Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 21-09-2013, 18:19   #241
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

rontom...

The shell is already grounded by the internal wiring of the scanner through to the ship's DC ground. So you just need solder two wires and a switch onto the connector. See attachment.

Good Luck
Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p1110891.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	402.6 KB
ID:	67654  
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 19:20   #242
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 69
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thanks Dave

That makes it a lot clearer for a Novice like myself
__________________

__________________
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2013, 04:56   #243
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by eongibier View Post
(Sorry it is a translator)
Hello,
Here is the map of my radar, Can you change red color with a blue color?
Waiting! thank you
Serge
France (Jura)
Hello,
Nobody can answer my question?
good day
Serge
France (Jura)
__________________
eongibier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2013, 04:57   #244
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by eongibier View Post
(Sorry it is a translator)
Hello,
Here is the map of my radar, Can you change red color with a blue color?
Waiting! thank you
Serge
France (Jura)

Hello,
Nobody can answer my question?
good day
Serge
France (Jura)
__________________
eongibier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2013, 07:47   #245
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Serge....

The colour is fixed as red in the PlugIn.

You may wish to add a Feature Request to the OpenCPN Flyspray tracker, requesting alternate color schemes for the radar overlay.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2013, 08:27   #246
cruiser

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: medusa NY
Boat: Tayana Surprise 45 schooner "Union Pacific"
Posts: 2,098
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

any chance this may be able to work with a raymarine rasterscan?
i have not played with either opencpn, or radar installation.
so i cannot help much.
__________________
scoobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2013, 12:57   #247
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 69
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hello Dave

Thanks for the Previous Info,

I have everything where it seems to work alright, I hooked everything together at home and Tweeked the TCIP #s put the Garmin Radar dome out side and got green light and Radar Log seems to say every thing is ok,Warm up, spinup, and Tx. I had to put a Video card in, there was no video card in my computer, obviously There was an imbedded one. the charts work a lot better now
I am going to start installing it on the Boat Tomorrow,

Having not used Ethernet Cables on a boat before, and never out side, do you think i should put some Dieelectric grease on the plug or some other corrosion prevention where it Connects to the Dome? , i use it a lot on electrical connections.
Ethernet Connecions seem awful fragile compared to past Radar Connections.

Thanks for all the info
__________________
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2013, 18:17   #248
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 69
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hello again Dave

Even though i have the Green light on the Radar Button and the Radar Log says everything is working fine, I am not getting any thing on my Screen.
I have the GPS hooked up and my little boat is jumping and hunting for direction. there is no sign of any scatter around me.

I have the Radar Dome sitting on the Tailgate of my truck pointed in the right direction over a field.

Do i have to be moving for the Radar to work?
I am using Raster Charts would that make a difference?

even though i am not on the Water yet, it should pick up something on the screen.

I Have played with all the Radar controls and nothing

Radar dome and Computer seem to be communicating according to the Log and The green light.


Have you any ideas

Thanks
Jim
__________________
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2013, 18:47   #249
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,665
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Yes, I believe you need to move your "boat", the truck, so the direction stays more constant. (GPS has inaccuracies as you know, causing the jumping around.)

Are you seeing any landmass or water mass features. What is the Radar signal bouncing off of Trees? Mountains? If you are in a field you might pick up trees around the edge.

Note: I have not used Gradar yet.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2013, 19:01   #250
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 69
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

No Landmass or trees, no scatter of any kind on the screen, just my Position boat jumping around. My Furuno on the boat shows scatter around me in the Marina when i am tied up, masts etc.

The reason i am doing it at home, is to make sure everything is dialed in before i go through the process of installing it on the boat, than finding something is not installed right.

Thanks
__________________
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2013, 21:28   #251
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

rontom...

Sounds like a good plan you have, and it should indeed be producing some red overlay graphics, even statically on your truck bed.


We will need to see some screen shots to see what is happening. Radar control settings, debug window, etc.

Also, Please double check that you have OpenGL enabled.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 06:09   #252
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Sorry it is a translator)
Hello,
Here is the map of my radar, Can you change red color with a blue color?

No replies since
Project: pi - Gradar

I think someone successful a simple change of color?



Waiting! thank you
Serge
France (Jura)
__________________
eongibier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 15:50   #253
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 69
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Dave

internet connection is on the Blink on my Nav Computer because i have changed the TCIP Settings. so i can not send screen shots. OpenGl is on, Have played with it all day and Nothing, still the same thing,Green light, Log says transmitting ok. but no Radar Splash around the boat at all.
Is it possible that my TCIP #s are wrong, I have

TCIP 172.16.1.1
Subnet mask 255.255.240.0

would this make a difference
__________________
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 16:33   #254
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,665
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

I read something from Hakan long time ago, maybe try 0.0.0.0
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 17:31   #255
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,665
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Perhaps you haven't read the manual?
There are some instructions for installation.
Garmin Radar Plugin | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Hardware

The Garmin Radar PlugIn for OpenCPN requires a specific hardware interface in order to allow the OpenCPN application to access the Ethernet data captured and broadcast by the radar scanner. There are three interconnect scenarios possible, depending upon whether the installation includes an existing Garmin chartplotter, and the operational mode desired.
Interface Type 0: OpenCPN Slave Mode, using existing Garmin chartplotter.
Interface Type 1: OpenCPN Master Mode, using existing Garmin chartplotter.
Interface Type 2: OpenCPN Master Mode, no chartplotter.
Download and read the complete installation instructions: GRadarDoc.pdf

This PDF on page 5 and 6 has detailed network instructions. Have you read it?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, paracelle, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn for Navigation gpshephe Marine Electronics 10 30-12-2013 10:33
What Do You Think of Selling OpenCPN? esan6 OpenCPN 25 23-10-2013 09:35
Help with OpenCPN Sailorman375 Navigation 3 11-08-2013 21:58
For Sale: Radar Mount sailorman14 Classifieds Archive 5 23-04-2012 21:50
OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524 bdbcat OpenCPN 115 09-04-2012 12:10


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.