Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 10-06-2016, 19:50   #736
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Krabi Thailand
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 140
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Appears possibly problem in scanner, now no indication of network cable being connected. I tried with the laptop used on original install, same results, Scanner just past the 2 year point so just out of warranty.
__________________

__________________
Joe Bayne
Jubilee
Langkawi Malaysia
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2016, 06:53   #737
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubilee39 View Post
Appears possibly problem in scanner, now no indication of network cable being connected. I tried with the laptop used on original install, same results, Scanner just past the 2 year point so just out of warranty.
Joe, When you turn on the scanner can you hear it spin up? If not, I would suspect problem is the scanner. If it does spin, I would suspect a firewall or security software blockage.
__________________

__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2016, 07:11   #738
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

I'm trying to setup a back-up laptop to Gradar with OCPN 4.2, Gradar v1.5, Win 10, but it's not working. The Ethernet connection has been made successfully as "unidentified network". The Gradar icon shows an orange dot, but when I try to switch to the "master" mode I get an error "the radar overlay plugin is unable to directly control the radar scanner. Scanner is located at ip address 172.16.2.0."

Here is a cop of Pi log:

0: Found network interface: 127.0.0.1/8
1: Found network interface: 169.254.194.47/16
2: Scanner at 172.16.2.0 is <<NOT>> accessible for master control.
3: Successfully added to multicast group 239.254.2.0
4: UpdateState: PluginState [S] Searching (1) Scanner state: Unknown (0)
5: ->gradar_pi: First Packet Rx 6: UpdateState: PluginState [S] Searching (1) Scanner state: Standby (3)
7: Scan packets per tick: 1
8: UpdateState: PluginState [S] Standby (3) Scanner state: Standby (3)
9: Scan packets per tick: 1
10: True Heading: 0 Mag Heading: -1.#IND Variation: -5.44489 thpri: 99 mhpri: 99 vpri: 5

I'm using the same settings on my other laptop with Win 8.1 and it is working fine with Gradar plugin. I know I'm missing something here.
Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2016, 20:57   #739
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,492
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Greg...

This is a Win10 firewall issue. Windows is unable to talk on the radar control port.

Code:
Scanner at 172.16.2.0 is <<NOT>> accessible for master control.
I'm no expert on Win10, but seem to recall some discussion about this earlier. Maybe (temporarily) disable the Windows Firewall?

Anyone?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 06:02   #740
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Greg...

This is a Win10 firewall issue. Windows is unable to talk on the radar control port.

Code:
Scanner at 172.16.2.0 is <<NOT>> accessible for master control.
I'm no expert on Win10, but seem to recall some discussion about this earlier. Maybe (temporarily) disable the Windows Firewall?

Anyone?

Dave
Thanks for the help Dave. I did go into advanced settings on the firewall and turned off just the Ethernet, but I'll try turning off the whole firewall and see if that works. I'm trying to work out the Win 10 bugs using the Margaret's computer before upgrading my win 8.1 laptop. Hopefully, I'll end up with a primary and a back-up on Win10. I'll post again after I try it.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 08:13   #741
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Looking at the picture of the amphenol F to F connector, it appears to me that the switch wire is soldered to either terminal 4 or 6 according to amphenols drawing of the connector. I don't want to short the wrong terminal to ground. Can I get a little help? The picture I am referring to is located earlier in this thread
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 10:55   #742
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by svcattales View Post
Thanks for the help Dave. I did go into advanced settings on the firewall and turned off just the Ethernet, but I'll try turning off the whole firewall and see if that works. I'm trying to work out the Win 10 bugs using the Margaret's computer before upgrading my win 8.1 laptop. Hopefully, I'll end up with a primary and a back-up on Win10. I'll post again after I try it.
I turned off the whole firewall, but it didn't make a difference. I did finally figure it out the problem and it was not a Win 10 issue. I had forgotten that I had to do some configuration changes to the Ethernet adapter that I had done to Win 8.1. In case another cruiser gets stumped by this issue, this is the pathway to the setup: Go into Network Connections and right click on Ethernet; click on properties; highlight Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and click on properties again; select "use the following IP address;" and enter the following: IP address 172.16.1.1; Subnet mask 255.255.240.0; default gateway 172.16.1.100. Once the Ethernet adapter had the right IP address the radar started working just fine.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:42   #743
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoA View Post
Looking at the picture of the amphenol F to F connector, it appears to me that the switch wire is soldered to either terminal 4 or 6 according to amphenols drawing of the connector. I don't want to short the wrong terminal to ground. Can I get a little help? The picture I am referring to is located earlier in this thread
Leo, I assume you are referring to picture in post #241 which is the one I used for my connection. If you orient the amphenol connector the same way as the photo, the correct solder bump is in second row from top and second bump from the left. If you are able to zoom in on the photo, it is easier to see which solder bump to use. Good luck.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 13:03   #744
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Okay, I have solder it there and the radar icon goes through bonking orange (warmup), then solid orange kstandby) but no further. Do I have to do something else to get to transmit stage? Thanks
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 16:10   #745
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoA View Post
Okay, I have solder it there and the radar icon goes through bonking orange (warmup), then solid orange kstandby) but no further. Do I have to do something else to get to transmit stage? Thanks
Leo, Try doing a right click anywhere on the OCPN screen and select "radar control garmin". That will give you another pop-up window for radar control. Change operating mode to "master mode" and then click on the Garmin icon on the OCPN tool bar. Hopefully, the dot will go from orange to green and radar will start to paint targets after a few seconds.

