Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 02:11   #16
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

I realize that I started a debate that goes beyond the case of GE2KAP plugin. It is all plug-in.

Until now, the icons that depend on the heart OpenCPN can be hidden by the user's will. Icons that depend on plugins that can be hidden if the programmer has kindly put a check "Hide Icons" in the preferences.

I wish all the icons of all the plugins can be masked by the user without going through the box "Preferences" prevent operation without plugins.

The reason is simple: I use a small screen and I would have a clear screen to maximum.

I further notes that there are, now, three kinds of plugins:
1 GRIB, Dashboard, WMM, VDR, ... ---> You need to click on the icons to use
2 BSB4, NV-Chart ---> No icon and it is good.
3 GE2KAP ---> Icon but this is useless click on it, it does not change the operation. The icon only serves to remind the user that the plugin GE2KAP is active .

GE2KAP plugin is the first of this third kind of plugin.
__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:26   #17
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Valhalla sent me a good suggestion: when the ge2kap plugin is enabled, display the icon in the active state, ie as if it had been clicked by the user.

But I'm not sure if that can be done within the plugin. Can it?
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:43   #18
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Hello Paul,

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Valhalla sent me a good suggestion: when the ge2kap plugin is enabled, display the icon in the active state, ie as if it had been clicked by the user.

But I'm not sure if that can be done within the plugin. Can it?
Why not. In the first version of the plugin that I try, it was thus.

Why do not you would put a window with a single preference checkbox "Hide icon GE2KAP operation" ? Some plugin have this question in their preferences.

B.R.

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:45   #19
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Quote:
The reason is simple: I use a small screen and I would have a clear screen to maximum
Gilletarom, Now I see your reason for wanting to not display the icon. So I second his suggestion. Perhaps have a checkbox on the plugins menu to not display the icon.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:49   #20
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Quote:
Why do not you would put a window with a single preference checkbox "Hide icon GE2KAP operation" ? Some plugin have this question in their preferences
.

Which ones? I'll look at their code.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:59   #21
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Quote:
Why not. In the first version of the plugin that I try, it was thus.
In the first version you had to click on the icon to make it active. This caused a OnToolbarToolCallback event then I set the icon active. I want to make it active without the OnToolbarToolCallback event.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:11   #22
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
.

Which ones? I'll look at their code.
In the plugin "LogBook_konni" there is a check box. See "Preferences" and the firts tab on left.

And also in the plugin "Find_It".

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:16   #23
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Gilletarom, Now I see your reason for wanting to not display the icon. So I second his suggestion. Perhaps have a checkbox on the plugins menu to not display the icon.
There is also another reason. I sail with my wife. OpenCPN as I know, as she does not know well. When I'm at the bar, she looks at the screen that is in the boat on the chart table. And guide me in the difficult passes. I realized she was often lost with all the icons OpenCPN. Hence the need for the screen only necessary icons.

B.R.

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:37   #24
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

OK . I'll look at the LogBook_konni and implement the change to not display the icon in the preferences.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:27   #25
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

OK I changed the ge2kap plugin to have a preference option to not display the icon and also when its displayed, it shows it always in an active state.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 16:56   #26
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
OK I changed the ge2kap plugin to have a preference option to not display the icon and also when its displayed, it shows it always in an active state.
That's excellent

Have tested on 3.0.2 and 3.1.919 with both XP and W7Ultimate.

Thanks for the quick work. I think you should publish

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:15   #27
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Terry,

Thanks for the feedback. You can update your docs because the interface won't change but I need more testing because I have one tester in Turkey who is still getting some problems.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:50   #28
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

The new verion of GE2KAP with the plugin has been uploaded to my website:
www.gdayii.ca\Downloads
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:02   #29
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
The new verion of GE2KAP with the plugin has been uploaded to my website:
www.gdayii.ca\Downloads
The link do not work fine

better : Download*
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:04   #30
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Plugin Icons

It does for me.

OOps sorry you are right.
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.