Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 10:51   #16
Registered User
 
sredna's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vester Skerninge, Danmark
Boat: Svendborg Senior DEN 38 Kate
Posts: 107
linux device handling

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulup View Post
[*] Still waiting for Linux Sleep/Wakeup. OpenCPN does not close /dev/USBtty0 when going in sleep mode. As a result at wakeup time USB port changes name and becomes /dev/USBtty1. Further more has we cannot force a specific device like /dev/gpsUSB it is not possible to bypass the problem by manually configuring udev files. Obviously the best solution would be OpenCPN to handle UDEV natively, but as a quick short cut: it would be nice to either allow people to enter their own devices name or to provide some generic names like /dev/opencpn-gps & /dev/opencpn-ais which would allow us to provide a hot-fix by hacking udev config.[/LIST]
On my system openCPN connects to the GPS through gpsd, so in my case gpsd would be responsible for handling the device.

This can be done (on current linux with pm-utils installed) by placing scripts in /usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/ which adds/removes the device from gpsd (or starts/stops gpsd).

In the future, device-kit-power (or what the name ends up being) will take over, the developers have been urged to add a dbus signal for sleep/resume events.

AFAIK there is no way to "handle udev manually" - udev works by effectuating the rules in /etc/udev/rules.d. And again, to my knowledge openCPN is connecting to (at least my) GPS devices through gpsd - correct me if I am wrong.
__________________

__________________
sredna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 14:55   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Morbihan Brittany France
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 37
Posts: 64
yes you can manualy configure udev.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sredna View Post
AFAIK there is no way to "handle udev manually" - udev works by effectuating the rules in /etc/udev/rules.d. And again, to my knowledge openCPN is connecting to (at least my) GPS devices through gpsd - correct me if I am wrong.
WRONG I posted long time ago on this same forum a short cut to handle this. http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f134/opencpn-13653-16.html#post297494

The solution remain valid, with or without gpsd. The main advantage of GPSd is that it closes & reopens the device as soon as it fails to read it. As a result at wakeup time even if the real device name changed, GPSd at reopen time transparently reoopen the new name through the symbolic name.
__________________

__________________
fulup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 06:48   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Hi,
Some possible improvements in tide (and may be currents) display
point 1:
OpenCpn automatically includes the daylight saving offset . Right
For example , my meridian is Z+01:00 and the summer daylight saving date is 03/28/2010 . If I start my PC with a date greater this date , opencpn display Z+02:00 and calculation is done accordingly . OK , no problem .
But If I open my PC with a date before this date let say 03/27/2010 and I click "next" until ... let say 03/29/2010 ; OpenCpn still displays Z+01:00 but calculation includes daylight saving offset , meaning that Z+... is not updated so display is not coherent and could be confusing
point 2 (a very small one ):
When opening the tide window , Opencpn displays "today" ,then after Clicking "next" ,"tomorrow" . But if I continue to click next , I have "today" then "tomorrow" once a week for each week in the future .
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 13:37   #19
Registered User
 
sredna's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vester Skerninge, Danmark
Boat: Svendborg Senior DEN 38 Kate
Posts: 107
The downloadable source package opencpn-1.3.6.tar.bz2 contains a broken Makefile.am, installing the locale files to a hardcoded location. (/usr/local instead of the localedir variable)

patch enclosed, postfixed .doc due to the odd upload rules. Also fixes the installation of opencpn.desktop

Anders
Attached Files
File Type: doc Makefile.am.patch.doc (2.3 KB, 34 views)
__________________
sredna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 14:57   #20
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
Hi,
Some possible improvements in tide (and may be currents) display
point 1:
OpenCpn automatically includes the daylight saving offset . Right
For example , my meridian is Z+01:00 and the summer daylight saving date is 03/28/2010 . If I start my PC with a date greater this date , opencpn display Z+02:00 and calculation is done accordingly . OK , no problem .
But If I open my PC with a date before this date let say 03/27/2010 and I click "next" until ... let say 03/29/2010 ; OpenCpn still displays Z+01:00 but calculation includes daylight saving offset , meaning that Z+... is not updated so display is not coherent and could be confusing
point 2 (a very small one ):
When opening the tide window , Opencpn displays "today" ,then after Clicking "next" ,"tomorrow" . But if I continue to click next , I have "today" then "tomorrow" once a week for each week in the future .
Jean Pierre
Jean Pierre (Ptizef), this is worthy of two bug entries, if you don't mind doing it. Here is the place: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?gro...42&atid=894804

Mark
__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 14:58   #21
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Quote:
Originally Posted by sredna View Post
The downloadable source package opencpn-1.3.6.tar.bz2 contains a broken Makefile.am, installing the locale files to a hardcoded location. (/usr/local instead of the localedir variable)

patch enclosed, postfixed .doc due to the odd upload rules. Also fixes the installation of opencpn.desktop

Anders
Anders, thanks - I'll see if I can apply this to the code base.

Mark
__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 15:18   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyches View Post
Jean Pierre (Ptizef), this is worthy of two bug entries, if you don't mind doing it. Here is the place: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?gro...42&atid=894804

Mark
OK It's done
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 15:26   #23
Registered User
 
sredna's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vester Skerninge, Danmark
Boat: Svendborg Senior DEN 38 Kate
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyches View Post
Anders, thanks - I'll see if I can apply this to the code base.

