Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2015, 08:24   #16
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Two problems (Xperia Z3 compact A5.0.2)
1) Newly created and imported route doesn't appear in route manager. Need to exit from O and
start to see it in RM
I have seen this happen now too. ..even a crash or two can be caused by looking for the new route "too soon" in RM . O seems to need to find the "spare time " from other tasks to incorporate it there?
__________________

__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 10:46   #17
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
internal gps ok here on both devices
(@ Wrong; Any chance your device is trying to get a fix from cell phone towers? ...I was looking at your earlier link per "developers page" and that came to mind. Also, related is the so-called "assisted gps" (AGPS)where cell towers reputedly supplied almanac to midp java phone gps. I always turn Assistance off where possible. It's true some java phones were difficult to disentangle but these are all in the bin now anyways

PS little sliders for sizing Toolbar buttons and stuff are great!

PSps I am not sure my "trick" of creating route into offscreen territory is still so great- the first time, I couldn't stop O scrolling- but I get a sense that O needs time to get control of the new body she's been incarnated into...maybe I mean ; to rewrite the old config to her liking but it seems more than that-(She's alive, Igor-she's ALIVE!).... but otherwise, route creation working fine on my tiny phone. Lines between wpts are there now too
The Xoom MZ601 3G has a BCM4750 IUBG AGPS chip.

The GPS works independent of networks, and is operating properly. If not, how could I have used the tablet GPS in the middle of an ocean hundreds of miles from the nearest wireless or network tower?

I researched this issue of usability with OpenCPN over three years ago and discovered there are two types of output by android GPS chips. Position or nmea. I can't find the source of this information at the moment, but at the time emailed Motorola asking which type of data output was produced by the Xoom. The answer was unequivocal, position. OpenCPN requires nmea data and the only solution I've found to date that permits using GPS 'positional' data with OpenCPN is the android app GPS Share WIFI. So, unless OpenCPN incorporates a method for using or converting 'position', lat/long data to nmea internally, people with chips that do not produce nmea data will have to use the android app GPS Share WIFI. Just the way it is...
__________________

__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:00   #18
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrong View Post
The Xoom MZ601 3G has a BCM4750 IUBG AGPS chip.

The GPS works independent of networks, and is operating properly. If not, how could I have used the tablet GPS in the middle of an ocean hundreds of miles from the nearest wireless or network tower?

I researched this issue of usability with OpenCPN over three years ago and discovered there are two types of output by android GPS chips. Position or nmea. I can't find the source of this information at the moment, but at the time emailed Motorola asking which type of data output was produced by the Xoom. The answer was unequivocal, position. OpenCPN requires nmea data and the only solution I've found to date that permits using GPS 'positional' data with OpenCPN is the android app GPS Share WIFI. So, unless OpenCPN incorporates a method for using or converting 'position', lat/long data to nmea internally, people with chips that do not produce nmea data will have to use the android app GPS Share WIFI. Just the way it is...
This chip is also used on the iphone. Found this:

Question: "I am looking for a way to get NMEA data from the builtin gps receiver of a iPhone. Is there a way to access this data without using CLLocationFramework?"

Answer: "I don't see why you wouldn't be able to forge your own $GPGGA sentence based in information that can be retrieved from CLLocationFramework. Obviously you won't be able to set then number of satellites and HDOPs value will be approximated. If you must have NMEA0183 sentences, you could create them yourself."

Greek to me, but may provide a clue to someone who understands how this can be worked into OpenCPN.
__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 13:46   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bayside, NY USA
Boat: Pearson 10M
Posts: 11
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
internal gps ok here on both devices
(@ Wrong; Any chance your device is trying to get a fix from cell phone towers? ...I was looking at your earlier link per "developers page" and that came to mind. Also, related is the so-called "assisted gps" (AGPS)where cell towers reputedly supplied almanac to midp java phone gps. I always turn Assistance off where possible. It's true some java phones were difficult to disentangle but these are all in the bin now anyways

PS little sliders for sizing Toolbar buttons and stuff are great!

PSps I am not sure my "trick" of creating route into offscreen territory is still so great- the first time, I couldn't stop O scrolling- but I get a sense that O needs time to get control of the new body she's been incarnated into...maybe I mean ; to rewrite the old config to her liking but it seems more than that-(She's alive, Igor-she's ALIVE!).... but otherwise, route creation working fine on my tiny phone. Lines between wpts are there now too
I too, found the toolbar buttons a bit small on the LG 8.3 tablet. Above reference for 'sliders'. Can someone explain please?

Many thanks and thank you for this implementation, I can now use one app for all navigation needs.

