Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-12-2012, 01:30   #76
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hello Dave,

It's been two days that I fencing to improve the translation into French of two item general language file.

This concerns the tab "Connection" from the "Toolbox".


There is a small bug. The words "In" and "Out" are taken into account correctemlent if no filter is created. But if a filter is created, then these two item are not translated. See screenshot.


For all filters, there are four cases:
- Input: NMEA sentences accepted
- Input: NMEA sentenses rejected
- Output: NMEA sentences sent
- Output: NMEA sentences unsent

To translate "Accepted", "Rejected", "sent" and "unsent", there are only two items "All but" and "Just".

I can translate "All but but" by "Tout mais" and "Just" by "Seulement". These translations are not adapted to the four cases in French. I've tried other translations ... this is even worse.

The various possible translations of these two items do not make clear the four situations.

Is it possible to have four items instead of two items?

Thank by advance.

Gilletarom.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-15_In_Out_not_translated.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	51181  
__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 12:37   #77
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hello Dave,

Not very important :

I have two connections.
With the first, the nmea sentences are received from GPS. This first connection is SERIAL with port com 5
With the second, the NMEA sentences are transmitted to an external user (Here NavMonPc for test) on port com 7

When I display the NMEA debugging window, I see that the sentences "out" are before the same NMEA sentences "in". This can disturb the users.

See screen copy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-15_Sent_before_receive.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	381.6 KB
ID:	51238  
__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 02:44   #78
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hello,

Tab connection of Toolbox :

Please excuse this question if it is absurd, but with no hardware furuno, I prefer to learn.

Two kinds of material are treated in a particular : Garmin and Furuno.

Why furuno item on the tab is visible in the two cases of serial and network connections while both Garmin items are only visible to serial connection only?

B.R.

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 07:19   #79
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Gilletarom...
In case of a Garmin, the whole serial protocol is different, but it has nothing to do with networking where the hardware is ethernet. In case of a Furuno, the NMEA sentences sent while uploading a route are different than usually, so it can be applied even in case they are transmitted over the network.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 11:30   #80
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

cagney, etc...

I am seriously WiFi challenged this week, so I will try to keep up as best I can.

Thomas, I have no trouble with auto route creation on MOB. Works fine for me. Makes a route that is 1 NM along the last COG.

???
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 12:11   #81
Registered User
 
sy_gilana's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On board
Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Posts: 1,101
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by MQVirtual View Post
Hello S/Y Gilana,

Encountered the same issue and spent hours trying to isolate, turned out, for us anyway, that OpenCPN was not the issue. SSD becoming corrupted was. For us removed SSD and reinstalled all software and lo and behold have had a stable system for over 6 months now, we reboot only after update Tuesdays.

ASUS G73jh
8GB RAM
Win 7 64
VMWare for OpenCPN but on host as well
Was a 256GB Kingston SSD
Hello and thank you for your input. Sorry I have been quiet, we have just arrived in the Canaries from Gibraltar. Once again I feel this is the incorrect thread to discuss crashes, however, I want to give some feedback, and ask for ideas. I sincerely hope its not the SSD as we have, over 14 years had many hard drives pack up completely due to gyroscopic precession causing head collisions. The SSD is the intended solution to that.

Attached is a reliability report, as can be seen, the day that OpenCPN was installed, I also installed the ATEN UC232A drivers. Since then the computer has been unstable. I thing OpenCPN is NOT at fault here, but I think its something to do with WIN7 and ATEN and MS BALLPOINT MOUSE.

Win7 recognizes the ATEN as a mouse. The computer crashed blue screen about 40 times in the last week at sea. It does so especially if O is running and any other mouse intensive activity like Solitaire.

If anybody has come across this please post, and I will not mention this crashing again as it is NOT an OpenCPN issue.

Thanks in advance...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	reliability.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	51273  
__________________
Tight sheets to ya.
http://gilana.org
sy_gilana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 12:20   #82
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
cagney, etc...

I am seriously WiFi challenged this week, so I will try to keep up as best I can.

Thomas, I have no trouble with auto route creation on MOB. Works fine for me. Makes a route that is 1 NM along the last COG.