If that doesn't solve it, we'll need to know more info on your setup like operating system on computer, settings on Ethernet adapter, and post a copy of your pi log file.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 16:43   #746
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

I am not at the boat right now, but I am using windows 10tablet that has no Ethernet port so I am trying it with a USB to Ethernet adapter. Windows says that there is an unidentified network connected on it. Ipv4 was set manually like a few posts up, but the adapter properties ipv4 says no network connectivity. Its is an Irulu Chinese made tablet. Let me see if I can locate and attach the plugin log file.
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2016, 10:12   #747
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoA View Post
I am not at the boat right now, but I am using windows 10tablet that has no Ethernet port so I am trying it with a USB to Ethernet adapter. Windows says that there is an unidentified network connected on it. Ipv4 was set manually like a few posts up, but the adapter properties ipv4 says no network connectivity. Its is an Irulu Chinese made tablet. Let me see if I can locate and attach the plugin log file.
The "unidentified network" message for your Ethernet adapter is a good sign. It sees the network, but perhaps the data is not being passed. Did you try turning off the windows firewall or any other security software? If you can post the log file, that may help us diagnose the problem. Another important check: when you turn on the switch connected to the amphenol connector you should hear the scanner motor spinning... it is quite noisy.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2016, 10:17   #748
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoA View Post
I am not at the boat right now, but I am using windows 10tablet that has no Ethernet port so I am trying it with a USB to Ethernet adapter. Windows says that there is an unidentified network connected on it. Ipv4 was set manually like a few posts up, but the adapter properties ipv4 says no network connectivity. Its is an Irulu Chinese made tablet. Let me see if I can locate and attach the plugin log file.
I forgot to mention one more tip. I found that I must turn on radar BEFORE launching OCPN. Don't know why, but radar doesn't work unless I turn on radar first.
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2016, 10:29   #749
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Okay, I got it working this morning. I turned off both Windows firewall and Windows defender, manually set the ip address for the ethernet card and I now have the radar working. Thanks for the tips and help
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2016, 10:37   #750
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 531
Images: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoA View Post
Okay, I got it working this morning. I turned off both Windows firewall and Windows defender, manually set the ip address for the ethernet card and I now have the radar working. Thanks for the tips and help
Congratulations Leo!
__________________

__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, paracelle, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn for Navigation gpshephe Marine Electronics 10 30-12-2013 10:33
What Do You Think of Selling OpenCPN? esan6 OpenCPN 25 23-10-2013 09:35
Help with OpenCPN Sailorman375 Navigation 3 11-08-2013 21:58
For Sale: Radar Mount sailorman14 Classifieds Archive 5 23-04-2012 21:50
OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524 bdbcat OpenCPN 115 09-04-2012 12:10


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.