Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2013, 07:43   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Dave and team..
Running the new beta and haven't been able to stress it to any failures. Very nice indeed. (Local host broadcasting to O-portable is either better nor worse. Somewhat tricky to get going but stable when established)

Report of "152. Correct NMEA Debug window output data port strings":
Works nice and now with confidence.
?? There are some red strings passing by. One type for priority changes and one for me new GPS strings that are red. Maybe checksum failures?? Nice new feature in that case.

A request for a new feature if suitable in this thread: (Please advice if I shall move)
My ECRMC magnetic variation is false obviously due to old data base in the GPS sending GPRMC where from O catch the figures to print in ECRMC. Not to blame O for that but since the WMM plugin is present and have correct figures it should be nice If O had the opportunity to fetch from WMM instead of GPS when constructing the ECRMC sentence. The variation figures from GPS is 1.4 and from WMM 2.6. The correct value is also 2.6 E
(I’ve updated my Garmin 12, that’s what I use at home, software but it didn’t helped.)

This opportunity would also be useful if my boat's GPS fails and I temporarily have to trust on the AIS for positions. My AIS don't have a Mag.Variation table and will not broadcast any figures for that. But WMM is still there with, so far, a proper data base.


Thanks
Håkan
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2013, 08:02   #17
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Memory leakage:

And the winner is..... OpenGL.

Disabling OpenGL stops the thing.

So, most probably we can't do much about it.......
And it explains why this does not show up on all machines.

Hubert
__________________

__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2013, 13:58   #18
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,291
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Hello Thomas, Hello Dave,
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Thomas....
re "Export All Visible"...
I understand your argument, and am leaning your direction to not include layers in the export.
Lets see what Gilletarom has to say, as the feature was his idea originally.
Dave
I understand the reaction of Thomas Cagney. The two buttons are difficult to explain in the wiki. I want to update a website on OpenCPN, French, and the current state of things, I agree that it is not good.

Several questions are raised by Thomas cagney.
1) The first: Two buttons that do things that seem contradictory
2) The second: The title of the button "Export all visible ...." is wrong.

1) For the first question:
Note that the function of the button "Export all" is contained in everything that is possible with the button "Export all visible." Indeed, it is possible to perform the function "Export all" with the button "Export all visible ..." opening all eyes.
I just think a simple idea: You can remove the button "Export all". Just keep only the new button. In this case, you can still leave the layers include in the backup.

Now, if we want to keep both buttons, then yes, you need to harmonize their operations. And in this case, I admit that it is best to exclude layers for the two buttons.

Personally, I hope that the export function is flexible and allows users maximum freedom. One button is needed: "Export all visible ...". Let's remove the old one.


And if you follow my idea, then it will not be difficult to explain in the wiki.

2) For the second question:
I think I noticed a post in the thread of 1309, a OCPN user confused "Export all that is visible in the manager Routes / Tracks / WP and layers" and "Export all that is visible on the screen. "It seems to me that the user thought that I wanted to export the map ... Obviously not.
The title of the button is to understand quite easily that this button is used to export objects that are in all tabs Manager (or only 3 tabs).

Note that if you delete the old button, it will be easy to understand for everyone. And if, in addition, a message rollover button helps explain a little more what he does, then we should easily find a more suitable title for this new button.

3°) third topic:
This evening, testing the two buttons, I have see a problem. I will discuss this issue in the tracker

Best regards,

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2013, 16:26   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 488
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

The last Beta Version 3.1.1319 seems OK to me; with one last request as I am coming back with that (forgive me to do so) is the shaping of AIS targets, instead of being a square box. Great work on the overall and becoming a top program.
Best Regards.
P_Dub
__________________
P_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2013, 19:09   #20
Registered User
 
hwecken's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Germany
Boat: HR382
Posts: 110
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

The windhistory does not show any values.
Wind data in the dashboard are ok
see screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Windhistory.JPG
Views:	90
Size:	167.2 KB
ID:	53176  
__________________
hwecken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 02:41   #21
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,291
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

#FS948 : 2013-01-20: A task closure has been requested. Reason for request: 3.1.1319. For me all is Ok now.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 04:08   #22
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorF54 View Post
Page not found

The requested page could not be found.
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 04:27   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Thomas....

re "Export All Visible"...

I understand your argument, and am leaning your direction to not include layers in the export.

Lets see what Gilletarom has to say, as the feature was his idea originally.

Dave
Dave & Gilletarom

I have reconsidered the different implications, after Gilletarom's latest post. I think that the suggestion to just keep the "Export All Visible..." button, as Gilletarom suggests, is the best option. It follows KISS and is easy to explain.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 04:38   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
Page not found

The requested page could not be found.
Yeah... more problems. The link addresses changed for no reason.
After some guessing + trials, they are now restored.

The download links should work now!

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 05:08   #25
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

New install on win-7,

Nothing south of the aequator...

even after I made made full datebase rebuild and restart .

__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 05:21   #26
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

upper printscreen was made with cm93-2011,

I tried with cm93-2010 now, there the whole screen is like the background screen (or like south of aequator on above printscreen)


???? I reinstalled o-1309 now and have the SAME problem !

maybe my config and logfile helps:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/869607/opencpn/config.txt

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/869607/opencpn/log.txt

upper are from 1309 !

follwing are from 1319 after new install:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/869607/opencpn/config-1319.txt

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/869607/opencpn/log-1319.txt
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 05:54   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Rik-lu
What happens if
1 You zoom in one snap?
2 You change to quilting mode?

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 06:05   #28
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

if I zoom in north of 0 degrees ok,
south of 9 degree background map only,

quilting on or off makes no difference



we had something like this with an older version too. As I remember than it was when parts north of 80 degrees where visible....

---------------------------------------------

PS: must be something on MY SIDE !
same effect now with 3.0.2 :-(
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 06:11   #29
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,291
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Hello,

By experimenting with layers of opencpn.org website, I loaded as a waypoint ensemblede many windfarm. Therefore, I have not used the "List contents" to do this. And when I tried to remove the tab windfarm WP .... I was forced to remove them one by one ... Given their number, it took me a long time.

It will be nice if you could select a portion of the column by dragging the mouse, keeping the SHIFT key pressed. It would be faster especially for very large lists. For example, the list of objects of the World Exclusive Economical Zone layers is monstrous. Hundreds of items.

B.R.

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 07:13   #30
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
New install on win-7,

Nothing south of the aequator...

even after I made made full datebase rebuild and restart .

My cm93-2011 chartfolder was corrupted !

there were only 1,19Gb left of 1,33Gb. About 400 folders missing.
and in the 2010 folder were only two empty folders left...

I dont know why and how I could lose this, especially only the part south of the aequator ?

same charts as I used last week on same computer....



I apologize, everything is ok ! No Opencpn-fault !


And I want to remind everybody to have a backup-stick or harddisk with spare chart sets !
__________________

__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.