Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 15:16   #436
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern California
Boat: Islander 30 Mk II
Posts: 43
Re: OpenCPN General

After playing with a new Simrad NSS I discovered that the Tier1 service built into the unit's GOFREE is readily readible by OpenCPN. In the OpenCPN Connection settings all you need is the TCP address assigned by your DHCP server with port 10110 and voila the NMEA data streams in. This feature even works with WIFI linking. The Tier1 tookkit is at
GoFree Developer Toolkit - Simrad Yachting . Since the Lowrance system uses the same feature this is probably also functional for their latest units.
__________________

__________________
cowelld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:14   #437
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
After playing with a new Simrad NSS I discovered that the Tier1 service built into the unit's GOFREE is readily readible by OpenCPN
.

Very interesting, I had read GoFree and and understood it required at least one Display unit for it to work. What does this allow in Opencpn?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:08   #438
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern California
Boat: Islander 30 Mk II
Posts: 43
Re: OpenCPN General

Correct. You need one of the newer Simrad NSS, NSO or NSE units or a Lowrance HDS with the Gen 2 package (GOFREE) . These units receive the NMEA0183 and NMEA2K data from the field and re-transmit it in "TCP/IP NMEA0183" over an Ethernet cable to the PC running OpenCPN where it's displayed. Without the MFD there isn't any signal. The Sim/Low approach is probably no different than Raymarine's newest system which also uses WIFI. You can download a free app for all of the above if you have a iPhone or iPad. I'm curious to see what it'd take to have the other Simrad Tiers available but understand there's a great deal of liability involved due to the control aspect of the system.
__________________
cowelld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:14   #439
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: OpenCPN General

"..newer Simrad NSS, NSO or NSE units or a Lowrance HDS with the Gen 2 package (GOFREE)" ...."receive the NMEA0183 and NMEA2K data from the field and re-transmit it in "TCP/IP NMEA0183" over an Ethernet cable to the PC running OpenCPN where it's displayed. Without the MFD there isn't any signal."

That's unfortunate, ...but it is nice to know that a PC can receive Tier One, if there is an MFD. I was hoping to avoid that expense.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 18:08   #440
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Noumea, New Caledonia
Boat: Peterson 44
Posts: 15
Re: OpenCPN General

I have a Lowrance HDS Gen 2 . I've read the above comments by cowelld a couple of times and can't get my head around what I need to do.

There is a spare ethernet connection on the unit that connects the structure scan module to the HDS8 MFD - do I simply connect a ethernet cable from that to the PC and then set up a new connection in OpenOCN?

"all you need is the TCP address assigned by your DHCP server"

How do I find the TCP address?
__________________
Your sailing friends in New Caledonia
Cruising Guide to New Caledonia
Cruising Guide to Vanuatu
richardhc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 05:25   #441
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: OpenCPN General

richardhc I think there is an answer on the Radar Overlay Plugin thread and the
Navico BR24 Radar - Open Source protocol implementation
There may be another thread on Radar too. Try doing a search on those threads.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 12:54   #442
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN General

I want to download AIS plugin and some other but i have trouble with the downloads. Did anyone know why the dll.file make trouble. Windows XP system. I cant open the file
__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 14:24   #443
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: OpenCPN General

Danamatic. You are unspecific and so we cannot help. Where did you try to download? What file? What was the trouble? What does make trouble mean?
I have downloaded libaisradar_win32_pi17_v096_pi.dll from PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage successfully. I have also tried using it and it works fine.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 15:30   #444
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 367
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by danamatic View Post
I .....AIS ... . I cant open the file
Danamatic,

May I ask you to be more precise, which OpenCPN version is running on your computer ?

My PC is running on XP SP3, O 3.2 and all the plugings extract from the OpenCPN Pluging page (the one specified by rgleason) are working fine.

serge
__________________
AISEAG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:59   #445
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern California
Boat: Islander 30 Mk II
Posts: 43
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhc View Post
I have a Lowrance HDS Gen 2 . I've read the above comments by cowelld a couple of times and can't get my head around what I need to do.

There is a spare ethernet connection on the unit that connects the structure scan module to the HDS8 MFD - do I simply connect a ethernet cable from that to the PC and then set up a new connection in OpenOCN?

"all you need is the TCP address assigned by your DHCP server"

How do I find the TCP address?

If you don't have a WIFI and are connecting directly from the PC to the HSD then you'll have to find out what is the default TCP/IP address used by Lowrance.

During boot-up the display unit automatically configure its IP addresses. If no DHCP server is available, all devices select an IPv4
Zeroconf link local address as described in RFC3927[6]. All units emit Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMPv3[7]) subscription announcements.

On the NSS the address is 169.258.173.207 so you'd enter that and the port number as 10110. I don't know if it's the same for the HSD series. To find that out you'll have to use Wireshark and look at the address coming from the HSD. It's broadcast with an IGMPV3 message.

If all that's Greek to you then you'll have to find someone who understands Ethernet protocols else someone else here who has a similar unit and can directly get the address.

__________________
cowelld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:01   #446
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: OpenCPN General

RFC3927 Zero configuration networking - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Wireshark Go deep.
Introduction To Wireshark

Cowelld I am afraid many on this forum are high level hackers and programmers, and it is a complex subject with variables, so you won't necessarily get step by step directions, but they are very helpful, so perhaps you can take on putting together a step by step procedure, along with a description of what you are doing to successfully connect your Lowrange HSD. I certainly would be interested!
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:02   #447
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Danamatic. You are unspecific and so we cannot help. Where did you try to download? What file? What was the trouble? What does make trouble mean?
I have downloaded libaisradar_win32_pi17_v096_pi.dll from PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage successfully. I have also tried using it and it works fine.
It is from Plugins Official OpenCPN HOmepage, and I have with succes downloaded LOG Book. But when I try the AIS radar or some of the others my computer will know what program to use for open the file. I Use Windows xp but my other computer using windows 7 and here is the same problem. I have tryid to open with Adobe reader without succes.
__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:10   #448
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by AISEAG View Post
Danamatic,

May I ask you to be more precise, which OpenCPN version is running on your computer ?

My PC is running on XP SP3, O 3.2 and all the plugings extract from the OpenCPN Pluging page (the one specified by rgleason) are working fine.

serge
It is the Open cpn plugin side I have tried to download. I have with succes downloaded Log Book, but when I try AIS radar and others my computer will know which program I will use for open the file. I have tryed Adobe reader without succes. My computer is using Windows xp - but i have the same problem with my other pc which use Windows 7.
__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 14:30   #449
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,927
Re: OpenCPN General

danamatic...
Please re-read About Plugins | Official OpenCPN Homepage - you don't "open" the plugin with anything, just copy it to the plugin directory. The logbook is the only exception that has an installer on Windows...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 11:55   #450
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN General

Thank you for your help. Now i got it in Opencpn with succes.
__________________

__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN bdbcat OpenCPN 1343 19-09-2009 16:59
Hi - Just a Few Brief General Questions valley Meets & Greets 5 26-08-2009 13:19
OpenCPN with BSB v4 selkie Navigation 4 03-08-2009 12:32


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:19.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.