   #631
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Cagney.....

I see the problem. I am not utilizing the GPS status field coming from the library. Still coming up to speed on libgps.....Easy fix.

I have code running now which dynamically loads libgps without a fixed run-time linkage to the .so. Also better version and error checking. So, the way this works is that if the app has been built with libgps support, on a machine that has the dev includes, then it will provide libgps when run on any other machine that has libgps installed. This is what we need for the release .deb package.

I just tested, and it does the right thing when the GPS is unplugged.

Still need a tweak to the cmake script, so that the build will work right whether or not one has the dev includes.

I'll have this stuff uploaded this evening.


Meanwhile, enjoy your virtual wireless random GPS connection

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline  
Old 30-05-2010, 14:57   #632
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Boat: Marieholm IF "Ida"
Posts: 10
I have some problems with the recommended track. (RECTRC in CM39). Supposed to be an pink arrow with red and green dot on each side but shows up as a grey double pointed arrow. However, when using "object query" the data seems to be there (direction etc.)
__________________

__________________
Jakobsson is offline  
Old 30-05-2010, 15:47   #633
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jakobbson....

Could you tell us the lat/lon of the RECTRC Feature you are describing?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline  
Old 30-05-2010, 18:50   #634
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Beta 530

Folks....

Release 2.1.0 Beta Build 530 is available on CVS.

Small changes to linux gpsd library support and cmake script. Changes should be transparent to Windows testers.

Thanks for your time
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline  
Old 30-05-2010, 23:16   #635
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

Installation with cmake works fine. Thanks.
__________________
jpiebrig is offline  
Old 31-05-2010, 02:44   #636
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Boat: Marieholm IF "Ida"
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
jakobbson....

Could you tell us the lat/lon of the RECTRC Feature you are describing?

Thanks
Dave
Everywhere as far as I can see, which means the scandinavian waters. 58 05 N 11 20 E for example:
__________________
Jakobsson is offline  
Old 31-05-2010, 03:46   #637
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Could you tell us the lat/lon of the RECTRC Feature you are describing?
Also a screenshot, please, I don't have MaxSea or something else able to display CM93 "properly" at hand and we don't have that symbol in the library so it has to be drawn...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline  
Old 31-05-2010, 03:55   #638
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Boat: Marieholm IF "Ida"
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdcat
jakobbson....

Could you tell us the lat/lon of the RECTRC Feature you are describing?

Thanks
Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Also a screenshot, please, I don't have MaxSea or something else able to display CM93 "properly" at hand and we don't have that symbol in the library so it has to be drawn...

Pavel
Well, I tried about an hour ago but I guess something went wrong... Here it goes again: 58 05 N 11 20 E:

Best Regards,

Jakobsson
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	opencpnRECTR.gif
Views:	82
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	16566  
__________________
Jakobsson is offline  
Old 31-05-2010, 04:16   #639
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakobsson View Post
Well, I tried about an hour ago but I guess something went wrong... Here it goes again: 58 05 N 11 20 E:

Best Regards,

Jakobsson
Sorry for not being clear enough - I need a screenshot of how it should look

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline  
Old 31-05-2010, 10:21   #640
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakobsson View Post
I have some problems with the recommended track. (RECTRC in CM39). Supposed to be an pink arrow with red and green dot on each side but shows up as a grey double pointed arrow. However, when using "object query" the data seems to be there (direction etc.)
The arrow you describe, visible at the screen-dumps below, has nothing to do with the recommended track as such, it is a "Symbol showing direction of bouyage where not obvious".
This symbol is not present in CM93.
The "grey double pointed arrow" is a recommended (two way)track corresponding to the Swedish Charts solid black line. This is quite reasonable. US charts use a solid line for a recommended track based on a system of fixed marks. A dashed line with double arrows, similar to CM93, represents the track otherwise. In Swedish charts a solid line is representing both cases.