Mark
Hi Mark,

I'm having second thoughts about the desktop file
I think it should be installed using xdg-desktop-menu:

Code:
xdg-desktop-menu install [path/]opencpn.desktop
That would ensure it is installed in the correct directory. Also the icon can be installed with

Code:
xdg-icon-resource --context apps --size <px> install [path/]opencpn.png
There are manuals for both utilities if it does not work, the xdg-icon-resource manual lists common sizes (16, 22, 32, 48, 64, 128).

You would probably have to check for the availability of the xdg utils, but they are likely to be present in any modern linux/unix system I believe - and if not, the .desktop file is probably not used anyway.

Anders
__________________
sredna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 12:50   #24
Registered User
 
jonasaberg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Boat: Wasa 410
Posts: 305
No virtual ports found in Win7

I have installed an app that relays my mobile phones GPS data via NMEA sequences sent via bluetooth to my pc running Windows7.
It works great in XP as reported here:
Feature Requests

I am very much a newbie to win7 compared to XP however. It works without flaws to connect the pc to the phone via bluetooth (Adding a device). After mating my pc with the phone I can view the settings via the bluetooth dialogue and observe the virtual serial ports used (com4 and 5)

At this stage in WinXP it was only to start OpenCPN and choose the right port - it was found directly - not so in Win7.

I opened ControlPanel/System/device manager/ports
and they are both there:
I changed the port settings (from 9600 to 4800bd)

Restarted OpenCPN but still No Go.

To try whether it really is OpenCPN that does not find any serial ports or if it is Win7 I installed TeraTerm (HyperTerminal has been scrapped in Win7) and opened serial port com5 with the same settings and, voala, the screen is filled with NMEA sequences.
It seems it is some compatibility problem with OpenCPN and Win7.

Any suggestions from any Win7 guru - or is this an OpenCPN bug?

/Jonas

Edit: It works fine in Seaclear so it looks like an OpenCPN problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bt.gif
Views:	112
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	12697   Click image for larger version

Name:	ports.gif
Views:	113
Size:	38.0 KB
ID:	12698  

Click image for larger version

Name:	port2.gif
Views:	110
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	12699   Click image for larger version

Name:	nmea.gif
Views:	123
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	12700  

Click image for larger version

Name:	tera.gif
Views:	114
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	12701  
__________________
jonasaberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2010, 07:58   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Currently based near Jacksonville FL; WHOOSH's homeport is St. Pete, FL USA
Boat: WHOOSH, Pearson 424 Ketch
Posts: 591
Waypoints not uploading

Running XP Pro and 1.3.6

When running 1.3.2, I could upload waypoints to my Garmin 128 GPS...altho' I found 1.3.2 would only upload some of the waypoints and it took several uploads for them all to transfer.

Now using same command and getting the dialog box to show the same uploading sequence, no waypoints are transferred to the Garmin. All the Garmin 'interface' settings have been tried. Both deactivated and activated route waypoints have been tried. Not one waypoint has been successfully transferred. There are no more setting choices on the Garmin nor were any needed with 1.3.2.

Suggestions? What might I try next?

Jack
__________________
WHOOSH, Pearson 424 Ketch
http://www.svsarah.com/Whoosh/WhooshSection.htm
Euro Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2010, 09:19   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Currently based near Jacksonville FL; WHOOSH's homeport is St. Pete, FL USA
Boat: WHOOSH, Pearson 424 Ketch
Posts: 591
Still hoping for a suggestion from another OpenCPN user or a member of the team...

Jack
__________________
WHOOSH, Pearson 424 Ketch
http://www.svsarah.com/Whoosh/WhooshSection.htm
Euro Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2010, 13:27   #27
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euro Cruiser View Post
Still hoping for a suggestion from another OpenCPN user or a member of the team...

Jack
Replied here: OpenCPN on a Netbook
__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 08:23   #28
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,310
Uprade to release 1.36 means no charts

I tried to upgrade the working release 1.32 on my netbook with Windows XP to 1.36 last night. I uninstalled 1.32 and downloaded release 1.36 from sourceforge and installed it. Now all it tells me is 'no chart available' at the top of the screen. The charts I tried to load through toolbox/charts were CM93 charts which worked fine with the old version. Uninstalling and reinstalling have not helped, nor clicking the 'force full database rebuild' box.

What have I done wrong?? I got release 1.36 to work fine on an initial install on another XP laptop....
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 08:29   #29
Registered User
 
sredna's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vester Skerninge, Danmark
Boat: Svendborg Senior DEN 38 Kate
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by donradcliffe View Post
What have I done wrong?? I got release 1.36 to work fine on an initial install on another XP laptop....
Can you make sure that there are no international characters in your chart path (жеш etc), those are not functioning with 1.3.6 (should work again in next version afaik)

Anders
__________________
sredna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 09:08   #30
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,310
No international characters--just c:\CM93\
__________________

__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Version 1.3.5 Beta Technical bdbcat OpenCPN 544 24-03-2010 11:34
Hayfield Quick Release Stillraining Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 7 06-11-2008 20:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.