Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-11-2017, 12:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Just decided to give opencpn 4.8 a try and I have a couple of questions or issues related to the dashboard plugin. First a minor issue of not being able to change the color of the fonts for the various items data, labels etc. The second issue it that the compass display (true or gps) loses its labels (degrees, direction labels etc) almost immediately when I run the software. They are there for a second or two then disappear. I have installed on vista and XP laptops. Anyone experience anything like that?
__________________

osprey_II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 13:41   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

That is strange. Are you using opengl under display or not?
Have you tried reinstallation?

You could also try tactics_pi plugin which is separate but based on dashboard and has other good sailing features.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 13:43   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Others will have some ideas about this I believe
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 16:16   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

I installed on different computers, same on both. I checked the opengl option as well. I am attaching a screen shot of dashboard issue I have.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	278.9 KB
ID:	159739  
osprey_II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 17:01   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,997
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

As you might see yourself in your screenshot you have no GPS data available. So Dashboard also cannot show anything. Fix your GPS connection first.

Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 12:34   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

The GPS connection makes no difference. I still cannot get compass roses to display only for a second or two when I run the program, they then blank out. I reinstalled the program on 4 different computers running vista, XP, and two newer computers running Win-7. Attached is another screen shot showing the compass rose on the wind gauge and a good GPS signal but blank gauges for the GPS and true compass. Is there a setting in the GPS connection that needs to be set? I thought the compass roses were just labels that should not depend on a GPS signal. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	412.7 KB
ID:	159810  
osprey_II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 12:50   #7
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 3,540
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

A longer part of the NMEA debug window or better some log from the VDR plug-in?
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 04:57   #8
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,518
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

If the NMEA messages containing GPS data do not arrive often enough then the dashboard GPS compass and true compass will time out and go blank for lack of data. It is almost certainly the cause of the issue you experienced. The GPS data coming in via NMEA needs to be regular enough to keep updating the data stream. The COG from the GPS data is needed to update the GPS compass in the dashboard. So the best guess is that something is interfering with the flow of NMEA data into the computer.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 06:10   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,997
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
If the NMEA messages containing GPS data do not arrive often enough then the dashboard GPS compass and true compass will time out and go blank for lack of data. It is almost certainly the cause of the issue you experienced. The GPS data coming in via NMEA needs to be regular enough to keep updating the data stream. The COG from the GPS data is needed to update the GPS compass in the dashboard. So the best guess is that something is interfering with the flow of NMEA data into the computer.
That is not correct!
There is a GPS watchdog timeout of 6 seconds and if that occurs a line in the log file is written:
Code:
16:32:40 CET: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
16:32:44 CET:    ***GPS Watchdog timeout at Lat:35.7802   Lon: 10.8322
Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 08:28   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
That is not correct!
There is a GPS watchdog timeout of 6 seconds and if that occurs a line in the log file is written:
Code:
16:32:40 CET: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
16:32:44 CET:    ***GPS Watchdog timeout at Lat:35.7802   Lon: 10.8322
Gerhard
Gerhard...

What exactly does this message form the OpenCPN core have to do with the dashboard plugin, please?

Thank you very much in advance

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 08:40   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by osprey_II View Post
The GPS connection makes no difference. I still cannot get compass roses to display only for a second or two when I run the program, they then blank out. I reinstalled the program on 4 different computers running vista, XP, and two newer computers running Win-7. Attached is another screen shot showing the compass rose on the wind gauge and a good GPS signal but blank gauges for the GPS and true compass. Is there a setting in the GPS connection that needs to be set? I thought the compass roses were just labels that should not depend on a GPS signal. Any help would be appreciated.
osprey_II...

The screenshot you posted is very hard to read, but it does not seem you have data available for most of the configured instruments - There is no compass data and no wind data at all. The RMC sentence states your speed is 0.0 and is missing COG.
From what I can see you only have position and sat constellation data and all of it is displayed correctly.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 10:24   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,997
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Gerhard...

What exactly does this message form the OpenCPN core have to do with the dashboard plugin, please?

Thank you very much in advance

Pavel
I can't remember having you asked something.

Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 12:27   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

I will have to look at the gps data feed in more detail, its giving very fast updated less than 1 second. I am not excluding or filtering any sentences and the gps works with NOBELTEC. I do not have wind data however and I am sitting home with a puck Holux GPS.

I thought the SOG and COG were computed from the GPS position data. I have no external speed/dir/depth/wind data connected. The fact that I am stationary I still should see noisy COG data, that is correct. But I am not seeing any changes at all in COG or SOG which I agree is suspect.
osprey_II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 13:32   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Maybe I need to be moving for it to work. I just checked in NOBELTEC and SOG and COG is also exactly 0.0. And NOBELTEC works on the boat I was on with the same GPS connected.
osprey_II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 00:24   #15
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 474
Re: Opencpn Dashboard issuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by osprey_II View Post
Maybe I need to be moving for it to work. I just checked in NOBELTEC and SOG and COG is also exactly 0.0. And NOBELTEC works on the boat I was on with the same GPS connected.
most if not all GPS need to be moving at some speed (sometimes configurable) before they will give a SOG and COG. Otherwise you just get noise based on positional errors.
__________________

Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opencpn Dashboard - Visual Instruments rgleason OpenCPN 2 31-10-2012 19:29
Opencpn 2.2 Build 823 Crashes when Dashboard Is Opened in Ubuntu tebsin OpenCPN 1 24-08-2010 14:16

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.