Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2016, 02:51   #406
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Apeldoorn
Boat: Ovni 385
Posts: 59
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi SJH,
The plugin detects the radar, so the control blocks get to the plugin, that bit is OK.
But the data does not get to the plugin. If there is data on the line, it does not get to the pi. As you don't hear the humming sound of the scanner turning, I assume it does not switch on and there is no data on the line. But according to the log file the ON command was issued (you observed). Best is you first send me the log file (with verbose = 1 in the ini file) so I can verify. Next step could be to install Wireshark to see what's going on on the line.
Mail to df "at" percussion.nl
Douwe
__________________

__________________
Douwe Fokkema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 02:59   #407
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 166
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJH View Post
Log file seems to show the radar being detected and it reporting things like it changing its range but no data is being received. I think I can see the transmit request: Turn radar 0 on (send TRANSMIT request), but no packets are received.
That is the one. It means that at least the plugin is sending data. The question is where is the hiccup: getting out of your computer, maybe the cable is rotten, the cable between the RI-10/11 and the radome, radome broken, unsufficient power to radome, who knows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJH View Post
I tried setting up a connection in OpenCPN but that didn't have any effect. I may not have done that correctly - I tried setting it to the IP address shown in the radar info and selecting Ethernet and UDP.
Don't do that. That is for NMEA0183 over TCP or UDP. The radar doesn't do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJH View Post
I don't hear anything going on in the scanner but I shouldn't, should I? I didn't think it has any moving parts.
Of course it does. It is not a software steering radar, it would need thousands of transmitters and receivers. It's got a swinging bar with the transmitter below the receiver, sending and receiving all the time. This is why a BR radome is higher than a normal one, it needs physical separate transmit and receiving areas. There is a normal electric motor swinging the arm.

So if you're not hearing anything even when you put your ear on the radome it's not transmitting.

I think it's time to borrow a MFD or take the radome to a MFD and see whether that helps.
__________________

__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 10:59   #408
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tjörn
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 offshore
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hello
I am having the same sort of problem. O 4.2 does not see the radar. latest plugin.
working fine under O 4.0 with 1.2 plugin. windows 10
Same problem on my mac OS 10.11.3.
Radar not present not sending data.
Works in emulator mode on mac and pc.
All other parameters ok.
Include ini file from Mac.

Thanks,

Wim
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 17:14:08 CET: 2016-03-13.pdf (95.3 KB, 4 views)
__________________
bengt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 12:47   #409
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tjörn
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 offshore
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

just a little update

in O 4.0 radarinfo
connected ethernet -adress--

in O 4.2
zero conf ethernet - changing adress 192.168.1.5/169.254.103.233

No radar

/wim
__________________
bengt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 12:55   #410
SJH
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Glasgow
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 53
Posts: 7
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

I'm certainly not hearing anything from the radar.
__________________
SJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 22:45   #411
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 81
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

I tested the Windows version of 1.31 yesterday and noticed the same problem. After powering on and off the radar a few times it just worked.

The radar was detected as present, but no data received before it kicked in. My heading sensor was down, mind you.

I could switch between A and B windows, but couldn't figure out how to get two windows simultaneously - perhaps there is a trick I missed.

Cheers, ....Erik.
Home
__________________
ve7mdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 01:21   #412
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Apeldoorn
Boat: Ovni 385
Posts: 59
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by bengt123 View Post
just a little update

in O 4.0 radarinfo
connected ethernet -adress--

in O 4.2
zero conf ethernet - changing adress 192.168.1.5/169.254.103.233

No radar

/wim
Hi Wim,
My first reaction would be that the firewall is stopping incoming traffic for 4.2, should be enabled separately. If this is not the case, try the attached version of 1.3 that is compiled for 4.0 with your 4.0 (remove .pdf and put in the plugins directory) and let me know the result.
Douwe
Attached Files
File Type: pdf br24radar_pi.dll.pdf (385.5 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Douwe Fokkema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 05:48   #413
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tjörn
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 offshore
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thanks Douwe
I will give it a try but 1.2 works fine with O 4.0

/wim
__________________
bengt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 08:17   #414
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tjörn
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 offshore
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Douwe,
This works fine.
IP 269.254.176.55

O 4.2 not seeing the radar with the 1.3.1 plugin.
Zero conf ethernet IP 192.168.1.5/169.254.103.233 changing in the info screen

The same problem on my Mac with the 1.3.1 plugin and O 4.2.
Clean install on Mac, update on Windows.
firewall off, virusprogram off.

Is it the plugin?
I have a 3G Lawrence radar.

groeten,
wim
__________________
bengt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 08:53   #415
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 166
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by ve7mdl View Post
I tested the Windows version of 1.31 yesterday and noticed the same problem. After powering on and off the radar a few times it just worked.

The radar was detected as present, but no data received before it kicked in. My heading sensor was down, mind you.
Without a heading sensor you ought not to get any radar overlay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ve7mdl View Post
I could switch between A and B windows, but couldn't figure out how to get two windows simultaneously - perhaps there is a trick I missed.
Home
Nope, that trick is not present in 1.3.x -- in that code you can just switch to a different radar, and use the other one on a different OpenCPN instance or a Navico plotter.

In 2.0 we'll show two radar windows and one overlay, but that code is in development.
__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 09:02   #416
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 166
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Bengt123,

I tried to reproduce but the plugin from the OpenCPN.org download site works fine for me, both Windows and Mac (w/ the same OS X release as you, 10.11.3.)

All,

Here are some more ideas for fault tracing this issue:

1. Do you have multiple ethernet cards? If so, does it help if you stop OpenCPN, disable all cards except the (wired) ethernet card with your radar, then start OpenCPN. If this helps we need to fix the card-detection code.
2. If you start OpenCPN the radar button should become "yellow" within 20-30 s, usually much faster. Do not press anything yet. Only when it is yellow should you press the button and check if it turns green within 4 seconds.
__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 11:15   #417
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tjörn
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 offshore
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

problem in Windows solved. Firewall got confused because O 4 and 4.2 have the same name for the *.exe file. Had to fiddle a bit but now all working. Just the Mac left ;.)

Thanks for helping

Wim
__________________
bengt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2016, 11:41   #418
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 166
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Good to know we're not entirely crazy
__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2016, 04:24   #419
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tjörn
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 offshore
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by merrimac View Post
Good to know we're not entirely crazy
No, its the computer thats crazy.
Mac not working.


Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80
10:14:04 CET: Error: BR2radar_pi: Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6
10:14:05 CET: Error: BR2radar_pi: Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 192.168.1.6Cannot bind UDP socket to port 6679 169.254.198.80



It seems to be an IP adress conflict. computer gives a ip adress, opencpn another.

Any suggestions? Before I go crazy ;-)

Regards,
Wim
__________________
bengt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2016, 04:41   #420
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,570
Re: OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by bengt123 View Post
No, its the computer thats crazy.
It is always the man in front of the computer...

Try to understand networking. Different subnets doesn't work without explicit routing. The devices must know what they should do and therefore you have to tell them.

Gerhard
__________________

__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn, plug, radar, simrad

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 771 23-11-2016 02:14
Simrad NSS7 and Simrad 3G radar gunkylump Marine Electronics 6 26-04-2015 13:15
KML Overlay Plugin SethDart OpenCPN 151 08-02-2015 07:55
Simrad 3G radar compatible wilth Lowrance HDS? andreas.mehlin Marine Electronics 6 28-05-2014 10:54
Newbie Impressions of Radar Overlay (Raymarine c80) Northeaster Marine Electronics 0 06-07-2009 07:06


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.