Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 09:38   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 74
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hello, thank you for the answer,
I need RMC for the VHF, and it's OK when a route is active.
__________________

__________________
tiersp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:43   #47
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Running phiggins old AIS simulator, where ownship proceeds northwards past Seattle, I get a crash after about a minute.
The connection is /dev/ttyS0. This is a test I do regularly on new O versions. Never seen this before.
Connection input related ?

Click image for larger version

Name:	seattlecrash.png
Views:	83
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	51023
Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 14:04   #48
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 490
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

I am using S57 charts file and I am gettig 2 responses on wrecks on some charts.
1- a circle with an arrow, if you click on it you get the depth;
If I close the program and re-open it, I get:-
2- a dotted circle with the depth inside.
Is this correct and normal?
Regards
__________________
P_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 19:29   #49
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

jp...

I cannot reproduce the problem with groups. It looks to me that when you seem to have "too many" charts displayed, then you are actually looking at Group 0, or "All Active Charts".

Could this be the case?

Anyone else see trouble with Groups in this way?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 19:58   #50
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

tiersp...

OpenCPN will repeat RMC out to all output-defined ports, if it is received by any other port. However, OpenCPN will not create a RMC sentence from scratch except to drive the autopilot when a route is active.

So, if you need RMC for your radio, you should try to program your GPS to send RMC into OpenCPN, from whence it will be repeated on all output ports.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:46   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Dave

I verified my tests
1) No there is no mistake . In fact if I would be in "All Active Chart" case , I would get three groups and no two
2) Remind it happens only in No Quilt mode
3) After more tests it seems that the second group displayed (the one that should not be ) is the one selected when I toggle to Not quilt mode by F9 .
In others worlds :

- Select the 3rd group .
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:19   #52
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Dave

Sorry my post above was not completed

I verified my tests
1) No there is no mistake . In fact if I would be in "All Active Chart" case , I would get three groups and no two
2) Remind it happens only in No Quilt mode
3) After more tests it seems that the second group displayed (the one that should not be ) is the one selected when I toggle to Not quilt mode by F9 .
In others worlds :
- Toggle F9 to ensure quilt mode if your are not
- Select the 3rd group .
- toggle F9 -> no quilt mode
- Select the 1st group -> get the 1st + the 3rd
- Select the 2nd group -> get the 2nd + the 3rd
- Toggle F9 -> quilt mode
- Select the 2nd group
- toggle F9 -> no quilt mode
- Select the 1st group -> get the 1st + the 2nd
- Select the 3rd group -> get the 3rd + the 2nd
- Toggle F9 -> quilt mode
- Select the 1st group or "All Active Charts"
- toggle F9 -> no quilt mode
- Select the 2nd group -> get the 2nd + the 1st
- Select the 3rd group -> get the 3rd + the 1st

May be there is somewhere a variable not cleared ?

Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:51   #53
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 74
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
tiersp...

OpenCPN will repeat RMC out to all output-defined ports, if it is received by any other port. However, OpenCPN will not create a RMC sentence from scratch except to drive the autopilot when a route is active.

So, if you need RMC for your radio, you should try to program your GPS to send RMC into OpenCPN, from whence it will be repeated on all output ports.

Dave
Thank you Dave for the answer,
Here is my connexions

With config:
VSPE
splitter COM15<>COM1
splitter COM11<>Com2
OpenCPN
Output Filters
COM1 None in only RMC,GSV,GGA out None
COM2 Out in None out only RMC,RMB

And with this i have not RMC in the VHF if a route is not active.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	plan connections bateau.png
Views:	88
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	51035  
__________________
tiersp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:02   #54
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

tiersp...

Do you actually see GPRMC in the input stream? Maybe you may post a screenshot of your NMEA Debug window in operation....

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:28   #55
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 74
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Yes Dave i see GPRMC in the input steam.
I was yesterday on my boat, and i remenber that.
And also the boat was well positionned on the map.
__________________
tiersp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:40   #56
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mtres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hello Dave,

I test with a GPS ND100. The GPS is on port com 4

1 If I create a connection with port com n 4, all is OK, I have NMEA sentences.

Then

2 I delete the previous connection,
I run the sofware Xport and I create an other port N 6, using the port com n 4,
I try to create a connection with OpenCPN. OpenCPN see two port com : N4 and N 6. And, it is possible to create a connection with this port com N 4.
But, there is no sentences in the NMEA debugging window ...
This is normal, because the port com n4 is now use by Xport.

Obviously, if I create a connection with the port com N 6, I have NMEA sentences in the debugging window and this is normal.

is it possible that OpenCPN does not advertise in the list of com port, the port is not open access?

B.R.

