Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 10-01-2018, 15:18   #796
Registered User
 
KevinWalters's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thanks for you response Haken


I am using Windows 10 Enterprise Version 1709 on an Asus Pc with intel graphics on the processor.

Ive set my system up I'm in Greece until tomorrow evening and do not have any charts at the moment, so I'm just using the default baseman.

My NMEA data is coming via the internal WIFI in my NSS evo3 Display and I have my network cable plugged into my laptop directly from my RI-12 Radar interface module. This is currently unplugged from the evo3 until I get a router or switch.

Everything seemed to work well at first, I could get both A & B working at different ranges.

But:

If I zoom out the range to 3 Nm or more the display becomes corrupted. In the case of Halo Radar A their is also overdraw on the underlying chart widow.

The program then crashes within about three seconds.

The attached file Halo.pdf shows both radars Halo A and Halo B working at different short range

The second picture in the pdf is the corruption to Halo B with a range over 3 miles.

The third picture shows the corruption with Halo A and the associated corruption on the chart.


PC & Graphics Specs


Report Date: Thursday, January 11, 2018
Report Time [hh:mm:ss]: 12:23:33 AM
Driver Version: 20.19.15.4835
Operating System: Windows* 10 Enterprise (10.0.16299)
Default Language: English (United States)
Physical Memory: 3871 MB
Vendor ID: 8086
Device ID: 22B1
Device Revision: 21
Graphics Output Protocol (GOP) Version: 8.0.1033
Current Resolution: 1366 x 768



Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU N3700 @ 1.60GHz
Processor Speed: 1600 MHz
Processor Graphics in Use: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Shader Version: 5.0
OpenGL* Version: 4.4
OpenCL* Version: 1.2

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Halo.pdf (578.7 KB, 42 views)
__________________

__________________
Kevin Walters

Boat: Princess 55 Summer Nights
KevinWalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 20:00   #797
Registered User
 
KevinWalters's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi Haken

I've attempted to capture a Wireshark file of both my wireless internet with NMEA 183 and my Ethernet Port with the radar data.

I slowly (about once every seconds ) went up the ranges from 91metres to 6 miles before the program crashed.

The problem at 3 Nm seems to coincide with a change of speed of the antenna.

the Halo Radar adjusts its speed when on auto according to the range. Even if I set the speed to slow on both displays the speed still changes to an extent and the problem is just the same.

I have also tried closing Halo B and just using Halo A = same problem.

I'm unable to upload the Wireshark file as an attachment due to size. Have you any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Kevin Walters

Boat: Princess 55 Summer Nights
KevinWalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 02:47   #798
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Apeldoorn
Boat: Ovni 385
Posts: 110
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi Kevin,
The new radar_pi is designed to support the Halo radar. Basic settings for the Halo have been done, but as the team has no Halo radar, it has never been tested. So it is not surprising it does not work straight away.
Earlier I worked on a prototype of the Halo radar plugin. This version was based on the older br24radar_pi. It is found at https://github.com/douwefokkema/BR24radar_pi/tree/halo. This version was tested and worked OK, except an error on the largest range. But is was not meant for production, only to investigate the differences between Halo and 4G.
I think the range tables in the new radar_pi still have to be updated and tested for the Halo. The working version mentioned above could be used as an example. I will not have the opportunity to look into this coming weeks, I will be out in the Canaries without development systems. So this is a nice opportunity to start developing yourself, Kees should be able to help you understand the structure of the required halo.h file if you don't manage yourself.

Cheers, Douwe Fokkema
Douwe Fokkema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 05:54   #799
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,248
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Kevin..
Very good, it think your investigations will be useful to complete radar_pi development for the Halo scanner.
I suggest we continue this discussion using the Github for radar_pi. The developers Kees and Douwe will for sure be interested in your findings. The Wireshark capture file would be possible to upload. If not we can use a Dropbox storage.
If you not have a login to Github please create one.
We look forward to meet you at: https://github.com/opencpn-radar-pi/radar_pi/issues/78

Håkan
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 06:39   #800
Registered User
 
KevinWalters's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thanks Douwe and Hakan

I will join the discussion on Github.

Douwe, I assume you are referring to the ranges in the file haloatype.h and halobtype.h in the latest build.

I am only in Greece with my radar until tomorrow. Then back out here in the middle of February when the boat will be out of the water. I should be able to do some further testing then

Late March we are sailing it from Greece to England.
__________________
Kevin Walters

Boat: Princess 55 Summer Nights
KevinWalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:29   #801
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Crete
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 174
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

I am having the same problems as did helmsmatt. I had Garmin radar working on my Win7 computer on ocpn. I had some other issues pop up and eventually reformated reloaded windows and restoreing all programs. I have 4.8.8 cpn works fine but now gradar doesn't work. The log file seems to indicate radar is accessible, get various readings of variation in log file, have log entries eve.ry time I try various controls but the transmit button does not seem to respond, nevr goes green. Interestingly when I close open cpn I get a message in the radar log file of TX off. Don't know how the configuration changed but its software more than hardware. The radar is connected to the computer lan port and I am using another lan adapter for internet which I have disconnected .
Any ideas
__________________
Joe Bayne
Jubilee
Mediteranean
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:57   #802
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,248
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Joe..
This may be a little confusing but there are a number of radar plugins for a Garmin radar.
gradar_pi for Garmin HD
gxradar_pi for Garmin XHD
The latter plugin soon fully replaced by:
radar_pi for Navico and GarmXHD

So what's your radar type and plugin used?
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:20   #803
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Crete
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 174
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hakan,
I am using the GXradarpi with a garmin XHD dome on CPN 4.8.8. Everything worked when I installed the dome last Sept, I had a few post at that time trying to get the LAN connection right. I developed problems in my computer leading me to believe I had a virus or something in my computer which I finally reinstalled Window7, Clean install. Now as I said the radar control seems to work, it finds the radar, allows me to switch to master; the buttons give me indication on the log file that they are responding but the transmit button doesn't respond. However when I close opencpn I get a radar log file entry of TX off
This is the second garmin dome I have installed on this boat. The first worked for a couple of years from Borneo to Thailand but failed due to a shorted cable. I am fairly sure I have the setup right the changes from when it last worked are fresh install of win7, new version of openCPN so I am a bit lost.
Thanks,
Joe
__________________

__________________
Joe Bayne
Jubilee
Mediteranean
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, paracelle, radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn for Navigation gpshephe Marine Electronics 10 30-12-2013 10:33
What Do You Think of Selling OpenCPN? esan6 OpenCPN 25 23-10-2013 09:35
Help with OpenCPN Sailorman375 Navigation 3 11-08-2013 21:58
For Sale: Radar Mount sailorman14 Classifieds Archive 5 23-04-2012 21:50
OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524 bdbcat OpenCPN 115 09-04-2012 12:10



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.