Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2011, 13:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Opencpn@ Garmin GPSmap 78sc

I have trying to plug my Garmin GPSmap 78cs into opencpn but the gps doesn't show up on my Device Manager page. I have seen it work with the 76sc model. I have downloaded and installed PL2303 Prolific Installer. Has anyone done this?


PS I am tech-challanged!

Jim B
__________________
Dauphine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 17:20   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 104
Re: Opencpn@ Garmin GPSmap 78sc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauphine View Post
I have trying to plug my Garmin GPSmap 78cs into opencpn but the gps doesn't show up on my Device Manager page. I have seen it work with the 76sc model. I have downloaded and installed PL2303 Prolific Installer. Has anyone done this?


PS I am tech-challanged!

Jim B
How do you connect the GPS? the Prolific PL2303 is for serial2usb cable with the Prolific chipset, it has nothing to do if you connect your unit through USB. Are you using a nmea interface cable? it seems this model only has high speed USB, no nmea? Garmin mode?
have you been to the GPS OCPN tab, NMEA data source?
__________________
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2012, 19:14   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Opencpn@ Garmin GPSmap 78sc

On my Garmin 78s I went to Main Menu > Setup > System > Interface > Garmin Spanner.

If you don't have Spanner in the list, use the Garmin WebUpdater utility (free download from Garmin) to update your GPS software as that feature was added some time ago.

Then connected the USB cable to the computer and on the GPS answered No to the "USB Cable detected. Would you like to go to Mass Storage?" question.

Started the OpenCPN programme which immediately put the boat at my location.

When I start the OpenCPN Dashboard the Position, Compass and SOG are all active and correct. The Satellite strength bars are not but up in the top right of OpenCPN I see the 3 green bars icon meaning full strength.

I also tested this on a Garmin eTrex 10 - the new entry level model. In the Interface menu there's only 2 options: Mass Storage and Garmin. Selected Garmin and it too worked fine - just as above.

I hope this helps.
__________________
kiwitonita is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin GPSMAP 78sc; Blue Charts Australia stoffer123 Navigation 2 19-08-2011 05:46
Problem Loading Route to Garmin gpsmap 76 bhcva OpenCPN 8 16-08-2011 11:38
Garmin GPSMAP 750s Problems Bigted Marine Electronics 0 14-08-2011 04:24
iPad vs Garmin - Accuracy ? Username33 Marine Electronics 3 13-08-2011 19:32
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.