Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2009, 08:25   #301
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rome
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
GPS-Marco....

I was hoping this cm93 load time was fixed.

Could you please describe your chart directory structure in detail? Maybe I missed some case....

Thanks
Dave
As soon as you told me that you solved the issue, I started playing with folders. The CM93 charts in my PC are in

C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\...

Well,

If I select in OCPN
C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
charts are loaded immediately

If I select in OCPN
C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2
charts are loaded in a minute

Ciao, Marco.

UPDATE:

Log for short time load case:

Code:
16.36.25: Found probable CM93 database in C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
16.36.25: Searching directory: C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93 for *.geo
16.36.25: Found probable CM93 database in C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
16.36.25: Searching directory: C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93 for *.KAP
16.36.25: Found probable CM93 database in C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
16.36.25: Searching directory: C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93 for *.000
16.36.25: Found probable CM93 database in C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
16.36.25: Searching directory: C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93 for *.S57
16.36.25: Found probable CM93 database in C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
16.36.25: Searching directory: C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93 for 00300000.A
16.36.25: Found probable CM93 database in C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93
16.36.25:    Skipping inplace chart file: C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\00300000\A\00300000.A
16.36.27: Initializing Chart C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\00300000\A\00300000.A
16.36.27: CM93Composite Chart Root is C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\
16.36.27: Loaded CM93 Dictionary from C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\
16.36.27: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/A/03900000.A
16.36.27: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/B/03900030.B
16.36.27: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/C/03900024.C
16.36.27: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/C/03900036.C
Log for long time load case:

Code:
16.35.51:    No change detected on directory C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2
16.35.52: Initializing Chart C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\00300000\A\00300000.A
16.35.52: CM93Composite Chart Root is C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\
16.35.52: Loaded CM93 Dictionary from C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\
16.35.52: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/A/03900000.A
16.35.52: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/B/03900030.B
16.35.52: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/C/03900024.C
16.35.52: Loading CM93 cell C:\Programmi\OpenCPN\Charts\CM93_Zone_1-2\CM93\03900000/C/03900036.C
__________________

__________________
GPS-Marco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 08:47   #302
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Problems with OpenCPN 1.3.4 and Windows 7

I've installed OpenCPN 1.3.4 on MS Windows 7 Ultimate Edition without any kind of incompatibility message, but, when I start the program, when I close the initial "Settings, etc." form, I receive this message:

"OpenCPN quit working. Windows is looking for a solution ....."

Any solution ? Must I switch to 1.3.5 ? I see many users are installing on Linux, I can also do it via VMware Workstation creating a virtual machine. Is it recommended instead of trying again with MS Windows 7 ? Which Linux distribution are you recommending ?

Thanks in advance for your help.

__________________

__________________
rraapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 08:57   #303
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by rraapp View Post
I've installed OpenCPN 1.3.4 on MS Windows 7 Ultimate Edition without any kind of incompatibility message, but, when I start the program, when I close the initial "Settings, etc." form, I receive this message:

"OpenCPN quit working. Windows is looking for a solution ....."

Any solution ? Must I switch to 1.3.5 ? I see many users are installing on Linux, I can also do it via VMware Workstation creating a virtual machine. Is it recommended instead of trying again with MS Windows 7 ? Which Linux distribution are you recommending ?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sorry, I forgot to include the information supplied by the system (labels in spanish, but I think they're understandable):

Register name:Application
From: Application Error
Date: 23/12/2009 16:44:58
Id. del evento:1000
Category of the task100)
Level: Error
Keywords:Clásico
User: No disponible
PC Name: RAPCES2
Description:
Name of the application: opencpn.exe, versión: 0.0.0.0, timestamp: 0x4ac3f073
Name of the module: opencpn.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, timestamp: 0x4ac3f073
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Error location: 0x0002aef0
Id. del proceso con errores: 0xfe4
Hora de inicio de la aplicación con errores: 0x01ca83e6d9f13417
Ruta de acceso de la aplicación con errores: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\opencpn.exe
Ruta de acceso del módulo con errores: C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\opencpn.exe
Id. del informe: 1f254149-efda-11de-b5e8-005056c00008
XML de evento:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-12-23T15:44:58.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>3716</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>RAPCES2</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>opencpn.exe</Data>
<Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>4ac3f073</Data>
<Data>opencpn.exe</Data>
<Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>4ac3f073</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>0002aef0</Data>
<Data>fe4</Data>
<Data>01ca83e6d9f13417</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\opencpn.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\opencpn.exe</Data>
<Data>1f254149-efda-11de-b5e8-005056c00008</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
__________________
rraapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 09:33   #304
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
beta 1222
For me with Vista both cm93 loading time and decimal points are fixed
Cm93 time loading almost invisible
Register back to initial setting with no black screen
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 09:49   #305
Registered User
 
Springbok's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aberdeen, South Africa
Boat: r then 33 Y amaha Feb 2014 just bought Alan Pape 43 ketch
Posts: 198
Upgrading

Hello Dave,
Am not very computer literate.Tried unistalling all in package manager, then reinstalling 1.3.4, Said I already had it although I thought I'd just uninstalled, then tried beta 1.3.5 and get black screen again. Cannot read chart invetory etc on left-side of box as 3/4 hidden? Am on LINUX and confused. If I wait for your next update will this help as obviously my computer skills are limited? Have I lost all charts I uploaded into the original 1.3.4 ?
cLYDE
__________________
Springbok
Springbok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 10:34   #306
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Dave
Moving , zooming become very - very slow with GRIB data displayed and large scale . With scale > 1/50000 it is very difficult , and almost impossible with scale = 1/20000
I precise with NO use of Hight definition . In fact there is little difference
Here the result : This is not a crash ,opencpn will take 1 mn to display

Jean Pierre
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	grib.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	12029  
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 11:13   #307
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Thanks Dave for the new beta. The development speed of OpenCPN is impressive indeed, so many new things to play with.

