Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-10-2017, 20:05   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,620
OpenCPN on Android - Latitude shows "0"

I finally got round to installing OpenCPN from the Playstore on a fairly old Motorola Xoom (Android 4.04).

OpenCPN Help says: Android Version 1.0.5, Base: 4.1.1028 Build date: 2015-10-28.

Everything seems to work fine with one critical exception. OpenCPN gets the Longitude correctly from the internal GPS, but Latitude is always "0".

Other GPS apps on the same tablet don't have this problem (including Navionics, Anchor Alert, GPS Test+, Google Maps and several others).

Is this a known problem (My google-fu is usually pretty good, but I haven't found any related info).

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 20:38   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,179
Re: OpenCPN on Android - Latitude shows "0"

Stu. That is odd. A few things come to mind. Can you go to Settings > Connections and then open the Nmea Debug Window? Then you should see the nmea0183 data streaming by. Hit pause and inspect the GLL and RMC sentences. Also does your GPS connection have checksum checked?

Others here will have some good ideas for you, too.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 20:57   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,620
Re: OpenCPN on Android - Latitude shows "0"

GLL:
(Virtual $GPGLL,0000.000,S,14709.2858,E,024456.000,A*24<0X0 D><0X0A><0X0D><0X0A>
RMC:
(Virtual $GPRMC,0000.0000,S,14709.2856,E,0.0,0.0,171017,,E* 57<0X0D><0X0A><0X0D><0X0A>

It did have "Control Checksum" checked.

Checked and unchecked makes no difference (After unchecking it, I closed and re-opened OpenCPN).

Edit: All other apps show latitude of 9 27.9554 S
__________________
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 21:12   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,179
Re: OpenCPN on Android - Latitude shows "0"

This is strange. The checksum is on, so the sentences are presumably not malformed and are just as they were created.

I am quite sure that if there were a problem with OpenCPN not reading Nmea0183 position properly, everybody would know it! This is a problem that is probably created outside of OpenCPN in the setup and connection to the GPS.

Can you please explain under Connections, how you have the GPS port set up?
Also please describe the device and anything you know about the GPS and what type of connection you have to OpenCPN.

I am not the pro when it comes to Android, but information may help others, help you.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 23:07   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,620
Re: OpenCPN on Android - Latitude shows "0"

OK, The good news: it's not a problem with OpenCPN.

The bad news (for me):
I've just downloaded and app called GPS NMEA and it has the same problem when I view the raw NMEA data.

So I googled Motorola Xoom and NMEA and got quite a few relevant hits. OS bug!

Apps that use direct Location Service API calls are OK (I've written a couple myself), but any that use NMEA are a no-go on this device/OS version.

So the answer is - it won't work on my old Motorola Xoom because of OS bugs (and the chance of an OS upgrade for this old piece of shkit would be nil )

Sorry to have bothered you all.
__________________
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nasa Marine BM-1: Shows "Discharging" when being Charged hoppy Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 13 15-08-2013 10:11
NSS8 shows "Bus Off" ereiss Marine Electronics 0 24-06-2013 21:35
About The Latitude Display In OpenCPN xiurong OpenCPN 11 12-08-2012 08:50
ANDROID-GOOGLE LATITUDE AND SPOTWALLA sinbad7 Navigation 0 28-06-2012 12:15
High Latitude vs Low Latitude Sailing maxingout General Sailing Forum 10 03-07-2009 06:08



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.