Mike Robinson
__________________
Gosling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 14:04   #20
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Mike....

Try options->UserInterface->UserInterfaceScaleFactor slider.

Thanks, and welcome aboard
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 14:22   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bayside, NY USA
Boat: Pearson 10M
Posts: 11
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Mike....

Try options->UserInterface->UserInterfaceScaleFactor slider.

Thanks, and welcome aboard
Dave
Thanks, was on the way to post about it after discovering it myself. Great app!
Cheers,
Mike R
__________________
Gosling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 23:26   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Have just downloaded on a samsung tab 4

Is ais on network feed disabled, as on ais target list ships names show , but not their positions so they are not clickable on center view, however basic name is shown from target info. own ship gps position is carried across though.

selected all sentences
Or more likely it is something I missing in the stream.
__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 23:36   #23
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

We are receiving the complete AIS data stream via Wifi perfectly.

Do you have another system - normal PC - to double-check?

Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 03:54   #24
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Hello Dave,

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Mike....

Try options->UserInterface->UserInterfaceScaleFactor slider.

Thanks, and welcome aboard
Dave
Without this slider, I could not use the toolbar that was ridiculously small. It was also impossible to zoom with two fingers.
With this slider, set up completely at right, it's OK.

There is a second slider. I'm pushing the right or left, it changes nothing. In all cases, buoys and other marks are ridiculously small.

I could create a mark, create a route. I could create the route name, export the route. But I could not change the line width of the route.

I was able to measure a distance.

As the GPS my tablet does not work, can not be used with OpenCPN. I think qu'OpenCPN nothing to do.
I tried to put my GPS ND 100, GlobalSat product, in the USB port on my tablet, GPS is not seen. Can not create a connection.
I tried to put in the same port USB GPS data coming out of my VHF 550 AIS RT, it is useless. Unable to establish a connection.

Best regards. Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 04:54   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
We are receiving the complete AIS data stream via Wifi perfectly.

Do you have another system - normal PC - to double-check?

Hubert

Will dig it out later & re read the networking instructions!

Thanks for your help, it is not the easy answer!
__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 05:12   #26
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

What I wanted to express is that the settings are the same as for any other device.
When it works with your PC the same setting for Ethernet/Wifi should work for Android.
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 05:39   #27
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Hello Dave,

During my trial creation of a road, that is not immediately appeared in the road manager.

Contrary to what was said in this thread, another intervener it is not necessary to stop and restart the O.

Strangely, I found tracks dating from previous trials (????).

I have deleted and then the route appeared in the route manager !!!!

Best regards. Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:16   #28
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Installed on a tiny Samsung GT-S7710 phone with 4' diplay.

Installs fine.

Internal GPS works "out of the box"
CM93 charts installed at /mnt/extSdCard/maps

This phone is a very low spec phone so I'm impressed that Opencpn will run on this entry level phone. ( but it's waterthight)
__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:39   #29
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

from an Acer z220 Android 5.0.0
can confirm Ptizef's 2) no track written in route manager ( OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530 )
but tracking works...

However while testing that, this display oddity not seen before(you will have to make it bigger!)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenshotAcerz220-funnydisplaywhiletracking_2015-06-01-18-08-53.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	103087
O continued to function

note also another new but more common display oddity in the above: the change to black in chartbar may appear whenever charts are changed via chart bar, not just in the above instance. (per above screenshot, I thought "is this A raster issue or a vector issue?" and attempted to change to vector but it did not fix)

Also, in case it's useful
Here is a log , but it is not from the moment of the above. It is merely a crash from a bit later. Entries are typical per open gl and read-only issues(?)opencpn06-01.log.doc

from an Acer z220 Android 5.0.0
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 10:06   #30
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN for Android Beta test 4.1.530

Happy...

The black chart bar is by intention. It gives immediate feedback that a touch on the chart bar is bringing up a new chart. The chart itself may take a second or two to load...

Maybe it should be grey, or some other less morbid colour?

The odd, fuzzy chart display is new, though. Do you see this often?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN for Android Alpha test 4.1.409 bdbcat OpenCPN 117 12-10-2015 02:28
OpenCPN for Android Alpha test 4.1.412 bdbcat OpenCPN 120 15-05-2015 13:12
OpenCPN to Android plugin - Beta tester required ! kobold27 Commercial Posts 10 17-04-2013 17:48
OpenCPN Version 2.2 Beta Test bdbcat OpenCPN 437 15-12-2010 20:17
OpenCPN Version 2.2 Beta Test Bugs / Discussion bdbcat OpenCPN 120 26-09-2010 03:53



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.