Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2016, 08:56   #196
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,777
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by petter5 View Post
Tested your position with cm93 V july 2012 - O 4.1.1301 - seems to display correct.
He got the bad result when changing the chart details setting. I've done that also with no anomalies at any values. Can you check this too? Just to be sure what is the reason.

Gerhard
__________________

__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 09:01   #197
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlechay View Post
Dan,

It occurs whatever I try to export even a single waypoint.

Still using the version I got from you.

Chris


SY Morgane
Tweed's World | A high latitude sailor preparing for tropical cruising
I had a good read of the .ini file and could see nothing wrong with it but decided to delete it and start with a fresh ini and the problem went away.

Attached is the problematic ini file.

Chris
__________________

__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 09:16   #198
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
I think this is a new issue in CM93. It seems there are multiple layers shown at the same time so the duplicate depth and contour data causes blurring where they overlap. The first screenshot is with CM93 detail set to +3 and the second is set to 0.

Built with latest git as of 12-Jan 12:00UTC.
I see this a lot around the BC and Washington Gulf islands ...there are duplicates in the "cells"
(my version cm93-2010)
Click image for larger version

Name:	cm93duplicates.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	116611

to see which are your duplicates,
Turn quilting off
RightClick, Choose "cm93 offsets"

It's possible to hunt these down and play with them but it's a pain comparing each with a lightlist to choose which is "most correct". In my case, (Canada) original surveys were Mercator TM, UTM and Polyconic -some datum Nad27 so maybe that explains why there seem to be a fair number of these overlays in versions of cm93.
Sounds like newer versions are better
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 10:29   #199
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 490
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

I tried all over BC to see if the same thing would happen and did not.
Would this be cause by your video card?
I am using Windows 7 Ultimate and NVidia GeForce Experience up to date.
Bye
__________________
P_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 11:15   #200
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by P_Dub View Post
I tried all over BC to see if the same thing would happen and did not.
Would this be cause by your video card?
I am using Windows 7 Ultimate and NVidia GeForce Experience up to date.
Bye
I don't thinks so. I see it just some places. It's not everywhere.
transmitter's D's example (and mine) are Friday Hrbr., San Juan Island.
and I see it on differing OS and devices.
....Tweaking the offsets doesn't really work- see the port hand light right above the dialogue which has been "fixed" but nothing else is right.

Click image for larger version

Name:	offsets tweaked.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	135.0 KB
ID:	116615
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 11:34   #201
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,777
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
I don't thinks so. I see it just some places. It's not everywhere.
transmitter's D's example (and mine) are Friday Hrbr., San Juan Island.
and I see it on differing OS and devices.
....Tweaking the offsets doesn't really work- see the port hand light right above the dialogue which has been "fixed" but nothing else is right.

Attachment 116615
Happy,

I couldn't get exactly the same scale you have (5700 3.5x)) but it looks different here. Regard also the scale bar at the left of the screenshot.

Gerhard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CM93Scaling1.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	312.0 KB
ID:	116617  
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 11:58   #202
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 490
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Happy you must have a double of the chart with offset, because I did not see any of this.
Regards
__________________
P_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 12:22   #203
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,777
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

So there are obviously some bad cracked CM93 versions floating around...

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 12:36   #204
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Here with 4.1.1301 from 06.01.2016 under W8.1 ok and the same for OS-X 4.0 (CM2010)
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 12:49   #205
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,028
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
So there are obviously some bad cracked CM93 versions floating around...

Gerhard

That could be the issue but I thought O knew how to quilt vector charts. Maybe this is not a "new" issue which is my only worry. I'm doing as much testing as possible before 4.2 comes out. Trying to exercise as many features as I can along with "stupid" settings to see what breaks.
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 12:55   #206
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 202
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
I don't thinks so. I see it just some places. It's not everywhere.
transmitter's D's example (and mine) are Friday Hrbr., San Juan Island.
and I see it on differing OS and devices.
....Tweaking the offsets doesn't really work- see the port hand light right above the dialogue which has been "fixed" but nothing else is right.

Attachment 116615
hi,
in my understanding of CM format for a cell (an area) you have a base chart and updates, the base is '0' and update are 'A' to whatever, you can find them on unix like OS with the following command in the CM directory:
find . -name "[A-Z]*.?" -print

few thinks
1) there's a lot of weird CM charts out there, some with the base newer than the updates..., if you assume dates are ok of course.

2) if charts are ok then OCPN isn't doing the right thing, it's adding all objects from the updates to its list when it should replacing some or all, the result being these 'drunk sailor' charts with duplicate objects ( use right click menu -->object query.. stuff are there multiple time).

Maybe there's something in the chart saying 'replace this object' or it's the cell coverage, or it's just bad sets.
__________________
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 13:00   #207
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

add: @ did_g yes that makes sense. Funny that so far I've never found these anywhere in the world except hereabouts...(and I didn't do it! Trans-dan having em too confirms it)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
Happy,

I couldn't get exactly the same scale you have (5700 3.5x)) but it looks different here. Regard also the scale bar at the left of the screenshot.

Gerhard
Quote:
So there are obviously some bad cracked CM93 versions floating around
ha! for sure!
...possibly, my version has been "merged" rather than replacing an older version ... I have already taken the what appear to be the least accurate doubles out of the cm93 folders when I discovered this awhile ago, but only in Canada . This Friday Harbour one Trans'Dan found is one I missed.

Anyways, it's not O's fault.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 13:13   #208
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
He got the bad result when changing the chart details setting. I've done that also with no anomalies at any values. Can you check this too? Just to be sure what is the reason.

Gerhard
I did try all possible detail settings (I think) still no errors.
__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 13:24   #209
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,777
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Quote:
Originally Posted by petter5 View Post
I did try all possible detail settings (I think) still no errors.
Thank you Petter,
as said above: obviously bad charts...

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 14:13   #210
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 883
Re: OpenCPN RC 4.1.1301 Release

Hi,
I have just been testing the dimming of the display using the colour scheme icon to go between day, dusk, night & RGB and whilst the screen and normal objects do change the dialog boxes when opened show in day colours. To demonstrate set colours to dusk then open the option dialog, this is shown in day colours. The only bit that changes is the list of plugins.

In a similar vein, changing the brightness using F6 does not change anything on the screen, however the popup showing the brightness level does.

I am running this under Ubuntu 14.04 and am testing this with 1301 and update 71d981a . I also get the following error shown in my IDE
Code:
execvp(xcalib, /tmp/KhAiEQ) failed with error 2!
Not quite sure what that means though.


Jon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dusk with options dialog.png
Views:	72
Size:	124.7 KB
ID:	116622   Click image for larger version

Name:	dusk with options dialog-plugins.png
Views:	69
Size:	139.7 KB
ID:	116623  

__________________

__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, lease, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: FIREBOY 1301 Automatic Extinguisher Doug Brown Classifieds Archive 0 13-05-2014 21:19
Install Halon 1301 system in diesel engine room? chris07732 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 11-04-2011 07:44
OpenCPN Version 2.3.0 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 74 31-12-2010 02:09
OpenCPN Version 1.3.6 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 32 30-01-2010 06:07



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.