Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2015, 10:53   #31
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Happy...

I have no "luck" in creating a route that does not show in the RouteManager. What are your screen actions to produce this effect?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 11:09   #32
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

@ bdcat.
Routes are fine!
Tracks do not appear BUT I did find yesterday's in navobj.xml file
__________________

__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 11:24   #33
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
The odd, fuzzy chart display is new, though. Do you see this often?
never before.

I was just out walkabout trying to get it to do again....
Didn't happen. BUT I took some grabs of oddities tracking per buttons disappearing, ownship not "reacting"..

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-06-02-09-56-35.png
Views:	62
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	103095

per above Tracking on,
Note yesterday's track is persistent but is NOT available in Routemanager
note that ownship displays no heading . it is very hard to know if tracking IS happening at all...
but drawing deep from my well of Tweaker Secrets *
I managed to get the present track to appear (and, make the gps widget disappear!)
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-06-02-09-58-39.png
Views:	70
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	103096

^ actually, both toolbar and gps widgets disappeared after I engaging tracking...
oh,look! so did the chartbar!

* Tweaker secrets: pushing any button you can find- check-uncheck stuff , and drag screen backnforth, change charts and never, ever keep a record
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 11:51   #34
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Maybe just me but another oddity in case it comes up somewhere

O truncates ".conf" file. I've seen this more than once on this phone Android 5.0.0:

Code:
this is from the end  of my backup copy of opencpn.conf :
[Groups]
GroupCount=2
[Groups/Group1]
GroupName=cm93
GroupItemCount=1
[Groups/Group1/Item0]
IncludeItem=/mnt/sdcard/cm93_LocalONLY
[Groups/Group2]
GroupName=kaps
GroupItemCount=1
[Groups/Group2/Item0]
IncludeItem=/mnt/sdcard/Charts
[TideCurrentDataSources]
tcds0=/mnt/sdcard/.opencpn/UserTCData/HARMONIC.IDX
tcds1=

NOW,when inspected, path: sdcard0/.opencpn/opencpn.conf 
has been truncated:
[Groups]
GroupCount=2
[Groups/Group1]
GroupName=cm9

Maybe my fault somehow in getting stuff happening across the "read-only fence but still, it works fine until it doesn't.

I will do a reinstall and this time NOT move O to sdcard in case there's a diff
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 12:29   #35
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
I will do a reinstall and this time NOT move O to sdcard in case there's a diff
yes, that helped. a lot. Shiny new. Now tracks do appear in route manager.
Though, I wasn't able to actually see the track until I stopped tracking
I even exported it as a gpx.
But just give me a few more minutes and I'll tweak O to gibberish again!
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 13:32   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Happy...

I have no "luck" in creating a route that does not show in the RouteManager. What are your screen actions to produce this effect?

Thanks
Dave
Dave

I found a link between 'no track in RM" and "new shown in RM only after exit and start"

1) without route, tracks are shown normally
2) without track, routes are shown normally
but
if there is one or + routes, tracks are not shown at all
if there is one or + tracks, new routes are shown only after exit and start

Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 13:58   #37
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
Maybe just me but another oddity in case it comes up somewhere

O truncates ".conf" file. I've seen this more than once on this phone Android 5.0.0:

Code:
this is from the end  of my backup copy of opencpn.conf :
[Groups]
GroupCount=2
[Groups/Group1]
GroupName=cm93
GroupItemCount=1
[Groups/Group1/Item0]
IncludeItem=/mnt/sdcard/cm93_LocalONLY
[Groups/Group2]
GroupName=kaps
GroupItemCount=1
[Groups/Group2/Item0]
IncludeItem=/mnt/sdcard/Charts
[TideCurrentDataSources]
tcds0=/mnt/sdcard/.opencpn/UserTCData/HARMONIC.IDX
tcds1=

NOW,when inspected, path: sdcard0/.opencpn/opencpn.conf 
has been truncated:
[Groups]
GroupCount=2
[Groups/Group1]
GroupName=cm9
Maybe my fault somehow in getting stuff happening across the "read-only fence but still, it works fine until it doesn't.

