Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2012, 13:58   #76
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_BigSpeedy View Post
Cagney,
just to make sure we're talking about the same thing :
The quote above happens in case of a real CPA alarm ?

If so : the longer I think about it, the more I hesitate ... Should we really offer an option to remove the CPA line in case of a real CPA alarm ?
I don't think so, I'm tending more to hide the menu ...

Thomas
tom_BigSpeedy
Thinking a bit more about this scenario, I have to agree with your conclusion!
Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2012, 10:12   #77
Registered User
 
Surveyor's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ft. Pierce, FL - Bislig, Philippines - Gladstone QLD
Boat: 1968 Alberg 30 #329
Posts: 451
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

I have noticed an odd behavior when creating routes. When I add a route by selecting existing waypoints and end on an existing waypoint, the next route that I create will not pick the nearby existing waypoint to start the new route. It creates a new one waypoint. I then have to end the route and do it again and this time it will pick the existing waypoint.

Also, when exporting routes to gpx, would it be possible to have the dialog default the new gpx file name to the name of the route being exported?

__________________

__________________
Jim - Bahala na!
http://svcookie.blogspot.com/
KK4GGF
Surveyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2012, 23:39   #78
Registered User
 
sailias's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: On the Hard
Posts: 333
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Greets:

Was wondering if there are any default UI templates as I get the following on a clean install / build

-------------
01:34:56 EDT: 2012-07-31
01:34:56 EDT: -------Starting opencpn-------
01:34:56 EDT: Version 3.1.714 Build 2012-07-14
01:34:56 EDT: MemoryStatus: mem_total: 2509 mb, mem_initial: 50 mb
01:34:56 EDT: SData_Locn is /usr/local/share/opencpn/
01:34:56 EDT: Using existing Config_File: /home/chris123/.opencpn/opencpn.conf
01:34:56 EDT: No styles found at: /usr/local/share/opencpn/uidata/
01:34:56 EDT: No styles found at: /home/chris123/
01:34:56 EDT: No styles found at: /home/chris123/.opencpn/
01:34:56 EDT: The requested style was not found:

---------------

Ubuntu 12.04 compiled from source.

/ch
__________________
sailias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2012, 23:48   #79
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailias View Post
Was wondering if there are any default UI templates as I get the following on a clean install / build
...
01:34:56 EDT: No styles found at: /usr/local/share/opencpn/uidata/
...
01:34:56 EDT: The requested style was not found:
The installer should copy the files to the uidata folder. (The other folders are used for additional styles and style development)

No one else in Ubuntu (such as myself) has reported this problem.

You are say you are doing an install, but maybe you are just doing a build? ("make install" vs just "make")
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2012, 07:19   #80
Registered User
 
sailias's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: On the Hard
Posts: 333
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

OK....unlike other versions (as I have two installed) I just ran the executable from the build folder. Guess I need to install this version to make it work. Thanks

/ch
__________________
sailias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2012, 07:21   #81
Registered User
 
sailias's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: On the Hard
Posts: 333
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Works.... Pilot error...as usual.

/ch
__________________
sailias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2012, 10:44   #82
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailias View Post
OK....unlike other versions (as I have two installed) I just ran the executable from the build folder. Guess I need to install this version to make it work.
You need to install some version with the uidata files at least once, otherwise the files never get copied. Once you've done that, you can run other versions from the build dir.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2012, 20:15   #83
Registered User
 
sailias's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: On the Hard
Posts: 333
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Should have picked up latest stable, or least beta prior to this one. Both were installed. Non issue...it works...and looks really interesting. This is coming along soooo nicely that it always brings a smile to my face. Good work guys...dam shame I cant code as lots of ideas for pluggins...but really appreciate the talent.

Keep it up...and congrats.

/ch
__________________
sailias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 02:49   #84
Registered User
 
Surveyor's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ft. Pierce, FL - Bislig, Philippines - Gladstone QLD
Boat: 1968 Alberg 30 #329
Posts: 451
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surveyor View Post
I have noticed an odd behavior when creating routes. When I add a route by selecting existing waypoints and end on an existing waypoint, the next route that I create will not pick the nearby existing waypoint to start the new route. It creates a new waypoint (on top of an existing one). I then have to end the route and do it again and this time it will pick the existing waypoint.
Am I the only one experiencing this?

It is very consistent. I am now in the habit of creating a fake waypoint in a fake route, ending it before I get started so that I can start the next real route on a real waypoint!
__________________
Jim - Bahala na!
http://svcookie.blogspot.com/
KK4GGF
Surveyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 04:59   #85
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surveyor View Post
Am I the only one experiencing this?
No. It's a bug. Fixed for next beta.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:55   #86
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surveyor View Post
Am I the only one experiencing this?

It is very consistent. I am now in the habit of creating a fake waypoint in a fake route, ending it before I get started so that I can start the next real route on a real waypoint!
I can reproduce this bug:

  • create 3 waypoints: A, B, C
  • create route 1 from A to B, say "Yes" to "Use nearby waypoint?"
  • finish/end route 1
  • try to create route 2 from B to C:
  • When selecting B as start, it ALWAYS creates a new waypoint on top of waypoint B, it does not use existing waypoint B, does not ask "Use nearby waypoint"
  • Cancel creating the route (select "end route"), since route only had one waypoint, route will not be created.
  • try again to create route 2 from B to C: this time it works as expected and does use existing waypoint.
Dirk
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 17:14   #87
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Hi Dave

The chart memory management fix did not make it into the latest commit.

Code:
 
#ifdef __WXMSW__
    if( 0 == g_memCacheLimit ) {
        if( CACHE_N_LIMIT_DEFAULT == g_nCacheLimit ) g_memCacheLimit = wxMin((int) ( g_mem_total * 0.5 ), 1024);
    }
        g_memCacheLimit = wxMin(g_memCacheLimit, 1024 * 1024);  // math in kBytes
#endif
Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 17:21   #88
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Chuck...

Sorry, lost the thread on this one.
I think I see this in 3.1.714.

What am I missing?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 17:34   #89
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

This is what it should look like. The above is what it looks like in the current branch master.

Code:
 #ifdef __WXMSW__
    if( 0 == g_memCacheLimit ) {
        if( CACHE_N_LIMIT_DEFAULT == g_nCacheLimit ) g_memCacheLimit = (int) ( g_mem_total * 0.5 );
    }
        g_memCacheLimit = wxMin(g_memCacheLimit, 1024 * 1024);  // math in kBytes
#endif
Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 17:59   #90
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released

Chuck...

OK, I'm confused. Remind me of the scenario we are addressing?

In both cases, it looks to me like the mem limit will be 1 GB, or half available memory, whichever is less.

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.