Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 10:13   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Thunder Bay, On
Boat: C&C Landfall 38
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
BrianAlex....

You should be able to use "ECRMC", which is available on the Output filter list. This will be sent when a route is active only. Will this serve?

Dave
Dave,
Still no magnetic variation on the "ECRMC" sentence (see attached from portmon).

Brian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	portmon.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	443.8 KB
ID:	49413  
__________________

__________________
brianalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:27   #47
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Brian....

Hmphm. This works for me.
Could we see the NMEA Debug window output?

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	chart1.jpeg
Views:	87
Size:	265.6 KB
ID:	49416  
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:40   #48
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Brian...

Disregard my last. There is something wrong here, and I'll let you know soon what it is....

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:46   #49
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chania, Crete, Greece
Boat: comfortina 32
Posts: 20
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Dave, thanks for the reply.

As far as I remember, the only time that I noticed data streaming in the NMEA Debug window was when I had AIS (transponder) and GPS connected through two different COM ports, or just GPS. The AIS port had 38400 baud rate, priority 0 and empty filter field (accept only sentences), and the GPS port had 4800 baud, priority 0 and also empty filter field. Checksum controlled and no output from these ports.

I have to check this again when I go down to the boat tomorrow (right now there blows an 8 Bf gale at the old harbour of Chania - the boat is safe but I do not have time to play with electronics). I will try to send you the screen shot. The old debugger plugIn, however, shows that it receives NMEA data stream and NMEA events even when only the AIS transponder is connected.

Regarding the Mac now, please ignore my comment about the Dashboard plugIn not working. In reality Dashboard was there (on the screen) but reduced (for some reason) in a miniscule size, difficult to spot. Now it has been resized and it is OK.

Thanks again for your efforts.

Alexandros
__________________
Alexandros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:01   #50
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Brian...

OK, a legitimate bug. The messages from the PlugIns, especially the magvar info from wmm, are being ignored.

Fix is pushed to git master.
Can you build from source?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 13:26   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Thunder Bay, On
Boat: C&C Landfall 38
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Hi Dave

Yes, thanks. I will build from master and check it out. Just in time; leaving for the boat soon with only intermittent internet access. I appreciate the effort in addressing this issue.

Brian
__________________
brianalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 14:12   #52
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wandering around North America
Boat: Defever 43 - Gray Hawk
Posts: 602
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

This may be a case of operator error but I don't think so. I have 3.1.1105 installed on two identical laptops, one running W7 and the other running XP. On the W7 machine I can't get the tide or current icons to display under 3.1.1105. I have a 3.02 installation on the W7 machine that works fine. I tried swapping the harmonics files from the 3.02 install to the 3.1.1105 install but no joy and the 3.1.1105 files worked fine on the 3.02 install. That's about the limit of my troubleshooting talents.
__________________
bobofthenorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 14:47   #53
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Congratulation, it's a big work! It's exactly what I would like!
Just a question, I think I'm crazy (we say "boulet" in French!) but I don't understand how to configure AIS port or sentence! For me AIS sentence is something like VDM and I don't see it in the Choice of Accept Sentences.
Than again for all and to all guy who did this job
Gilles from France
__________________
GillesPenot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 15:29   #54
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

I am thrilled to test this release.

Thanks to the all the guys which have been working very hard.

Keep going
__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 15:30   #55
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,248
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Dave

Some crashes involving tides. I had 4 different IDX&tcd files loaded, deleting 3 of these caused a crash so I restarted with ddd.
Trying to display the remaining caused this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	tide.png
Views:	63
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	49441

Restarting again, and tides worked. Adding another tcd file and clicking OK resulted in this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	tide1adding.png
Views:	64
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	49442

Regarding my problem with the Dashboard creating a hang. It's easy to recreate. I just grab the lower right corner and resize the dialog.
If I close down an restart the problem is still there, unless I delete the "AUIPerspective" line in the conf file.

Click image for larger version

Name:	dashbug.png
Views:	68
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	49443
Code:
AUIPerspective=layout2|name=ChartCanvas;caption=;state=768;dir=5;layer=0;row=0;pos=0;prop=100000;bestw=1274;besth=938;minw=-1;minh=-1;maxw=-1;maxh=-1;floatx=-1;floaty=-1;floatw=-1;floath=-1|name=KMLOverlay;caption=KML overlay;state=2099139;dir=4;layer=0;row=0;pos=0;prop=100000;bestw=150;besth=209;minw=-1;minh=-1;maxw=-1;maxh=-1;floatx=50;floaty=150;floatw=-1;floath=-1|name=12e9cf9f-483f-400f-aed3-a665610884f5;caption=Dashboard;state=2099149;dir=4;layer=0;row=0;pos=0;prop=100000;bestw=162;besth=554;minw=162;minh=554;maxw=-1;maxh=-1;floatx=100;floaty=100;floatw=293;floath=589|dock_size(5,0,0)=381|
PS! I should add that the dashboard worked OK for me before the big "datastream" merger in the master.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 20:47   #56
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Thomas...

The was a bug in Options->Tide && Currents. Your symptoms duplicated exactly, although interestingly on gtk only....

Fix push to github master.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 20:50   #57
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

bobofthenorth....

Tides and Currents work fine for me on XP.

Anyone else having trouble with tides/currents on Windows of any flavor?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 20:56   #58
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Thomas...

Cannot reproduce the Dashboard hang on gtk/32.

Any more info available?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 22:23   #59
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,248
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Thomas...

Cannot reproduce the Dashboard hang on gtk/32.

Any more info available?

Dave
Dave

Some more info in this earlier post,
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released.

What else can I help you with? This might be 64 bits only?

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 00:18   #60
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Normandy, France
Boat: Flush Poker, 8.25m (Point Barre)
Posts: 335
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Some more info in this earlier post,
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released.

What else can I help you with? This might be 64 bits only?
Hi Thomas,

Unfortunately, your trace has only wxWidgets internal calls. We can't see where it's called inside OpenCPN or the dashboard plugin, can you send a screenshot with trace after #9?

BTW i have 64bits too, no hang so far... ;-)

Thanks,
Jean-Eudes
__________________

__________________
SethDart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.