I will do a reinstall and this time NOT move O to sdcard in case there's a diff
Remember, stock versions of android since 4.34 have selinux enabled. So it's possible OpenCPN is being prevented by selinux from saving modified files on the sdcard in android 5.0.

Depending on your device video chip and proprietary driver, if it is proprietary like my Xoom's Tegra 2, OpenGL may not function properly. It took a patch in the most recent OpenCPN source code handling the discovery of dependent files and enablement of OpenGL before I could even successfully compile OpenCPN. Before that, routes, the ownship and waypoints would not display.

Have you toggled between OpenGL enabled and off to see if there is any change in display issues?

Since my installation is chroot there may be no relationship at all with your issues. But, nonetheless worth considering.
__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 18:59   #38
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

@ Wrong Thanks for your sympathy! That is what I am thinking too per writing to files.. I just wanted to try using the "successful" earlier one from earlier alpha-I forget it is an Alpha and start beating on her as though I'm futzing in Puppy Linux and not GOOGLOID ...and I was able to configurate and changes stuck... I'll never know if that was a problem except empirically... whatever works!

No, I haven't shut openGL off. It can't be done by usrs in the Android O....
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 19:27   #39
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
Dave

I found a link between 'no track in RM" and "new shown in RM only after exit and start"

1) without route, tracks are shown normally
2) without track, routes are shown normally
but
if there is one or + routes, tracks are not shown at all
if there is one or + tracks, new routes are shown only after exit and start

Jean Pierre
you are onto something there!

here I am creating a route when a track previously exists in the RM
Ouch!
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-06-02-18-08-38.png
Views:	53
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	103111

upon restart I see the route I made while blinded by the light and it is in the RM

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-06-02-18-12-23.png
Views:	53
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	103112

Here's the weird part: the track has now disappeared from RM (and the screen) but it still exists in some form in navobj.xml...I see <trkseg> etc
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 21:42   #40
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

jp/Happy...

Thanks for the reports. Armed with the information that there is some interdependence between tracks and routes in the RM, I was able to duplicate the problems, and see the easy solution in code. Next Beta...

Essentially, intermixed routes and tracks will not be listed properly in the RM, but should appear correctly on-screen, and be persistent across restarts. Please let me know if this is not the case.

Meanwhile, please carry on.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 10:58   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Well done guys - especially Dave.

I have been lurking on this forum for a number of years but really waiting for this Android version to appear.
FYI - I have it working on a Samsung Tab 10.1 (2014) Edition - Android Vers 4.4.2

A couple of little niggles that I have reported on Flyspray - not sure if that is the right thing to do or not!!

First - the depth font on CM93 charts seems very small to read - maybe I've missed some setup somewhere.

Second
I have a Windows PC running OpenCPN reading NMEA.
The ships GPS and AIS are functioning correctly within the Windows OpenCPN.
I set up a TCP output connection on the Windows OpenCPN
An additional PC running Windows OpenCPN on the same network reads the IP (TCP) NMEA data for GPS and AIS correctly and displays both the Ships position and any AIS targets.
However, OpenCPN on the Android (Beta 4.1.530) only shows the IP (TCP) data for the ships position (GPS) - no AIS displayed on the Android device.
Maybe there is an option in the new feature under the new OpenCPN (Windows) version (not yet Beta released) that might fix this - there seems to be a new feature within the NMEA set up - just a thought.