???
Dave
Dave

Back to testing MOB, and it works!
My bad, I tested on the wrong assumption. I need to RTFM !!

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 14:56   #83
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Since installing the latest v. 3.1.1206 I have not been able to receive/view AIS messages from my antenna. My SR162 receiver shows green light indicating data arrival but nothing is received in my USB port converter.
I have tried both port 6 and 10 which are the options and set the baud rate to 9600.

See attached settings..

Help anybody?

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captured_001 Dec. 16 19.54.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	160.0 KB
ID:	51290  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 14:59   #84
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Since installing the latest v. 3.1.1206 I have not been able to receive/view AIS messages from my antenna. My SR162 receiver shows green light indicating data arrival but nothing is received in my USB port converter.
I have tried both port 6 and 10 which are the options and set the baud rate to 9600.

See attached settings..

Help anybody?

Tore
Tore. My AIS use 38400 and I think that's quite normal
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 15:04   #85
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Since installing the latest v. 3.1.1206 I have not been able to receive/view AIS messages from my antenna. My SR162 receiver shows green light indicating data arrival but nothing is received in my USB port converter.
I have tried both port 6 and 10 which are the options and set the baud rate to 9600.

See attached settings..

Help anybody?

Tore
isnt ais faster than 9600, but at 38400?
__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 15:04   #86
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Tore...
As Hakan suggests, the baudrate for AIS is 38400 (even for your unit, as Smart Radio SR162 AIS Receiver confirms) If changing it does not help, please post the logfile from your last run.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 16:10   #87
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hakan...

Regarding the errant GPRMC message...

You make a good point. The message is coming from COM16, and the filter is telling OpenCPN not to use that message for navigation. But the message is being echoed to the output port COM11 just the same.

So, the design question is: "If an input message is filtered by OCPN, should it automatically be removed from all output streams as well?"

Never thought about this possibility, myself....
Comments?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 17:06   #88
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hakan,Yachtman and Nohal..

Of course it is,38400,long time since I used my AIS,how could I forget??

BUT,right clicking only shows AIS target list and not each individual vessel.
Seems you now have to first go to the AIS target list,and then select Target Info.


Thank you all...

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 17:44   #89
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Dave...
my thinking is that we should let the sentences enter the internal MUX regardless of the input filters and remove them just from the output streams where such a filter is set, if we drop them on the base of the input filter already, part of the flexibility will be lost. The downside is that it might increase the confusion for a non-expert user in some cases of course, but at the other hand we will find something on any approach we take...

Pavel

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Hakan...

Regarding the errant GPRMC message...

You make a good point. The message is coming from COM16, and the filter is telling OpenCPN not to use that message for navigation. But the message is being echoed to the output port COM11 just the same.

So, the design question is: "If an input message is filtered by OCPN, should it automatically be removed from all output streams as well?"

Never thought about this possibility, myself....
Comments?

Dave
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 18:35   #90
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Pavel, Hakan...

I agree with your comment, Pavel. And that is just the way 3.1.1206 works now. (almost, see below).

So, Hakan, if you do not want the errant GPRMC message to be echoed, you need to use 5 character specification on the output filter, instead of 3 characters. The checkbox list only includes the standard 3 character sentence identifiers. But you can "Add" other 2, 3, or 5 character specifications to the list manually.

Maybe just "Include" ECRMB and ECRMC. This will send only the autopilot messages out, and them only when a route is active.

Dave

and the (almost) note above:

3.1.1206 will not echo a message received on (say) port COM1 back out to COM1. I think this is a bug.

Code:
        //Send to all the other outputs
        for (size_t i = 0; i < m_pdatastreams->Count(); i++)
        {
            DataStream* s = m_pdatastreams->Item(i);
            if ( port != s->GetPort() ) {
                if ( s->IsOk() )
                    if ( s->GetIoSelect() == DS_TYPE_INPUT_OUTPUT || s->GetIoSelect() == DS_TYPE_OUTPUT ) {
                        bool bout_filter = true;
note the line "if ( port != s->GetPort() )"
Thoughts, Pavel?
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.