Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-08-2012, 10:31   #106

Boat: Phantom 19
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Hubert...
All of these values are plain old integers, no decimal places.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 11:01   #107

Boat: Journeyman

Regarding zoom/pan:

I'm a typical engineer, the guy who usually wants everything technically correct. And the technically correct term is certainly "Pan", in every occasion (context menu, wpt manager, AIS SART alarm etc). OpenCPN pans, it doesn't zoom (as in change the scale).

But I still worry about having the menu saying "Pan To". Technically correct, but is it an easily understandable term for non-beta-tester users? Zoom to just seems much more like natural language, just like HappySeagull's motorcycle. And natural language is a good thing to strive for in a UI.

I consider this an important discussion, so please chime in and also maybe offer other ideas. I'm not a native English speaker after all. This is a good opportunity to clean up the context menu (it was getting overly big and it was hard to keep the organization feeling natural) but we shouldn't be changing it around too often.
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 11:12   #108

Boat: Hylas 44

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckSK View Post
While in quilt mode, changing from ENC or BSB charts to CM93 charts by using the piano keys often causes the view-point to change.