I had none of the installation problems with "cp" that idpnd reports, but could nevertheless not get languages going at first.

The changes were written to the config file, but I got this message in the log
Quote:
06:18:03 PM: System default Language: en_US
06:18:03 PM: Error: Cannot set locale to 'da_DK'.
06:18:03 PM: Opencpn language set to: en_US
A clue comes when trying
Quote:
LANG=da_DK opencpn
I get this back on the command line
Quote:
(process:31834): Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library

(process:31834): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.
Of course I had no support for Danish on my computer!! After installing these packages
Quote:
Installed the following packages:
language-pack-da (1:9.10+20091022)
language-pack-da-base (1:9.10+20091022)
and .. restarting...Danish did indeed appear. Platform: Linux Kubuntu 9.10.
The need for these basic language packages on Linux needs documenting, to help newcomers(and the rest of us) getting started.
Maybe the correct packages should be made a dependency at some stage in the future.

From the menu in the toolbox it is not clear which language packages that are available. Just showing those languages that are actually available in each release is probably a good idea ...or?


Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 11:32   #308
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Hi Dave,
The lines written at the side of the Stockholm Sandhamn Chart seems to be fixed, but when in Auto-Follow mode the Chart oscillates in both directions when "sailing" in one direction. i.e. it goes back and forth alternately, while making overall progress. This is using the setup previously mention with the lines problem.
/Pete
__________________
PeteCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 12:06   #309
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Dave

I don't know if this has anything to do with the problem......
Swedish charts in 1:50.000 or greater are not Mercator charts.
The projection is a version of Transverse Mercator. Sweden is subdivided into stripes of 2.25 degrees of longitude. I don't know exactly how. Where two of these stripes are joined, there must in my mind be a (slight) discontinuity.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 13:27   #310
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Locale error

Hi
I just build opencpn with internationalisation (the new rep po with po file)
modif /usr/include/glib-2.0/gio/giotypes.h
./configure --prefix=/opt --> ok no errors
make --> ok no errors
sudo make install
"cp -p ././po/opencpn_de_DE.mo /usr/local/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES
cp: ne peut créer le fichier régulier `/usr/local/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES': Aucun fichier ou dossier de ce type
make[1]: *** [install-data-local] Erreur 1
make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/cvs/opencpn-build-24-12-2009 »
make: *** [install-am] Erreur 2"

If i create "sudo make -p /usr/local/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES"
and now
"cp -p ././po/opencpn_de_DE.mo /usr/local/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES
cp -p ././po/opencpn_da_DK.mo /usr/local/share/locale/da/LC_MESSAGES
cp: ne peut créer le fichier régulier `/usr/local/share/locale/da/LC_MESSAGES': Aucun fichier ou dossier de ce type
make[1]: *** [install-data-local] Erreur 1
make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/cvs/opencpn-build-24-12-2009 »
make: *** [install-am] Erreur 2
"
Bernard
__________________
bdardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 13:43   #311
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 38.1
Posts: 244
Dave, nice job.

One question: I've seen screen caps showing wave height color contours along with wind/pressure data. Should I be seeing this? On both Windows Vista and XP I see wind barbs and pressure info, and in the dialog box I can see wave height numbers as I scroll around, but I have no contours overlaid on the chart. Is there something I don't have turned on? This is with beta 1222.

FYI, I tried this with multiple GRIBs from saildocs, using the gfs model (with PRESS,WIND,WAVES), and also just requesting the WW3 model directly.
__________________
gjorgensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 13:44   #312
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Make -p for all locale in po directory
and i get this
"cp -p ././po/opencpn_de_DE.mo /usr/local/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES
cp -p ././po/opencpn_da_DK.mo /usr/local/share/locale/da/LC_MESSAGES
cp -p ././po/opencpn_it_IT.mo /usr/local/share/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES
cp -p ././po/opencpn_pl_PL.mo /usr/local/share/locale/pl/LC_MESSAGES
make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/cvs/opencpn-build-24-12-2009 »

no french copy off opencpn_fr_FR.mo
I copy this file and i get opencpn in french
i'am happy
bernard
__________________
bdardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 15:01   #313
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Slow GRIB

Ptizef....

Could you send me a copy of the GRIB causing slow action?
Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 15:04   #314
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Stockholm....

PeteCross....

Thanks for testing.

Does that chart position jitter in Latitude, Longitude, or both?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2009, 15:11   #315
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
ww3

gorgensen...

If the GRIB contains WW3 data, you should see multicolored, semitransparent overlay of wave heights and wave direction. Since you see values in the Text box for wave height, there must be WW3 data available. So, where is it on the screen? Do you see double arrows for wave direction?

Do you have the checkbox next to Significant Wave Heights checked?

I'll double check on this end. Maybe you could send me your favorite GRIB file?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Test / Technical bdbcat OpenCPN 2072 12-12-2017 18:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.