Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 16-07-2014, 13:29   #601
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 385
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

LEOMARE

Well this is interesting. Your radar is reporting a status that we do not recognize (status=6). Please make sure that the ground wire in the Ethernet cable coming from the radar scanner is connected to pin 5. Then reapply power to the scanner.

I will be on the boat this weekend and will try to reproduce the radar state that your scanner is returning.

Chuck
__________________

__________________
ChuckSK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2014, 15:57   #602
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Boat: Catalina 36 MKI
Posts: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thanks ChuckSK
Would i see Ethernet link up if the pin 5 to ground circuit was open?
As mentioned earlier i didnt actually put a switch in that circuit, i just punched down pin 5 to ground and control radar on/off with the power source, connected to a switch/fuse at the DC panel.

Ill be at the boat Friday night and will take a look.

If i wanted to try a clean install of another OS, like Ubuntu, is there an easier way of getting the gradar plugin working without having to compile the source code? I am afraid that compiling code is beyond my linux skillset.

Eric
__________________

__________________
LEOMARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2014, 16:11   #603
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 385
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by LEOMARE View Post
Thanks ChuckSK
Would i see Ethernet link up if the pin 5 to ground circuit was open?
As mentioned earlier i didnt actually put a switch in that circuit, i just punched down pin 5 to ground and control radar on/off with the power source, connected to a switch/fuse at the DC panel.

Ill be at the boat Friday night and will take a look.

If i wanted to try a clean install of another OS, like Ubuntu, is there an easier way of getting the gradar plugin working without having to compile the source code? I am afraid that compiling code is beyond my linux skillset.

Eric
Until today I didn't think so. I will check this weekend. I suspect that mode 6 is a sleep mode indicating that the ground connection is open.

Linux is beyond my skill-set also.

Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2014, 12:00   #604
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Boat: Catalina 36 MKI
Posts: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi ChuckSK,
I confirmed that PIN 5 was closed to ground. I also confirmed that without that circuit closed there is no ethernet link up.

So where can we source information on what each status code means?

Thanks again for the help
Eric
__________________
LEOMARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2014, 12:07   #605
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Boat: Catalina 36 MKI
Posts: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Would the status codes be the same as error codes? See below link..

Garmin Radar Error Code 6 - The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Thanks
Eric
__________________
LEOMARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2014, 12:43   #606
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 385
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi Eric

I was unable to duplicate a mode 6 from the scanner. Also I confirmed that there are no packets received when pin 5 is not grounded to the scanner.

Maybe try grounding pin 4.

The scanner modes were determined by discovery. To the extent that they are known, they are included in the code.

Code:
 switch(g_scanner_state)
     {
     case 1:
          scan_state = _T("Warmup");
          break;
     case 2:
          scan_state =_T("TT Standby");
          break;
     case 3:
          scan_state = _T("Standby");
          break;
     case 4:
          scan_state = _T("TX Active");
          break;
     case 5:
          scan_state = _T("Spinup");
          break;
     case 7:
          scan_state = _T("TT TX Active");
          break;
     case 8:
          scan_state = _T("TT Spinup");
          break;
     default:
          scan_state = _T("Unknown");
          break;
     }
Can we see a picture of the punch-down block with the connections?

Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2014, 18:26   #607
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Boat: Catalina 36 MKI
Posts: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi ChuckSK
I tried a Vista machine tonight, same status code 6.

I am beginning to wonder if my scanner is DOA?

Thanks again for all the help
Eric
__________________
LEOMARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2014, 19:36   #608
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Boat: Catalina 36 MKI
Posts: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

OK, new scanner. no more code 6.

Scanner powers up for ~70 secs (state = 1/warmup), then goes to state=3 standby.
When the scanner is warming up there is a count down displayed on the gradar icon. Once the scanner goes into standby a yellow dot appears on the button.
I right click and enable master mode and i see "TX ON" in the log, and packet captures shows that 172.16.1.1 (my Laptop) is ARP'ing for 172.16.2.0, but no response. I continue to see multicast frames from 172.16.2.0.
I added a static ARP entry for 172.16.1.1 with the mac sending multicast from 172.16.2.0, no help....
When i click the gradar icon only response is a "TX ON" in the log... The scanner doesnt spin up etc...