Thomas
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nu2.png
Views:	80
Size:	232.3 KB
ID:	16591   Click image for larger version

Name:	nu3.png
Views:	75
Size:	374.8 KB
ID:	16592  

__________________
cagney is offline  
Old 31-05-2010, 22:45   #641
Registered User
 
BernardOfCa's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Boat: Beneteau 411
Posts: 17
Testing 2.1.0 Build 527a: overall very impressive

Note sure if this has been reported before but I am seeing a program crashes in real navigation situation. Using Windows 7 Home Edition. Program crashed multiple time during a 20 miles crossing. V1.3.6 did not have this issue.
__________________
BernardOfCa is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 00:33   #642
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Can you post the opencpn.Log file out of your %appdata%\opencpn directory?
__________________
champ8242 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 02:04   #643
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
test 527-530 windows

Hi Dave

I tested 210 527 and then 530 in navigation during a couple of days

Some comments :

In general this version works fine

I noticed small problems

1) course up mode
Even the performance during zooming , dragging is not so good , it's work fine in navigation .
I noticed that when disabling course up , screen is odd during several seconds ( see shot 527-1 )
When I reduce the COGUPAvgSeconds value , it is better . Could it be possible to not use
this value when the calculation is triggered by a click on the icon ?

2) tracks
When the boat is not moving at all and track activated :
If the time interval is selected , many track points are created with zero length legs (see shot 527-2)
If the distance interval is selected , it doesn't happens but if the track is manually stopped , a track with
two track points and zero lenfth is created .(see shot 527-3)
In both cases , a very small difference in the position from GPS allows it . Sometime this difference is not visible in properties
because it's on the fourth digit after comma . This leads to have lots of tracks in the base .
May be it would be usefully to integrate a minimum speed to allow track points creation ?

Also I experienced interruption in the track while running (The active track stops and a new track is created and start ) but I didn't find what is exactly the situation where it happens .

best regards
Jean Pierre
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	527-1.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	116.2 KB
ID:	16618   Click image for larger version

Name:	527-2.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	160.6 KB
ID:	16619  

Click image for larger version

Name:	527-3.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	218.8 KB
ID:	16620  
__________________
Ptizef is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 10:07   #644
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
Quote:


Lets make sure we are on the same wavelength. Assuming that you have a working 526 version -- you should be able to open in explorer the folder C:\Program Files\OpenCPN and replace just the opencpn.exe file found their with one of the two opencpn.exe 529a files you download. No other files need to be touched or changed. Also, with the OpenCPN fold still open, the program should run when you double click on the .exe file.
Yup, I went thru step by... still not working on either nav computer. same message about ap isn't configured correctly and it won't start.

So I tried my home computer. Installed 520 (ran fine), then replaced just the .exe with 526 (ran fine), then went straight to 529 and it ran fine! something about having run 527 in the middle got me screwed up. i did notice in the other beta thread a few postings that confirm the uninstall and windows remove don't get all of the opencpn files out. (to prove it, uninstall either way, then reinstall and you're still configured like you were and in the same location.) the thought in that thread was opencpn.ini in application data was lingering.

I'll try to remove the ap data and uninstall on my nav computer. then start at 520 and go straight to 529. wish me luck.

blu
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 10:13   #645
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
twitchin' charts

Will's "twitch" isn't just caffeine. this weekend I was running 527 in north up mode and when moving the screen seemed to replot every 2 seconds or so which created a half-second blur then clear view for 1-2 seconds, then as it moved i'd get the blur again and then clear for a couple seconds.

it's the same thing I see when I zoom in or out... that there's a split second of blur before the chart really resolves itself and the depths and type get clearly readable.

when it happens every two seconds, that's a twitch!

is this normal?

other than that, it's a beaut!! ran great all weekend.
__________________

__________________
BluegillBoy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Version 1.3.5 Beta Technical bdbcat OpenCPN 544 24-03-2010 11:34
OpenCPN Version 1.3.6 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 32 30-01-2010 06:07



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.