Gilletarom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-12_Connection_GPS.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	179.4 KB
ID:	51076  
Attached Images
 
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:07   #57
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Looking at the AIS button in the toolbar. In 3.0.2 this button changes in a way described on this page ->
AIS | Official OpenCPN Homepage.
Of the five versions of this button
1. AIS Alive.
2. AIS Alive and Activity
3. AIS Suppressed.
4. AIS Alarm.
5. AIS Disabled.
number 2 and 5 seems to be missing in the current beta.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:00   #58
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Man Over Board

No temporary route is created on activating MOB.
This is important to guide ownship back to the MOB.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 07:34   #59
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

I can not delete a Waypoint from a Route.

The right click context menu only has Delete for The whole route, but won't let me delete a waypoint from the route, nor remove the waypoint from the route.



Does this new fiction have something to do with it?
Quote:
. 79. Improve RouteManager Toggle Visibility logic for shared waypoints.
80. Correct Route/Track/Waypoint DeleteAll logic with some items invisible.
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 07:38   #60
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Out sailing
Boat: spray 45
Posts: 23
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1206 Released

Hi
First a big thank you for the new betas, I was running 3.1.1105 crossing from Laspalmas to Bequia. It was running for 24 days without one single crash! (W7 32bit)
Now to my problem. I want to get 3.1.1206-1 to run on my Linux machines. with direct connect of my Bu-353 opencpn on /dev/tty/usb0 4800 I get no nmeastream/pos.
My user is member of dialout and I had it working on the betas before 3.1.1105 (have not tested 3.1.1105)
I have not installed gpsd and the gps seems to be in nmea mode since its working in windows.
this problem is on both Linuxmint 13 and 14 on different computers


output in terminal

dmesg | grep tty
[ 0.000000] console [tty0] enabled
[ 1997.961847] usb 4-1: pl2303 converter now attached to ttyUSB0

opencpn logfile

10:27:39 AST: 2012-12-13
10:27:39 AST: ------- Starting OpenCPN -------
10:27:39 AST: Version 3.1.1206 Build 2012-12-06
10:27:39 AST: wxWidgets version: wxWidgets 2.8.12
10:27:39 AST: MemoryStatus: mem_total: 993 mb, mem_initial: 40 mb
10:27:39 AST: SData_Locn is /usr/local/share/opencpn/
10:27:39 AST: Using existing Config_File: /home/jlsail/.opencpn/opencpn.conf
10:27:39 AST: Styles loading from /usr/local/share/opencpn/uidata/styles.xml
10:27:39 AST: No styles found at: /home/jlsail/
10:27:39 AST: No styles found at: /home/jlsail/.opencpn/
10:27:39 AST: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 12.0419, -60.9111
10:27:39 AST: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 12.0419, -60.9111
10:27:39 AST: System default Language: en_US
10:27:39 AST: Opencpn language set to: en_US
10:27:40 AST: ChartSymbols loaded from /usr/local/share/opencpn/s57data/chartsymbols.xml
10:27:41 AST: Using s57data in /usr/local/share/opencpn/s57data
10:27:41 AST: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 12.0419, -60.9111
10:27:41 AST: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 12.0419, -60.9111
10:27:41 AST: Opening NMEA Datastream Serial:/dev/ttyUSB0
10:27:41 AST: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location /usr/local/lib/opencpn
10:27:41 AST: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: /usr/local/lib/opencpn/libgrib_pi.so
10:27:41 AST: /usr/local/lib/opencpn/libgrib_pi.so Version detected: 107
10:27:41 AST: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: /usr/local/lib/opencpn/libdashboard_pi.so
10:27:41 AST: /usr/local/lib/opencpn/libdashboard_pi.so Version detected: 106
10:27:42 AST: ChartDB Cache policy: Max open chart limit is 20.
10:27:42 AST: Loading chart db version: V017
10:27:42 AST: Chartdb: Chart directory list follows
10:27:42 AST: Chart directory #0: /home/jlsail/Charts/cm93/CM93_2009
10:27:42 AST: Chart directory #1: /home/jlsail/Charts/bsb/BSB Atlantic
10:27:42 AST: Chart directory #2: /home/jlsail/Charts/bsb/caribicorkestern
10:27:42 AST: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
10:27:42 AST: Initializing Chart /home/jlsail/Charts/cm93/CM93_2009
10:27:42 AST: CM93Composite Chart Root is /home/jlsail/Charts/cm93/CM93_2009/
10:27:42 AST: Loaded CM93 Dictionary from /home/jlsail/Charts/cm93/CM93_2009/
10:27:42 AST: Loading CM93 cell /home/jlsail/Charts/cm93/CM93_2009/02700840/A/02700840.A
10:27:42 AST: Loading CM93 cell /home/jlsail/Charts/cm93/CM93_2009/02700900/A/02700900.A

what am I doing wrong?

cheers
Johan
__________________

__________________
jlsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.