It seems to me that my problem resides within the "control place" unicast communication from PC to scanner. The fact that its not answering ARP requests isnt a good sign.

Any advice?


Here is the log:

0: Found network interface: 192.168.2.32/24
1: Found network interface: 127.0.0.1/8
2: Found network interface: 172.16.1.1/16
3: Scanner at 172.16.2.0 is accessible.
4: Successfully added to multicast group 239.254.2.0
5: ->gradar_pi: First Packet Rx 6: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Searching (1) Scanner state: Warmup (1)
7: Scan packets per tick: 1
8: True Heading: 320.7 Mag Heading: -1.#IND Variation: -18.8 thpri: 7 mhpri: 99 vpri: 5
9: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Warmup (2) Scanner state: Warmup (1)
10: Scan packets per tick: 2
11: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Warmup (2) Scanner state: Standby (3)
12: Scan packets per tick: 6
13: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Standby (3) Scanner state: Standby (3)
14: Scan packets per tick: 6
15: TX On
16: TX On
17: TX On
18: TX On
19: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Standby (3) Scanner state: Warmup (1)
20: Scan packets per tick: 1
21: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Warmup (2) Scanner state: Warmup (1)
22: Scan packets per tick: 2
23: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Warmup (2) Scanner state: Standby (3)
24: Scan packets per tick: 4
25: UpdateState: PluginState [M] Standby (3) Scanner state: Standby (3)
26: Scan packets per tick: 4
27: TX On
__________________
LEOMARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 07:17   #609
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Leomare....

Initialization with countdown and yellow dot sound just right.

Using wireshark, do you actually see the TX-ON packet being sent from the PC to the scanner?

IIRC, my scanner does not respond to ARPs, either. I will confirm this.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2014, 06:02   #610
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Boat: Catalina 36 MKI
Posts: 10
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi Dave.
I was not seeing a single unicast packet out/in my (Laptop) interface. The closest thing to unicast-based communication between the laptop and the scanner was the arp request. If the scanner does not respond to ARPs then i would think that there must be an initial packet sent from the scanner to the computer that populates the ARP cache on the computer...??

I ran out time on the project and may not be able to work on this for a month or so. I ended up buying a garmin console (721SX) to give me radar for the rest of the season (foggy coast). Once i have a switch installed (capable of of port mirroring) I will start working on this again.

Thanks again for everyone's help and work on this project.

Eric
__________________
LEOMARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2014, 14:02   #611
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 105
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Did I see wrong or did someone compile and have gradar running under linux?

Playing with embeded cpu systems and having fun, but would love to get gradar working. I thought someone had done, it, I had read about it, but I can't find it. Then again I could have been in the sun too long, that happens to us sailors.

Guy
:-)
__________________
Aikiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2014, 01:53   #612
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,125
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aikiguy View Post
Did I see wrong or did someone compile and have gradar running under linux?

Playing with embeded cpu systems and having fun, but would love to get gradar working. I thought someone had done, it, I had read about it, but I can't find it. Then again I could have been in the sun too long, that happens to us sailors.

Guy
:-)
I had no problem compiling gradar under Linux, but I don't have the hardware for a full test. I'm sure that "bdbcat" has it running in all it's glory, using Linux.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2014, 21:06   #613
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Guy...

GRadar builds and runs on all three official platforms. The source is available via the link on opencpn.org Downloads page.

God Luck
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2014, 04:50   #614
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,643
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Has anyone tried, siggested or been working on Raymarine digital Radars?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2014, 05:57   #615
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 86
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

so i have tried to follow this thread
so the gmr18 radar is working good with opencpn ?
any other improuvement on other brand ?
what is the easy radar to set up with opencpn
thank you
__________________

__________________
phmadeira is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, paracelle, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn for Navigation gpshephe Marine Electronics 10 30-12-2013 10:33
What Do You Think of Selling OpenCPN? esan6 OpenCPN 25 23-10-2013 09:35
Help with OpenCPN Sailorman375 Navigation 3 11-08-2013 21:58
For Sale: Radar Mount sailorman14 Classifieds Archive 5 23-04-2012 21:50
OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524 bdbcat OpenCPN 115 09-04-2012 12:10


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.