Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2012, 11:28   #136
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Happy...
While it can be useful in debugging some sort of problems, in this case it's unfortunately useless Setting up the build and debugging environment is not rocket science though, try it when it gets too cold and dark to fly

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2012, 11:59   #137
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Happy...
While it can be useful in debugging some sort of problems, in this case it's unfortunately useless
...gosh, this had me thinking nostalgically back to the days when an absolute memory address actually meant something
__________________

__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2012, 12:57   #138
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Ok. so much for EZ...I'll watch here Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help to see if it can be done using just a beak.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2012, 13:01   #139
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

j...
I had one of those. I still remember the switch and light patterns on boot.
sigh...

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2012, 15:27   #140
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Zooming in on cm93 charts in quilted mode switches to other chart types. Git master.
__________________
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2012, 10:43   #141
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 238
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
dpons....
But anyway, I cannot reproduce the failure to re-activate from the taskbar.

Any tips?
The video card I have is, according to lspci (machine is a dell optiplex 380, 4GB ram):

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Sandy Bridge Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09).

It might have to do with that.


uname -a:

Linux euler 2.6.32-5-amd64 #1 SMP Sun May 6 04:00:17 UTC 2012 x86_64 GNU/Linux


Quote:
Question: what happens if you have a dialog open, say the RouteManagerDialog, and minimize OpenCPN at that point. Does the RouteManagerDialog get hidden properly, or does it stay on the screen?
Same as before, but the Route Dialog gets minimized, it's not shown as residue. From the gnome taskbar I can close the application, but I can't maximize again.

I tried clicking on the chart rectangles that remain, and the buttons seem to accept events, change color, etc.


Diego
__________________
dpons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 11:40   #142
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

ChuckSK

re:
"Zooming in on cm93 charts in quilted mode switches to other chart types. Git master. "

This is sort of a "feature" Goes like this: If you are in quilt mode, looking at raster charts. Zoom out, and out, until the rightmost (smallest scale) raster chart is too small to be useful. At this point, 814 magically shifts to cm93 if available, but remembers that this selection of cm93 is due to attempted underzoom of a raster chart. This is new behavior.

Then, when you zoom in again, he tries to return to the raster chart that caused the auto-shift to cm93. If that chart is not available, he makes best effort to find a useful small scale raster chart. What the user sees is as if an unintentional shift away from cm93 happened.

The thinking is that if you later want large-scale cm93, select it directly.

Perhaps we need to fine-tune the logic of this "feature".

I think this is the effect you are seeing.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 11:45   #143
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Hi Dave

That is indeed the feature that is causing the problem. m_zout_dbindex is not being initialized and it is not being reset when cm93 is selected directly.

Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 13:19   #144
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Chuck...

Ahh, not an idea problem, but an implementation problem....

OK, that would do it. Thanks for looking at the code. Fix on the way.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 21:07   #145
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 238
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpons View Post
The video card I have is, according to lspci (machine is a dell optiplex 380, 4GB ram):

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Sandy Bridge Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09).

It might have to do with that.


uname -a:

Linux euler 2.6.32-5-amd64 #1 SMP Sun May 6 04:00:17 UTC 2012 x86_64 GNU/Linux


Same as before, but the Route Dialog gets minimized, it's not shown as residue. From the gnome taskbar I can close the application, but I can't maximize again.

I tried clicking on the chart rectangles that remain, and the buttons seem to accept events, change color, etc.


Diego
Reproduced in an Asus EEE with intel controller, 32 bits OS
__________________
dpons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2012, 14:49   #146
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Sorry if that was reported yet :Crash when double clicking on a waypoint belonging to a layer
Tested with Vista
Jean pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2012, 15:20   #147
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
Sorry if that was reported yet :Crash when double clicking on a waypoint belonging to a layer
Tested with Vista
Jean pierre
This thread is becoming to long...
Yes, reported and fixed for next beta. See post # 65 ->OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 11:06   #148
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Hello Dave, Hello JesperWe, Hello Pavel ...


What news now ? OpenCPN is stopped ... ?


Best regards


Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 19:40   #149
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

Hey folks...

New Beta coming soon. Lots of cool stuff to integrate and alpha test.
Please stand by for a few days....

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:22   #150
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released

I don't know if this is an old bug, or due to my setup and I'm sorry for late bug report, but I just decided to give this devel debug setup a real spin.... Hope you all had a good Labor Day weekend.

Anyway, while hovering over a route, the popup message would appear and then recede, often. Then I would get a bug breakpoint notice. I did this several times and include the images for the chart and MSVC++ debug.
http://tgp-architectsOpenCPN/Crash-H...te-3-Debug.png
http://http://tgp-architectsOpenCPN/...te-3-Chart.png

I also believe the CM93 charts don't seem to be working, but the BSB raster are. -Do I have to scan charts and update the database? I thought it did that when I first loaded OpenCPN?

Hope this helps.

Question: When you make the next release, I then need to run git opencpn again to retrieve the new update and then recompile and build again?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.