FYI
My ships setup is as follows:-
Boat is a 20m Princess Flybridge Yacht
She has 2 station Raymarine G series (Glass Bridge) setup.
Each station had two glass bridge monitors.
Each monitor can switch between the native Raymarine nav system and the ships Windows PC
The ships PC runs a multitude of software including OpenCPN.
This means that at the press of a button I can switch between Raymarine and OpenCPN
Under OpenCPN, I have a number of charts - mostly ones that I have scanned myself (BSB - KAP). Charts are a kind of hobby of mine.
I georeference my charts using an old copy of Memory Map Windows software. I have written a C program which converts the Memory Map QCT files into BSB (KAP) files.
As a result, I have over 2500 raster charts that I have, mostly, constructed myself. As I say, a kind of hobby but, using this system at sea, I can use a multitude of different chart sources.
Bit Geeky though!!
My Windows KAP files copied across to the Android and worked immediately - even some that contain quite large bitmaps.

I am an active posted on the UK's YBW forums where there also seems to be an active following of your software.

This probably not the place to say all this but I (kind of) wanted to thank all who are concerned with this fabulous software - especially Dave of course.

Mike
__________________
Hurricane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 11:17   #42
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurricane View Post
Second
I have a Windows PC running OpenCPN reading NMEA.
The ships GPS and AIS are functioning correctly within the Windows OpenCPN.
I set up a TCP output connection on the Windows OpenCPN
An additional PC running Windows OpenCPN on the same network reads the IP (TCP) NMEA data for GPS and AIS correctly and displays both the Ships position and any AIS targets.
However, OpenCPN on the Android (Beta 4.1.530) only shows the IP (TCP) data for the ships position (GPS) - no AIS displayed on the Android device.
Maybe there is an option in the new feature under the new OpenCPN (Windows) version (not yet Beta released) that might fix this - there seems to be a new feature within the NMEA set up - just a thought.

Mike
Mike,

any special reason why you are sending the data using TCP?

As you want just propagate data to multiple listeners you might try UDP.
There are examples in the documentation.
Sending on port 10110 and defining in the clients UDP port 0.0.0.0:10110
for reception works flawlessly (normally). Ethernet and Wifi. All supported OS.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 12:30   #43
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
Mike,

any special reason why you are sending the data using TCP?

As you want just propagate data to multiple listeners you might try UDP.
There are examples in the documentation.
Sending on port 10110 and defining in the clients UDP port 0.0.0.0:10110
for reception works flawlessly (normally). Ethernet and Wifi. All supported OS.

Hubert
Thanks for the quick reply.
I tried before but I couldn't get anything to work using UDP.
Maybe my network is the problem.
IP addresses are 10.0.20.x (255.255.255.0)
I think that Multicast would be better than Broadcast - could you suggest some IP addresses for both my server OpenCPN and my client OpenCPNs
It works using TCP - I know that I can't expect more than one connection using TCP.
But I can't get anything to work using UDP.
Any help would be appreciated but I still wonder if there isn't an issue with the new Android version.
I have plenty of time over the next few weeks so I will get to the bottom of this.

Thanks again
Mike
__________________
Hurricane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 12:42   #44
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Mike,

our setup is a 192.168.y.x address range - for OCPN UDP :10110 just the 192.168.something.x part.
Without routing you will not see anything in parallel subnets.
We have another net segment connected via a VPN and the stream is not visible there.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 13:44   #45
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

It is not a net challenge as the poster has said they do receive GPS data via the same input. This implies the connection is there and only the AIS part of data packets gets lost somewhere in between the socket and AOCPN.

Test with any other GPS / AIS tcp ip software on the same Android machine - there are TCP/IP test Apps on the Play.

If you get the data to the other software on the same machine but not to AOCPN then you know you can cooncentrate your time and energy on AOCPN.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN for Android Alpha test 4.1.409 bdbcat OpenCPN 117 12-10-2015 02:28
OpenCPN for Android Alpha test 4.1.412 bdbcat OpenCPN 120 15-05-2015 13:12
OpenCPN to Android plugin - Beta tester required ! kobold27 Commercial Posts 10 17-04-2013 17:48
OpenCPN Version 2.2 Beta Test bdbcat OpenCPN 437 15-12-2010 20:17
OpenCPN Version 2.2 Beta Test Bugs / Discussion bdbcat OpenCPN 120 26-09-2010 03:53



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.