Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2012, 22:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
OpenCPN Plugin problem

I'm running Version 3.0 on a Vista OS. If I download the plugins (the one I really want is BSB4) they appear in the OpenCPN program files in the "Plug in" folder. Looking at the log file, Open CPN is searching for the plugins in that file but it is not recognizing the BSB4 plugin - only the two already installed by default. These load just fine. I had read that the BSB4 plugin is not free but I appeared to be able download it without payment. Is there an activation fee? Is there another site for the download? I would appreciate any suggestions.
__________________

__________________
gknott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2012, 23:33   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: OpenCPN Plugin problem

gknott...
BSB4 plugin is free and it's version for 3.0 (PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage) works just fine with it. Could we see your logfile?

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 13:06   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: OpenCPN Plugin problem

I had some issues with plug-ins after installing 3.0 over 2.5. I had to delete the plug-ins from the folder and download the most recent. They still didn't work until I did a restart on my computer. After the restart all was well. I am also running Vista on our nav computer. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2012, 13:36   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Re: OpenCPN Plugin problem

My problem was corrupted registry files which prevented a complete and accurate download of 3.0. I spotted the problem by reviewing the install.log file and realizing that some of the Chart options in Tools were not enabled. I fixed the registry pathname issues, uninstalled and reloaded 3.0.0, re-booted and Voila! as the French say. Thanks for your replies.
__________________
gknott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.