Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2012, 12:00   #61
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Thanks. Related to other append route problems reported earlier
It has been fixed.
OK thanks
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 15:18   #62
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Hello,

A little bug.

I have a track and a route. The road is crossing the track.

I copy the track
I past the track,
I delete the second track

And now, the road is red as it was activate. But, this road it is not activate.

But this bug is not present every time. I have reproduce this twice only ...

Gilletarom
__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 21:55   #63
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 27south
Boat: Easton 47
Posts: 65
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperWe View Post
I am a little limited in the OSX testing systems department, but to get more info for those who have one, could you try going into the Route manager and click "Delete all routes" or "Delete all Waypoint" or similar?

That will exercise a lot of the same wxMessageDialog stuff, maybe give more info on where the problem lies.

(if those hang too, it looks like a UI dialog issue, if they are OK it looks more like specific settings issue)
Hi Jasper, apols. about delay getting back, patchy internet from boat.
Attempted deleting all routes in route manager, this as you suspected also causes it to hang, so looks like a dialog box issue.

mo
__________________
Icnoships is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 22:14   #64
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 27south
Boat: Easton 47
Posts: 65
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Which charts are you testing?
Not all charts have built in dimming levels. The US RNCs have this feature, for example. Try testing one of those, and report back.

Thomas
US RNCs Dimming working.
CM93. Dimming working.
not working (or not possible) with some older BSB's.

mo
__________________
Icnoships is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 23:25   #65
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
I have a track and a route. The road is crossing the track.

I copy the track
I past the track,
I delete the second track

And now, the road is red as it was activate. But, this road it is not activate.
Good catch, G! The Delete Track command was erasing the information about a route being selected.

Fixed in master.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 03:42   #66
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Double clicking a mark that belongs to a layer creates a crash.

Click image for larger version

Name:	mark-crash.png
Views:	326
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	45164

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 04:00   #67
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Hello,

In new contextual menu :

1°) I have translate "Position" by "Divers". But when I run OpenCPN 3.1.814, I have "Position". I think that this is because "Position" is translated by "Position" in some plug-in.

2°) I try to inform user of context. By example, with a "Route" I use "Route : Copier" and with a Track, I use "Trace : Copier". So when a user place the mouse at a point where a track cross a route, it is easy to undestand what is the command for route and what is the command for track. So I try to use the same system with the waypoint.
But, it seem that some items are use twice for route and waypoint or for track and waypoint.

See screen copy.

In particular:
- Activate ----> "Route: Activer" is used for "Waypoint: Activer"
- Copy ----> "Trace : copier" is used for "Waypoint : Copier"

in fact, it lacks two other items reserved for waypoint:
- Activate (for W)
- Copy (for W)

Best regards

Gilletarom.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-08-20_Multi_usage_item.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	153.2 KB
ID:	45165  
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 04:04   #68
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Double clicking a mark that belongs to a layer creates a crash.
Hmm... Funny choice of variable at that line. Just a bit of luck that it was working before, actually ;-)

Fixed in master.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 05:20   #69
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
1°) I have translate "Position" by "Divers". But when I run OpenCPN 3.1.814, I have "Position". I think that this is because "Position" is translated by "Position" in some plug-in.

2°) I try to inform user of context. By example, with a "Route" I use "Route : Copier" and with a Track, I use "Trace : Copier". So when a user place the mouse at a point where a track cross a route, it is easy to undestand what is the command for route and what is the command for track. So I try to use the same system with the waypoint.
But, it seem that some items are use twice for route and waypoint or for track and waypoint.
Difficult issue. There is no mechanism to separate two different instances of the same text, so if you have a plugin that overwrites "Position" then the only way to avoid it is to disable the plugin or fix its translation.

Same thing for different instances of "Copy" etc.

Maybe it would be better to separate the "Route/Track" top level item into one "Route" and one "Track"? Then the same word can be used in all three menus without loss of clarity. Having the title of the menu repeated in each item in the sub-menu is redundant and not recommended, so I would prefer to avoid that.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 06:03   #70
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Thomas Cagney wrote -Double clicking a mark that belongs to a layer creates a crash.
Are you running this in Linux? Or is there a way to setup OpenCPN in windows such that it shows this screen? I might be able to start learning by stepping through the code, ...kind of viewing over the shoulder.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 06:20   #71
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Are you running this in Linux? Or is there a way to setup OpenCPN in windows such that it shows this screen? I might be able to start learning by stepping through the code, ...kind of viewing over the shoulder.
You need a dev environment to do this. It's not that hard actually.
I just went through the instructions at http://opencpn.org/ocpn/compiling_source_windows and made sure that they're up to date. Follow them and skip the optional steps, should be about 1 hr work to have everything set up.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 06:23   #72
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

rgleason...
Thomas is running ddd on linux, but on Windows you get the same results if you run the debug build in Visual Studio - instructions for building at Compiling - Windows | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 06:38   #73
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

And, rgleason, since you named yourself unfamiliar with these tools in other threads, there is a pretty decent beginners intro to using VS2010 at youtube.com /watch?v=z5gBIizwsY0

Apologies if you find that too basic ;-) ...

(Can't make the URL above clickable without the forum inserting the full video. Stupid).
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 07:08   #74
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

I appreciate the tips, and am sorry I did not send a personal message, as this is a bit off topic.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 07:39   #75
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

rgleason...

No apologies necessary. I find that a lot more people can learn more stuff if we discuss it openly.

In particular, the more testers who can run a symbolic debug environment, whether linux or Windows, the easier it becomes for the developers to track and zap bugs. Pictures like cagney produces with ddd on linux are invaluable.

Carry on !

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.