Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2013, 20:34   #1

opencpn code structure...

First, I should admit I'm new to the OpenCPN project.
I downloaded the code, looked into it...
The following question appears -
Is there some notes, documents, threads, etc. - about the structure of the whole code base? For example, I would like to identify 'quickly' the rendering part, S57 reading/processing part, etc...
Any advice how to 'make familiar' myself with the code as quickly as possible are really appreciated.
Thanks,
Michael.
P.S. I tried to find similar question/thread, but failed. My apology if I missed something obvious.
ma5645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2013, 05:39   #2

Boat: Phantom 19
Re: opencpn code structure...

Michael...
The short answer is "no, read the code and step through it" Basically what has S57 in the name is usually S57 related etc.

Pavel
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2013, 15:12   #3

Pavel -
Thanks for your reply.
I was expecting such answer, but there is always a hope

>>>...what has S57 in the name is usually S57 related...
S57 is relatively easy.
My major concerns :
- rendering, or how the information finally appears on the screen;
- how different modules are "communicating" with each other...

If there are any "tips" where to start looking - especially for rendering -
I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

Michael.
Old 21-05-2013, 15:27   #4

Michael...
I would probably start at https://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN/b...hart1.cpp#L841