Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 08:28   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by P_Dub View Post
Here is what you have asked.
No , I also asked you to try to delete the AUI section from the ini file (with opencpn NOT running), then starting opencpn and test if the same problem still exists.
__________________

__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:38   #32
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,880
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

BrianAlex...

quote:
"Can you reinsert magnetic deviation from WMM to the RMC output? "

This should be working now. Variation coming from WMM should be applied globally, and thus end up in RMC out.

Do you have any logs, or screen shots to share?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:35   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

There is a bit of a learning to do with the new "Connections" interface.
It's important to test this interface. Here is a first test I just did to start learning.
I first tried with a VDR file on the main computer 192.168.0.9. This files contains gps, ais and dsc sentences. I configured like this
Click image for larger version

Name:	net1.png
Views:	98
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	49364
I have ticked the "output on this port" and using UDP I have entered the address of the other computer 192.168.0.2 The port 4661 is picked only because it is open on my local firewall.

On the receiving computer the setup is almost the same. The address is to the main computer, 192.168.0.9.
With this setup the vdr file is mirrored nicely o the second computer.

Stopping the vdr, connecting a gps and adding a new connection, /dev/ttyUSBO
Click image for larger version

Name:	net2.png
Views:	89
Size:	81.3 KB
ID:	49363

With this setup and no changes on the second computer, the gps position is mirrored on the second computer.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:45   #34
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,880
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Thomas....

I discovered the same trick. I have my AIS receiver connected to my main bridge nav computer, in the pilothouse. If I want to observe/debug live AIS from my development workstation, I use a similar setup. Same trick works for Autopilot output debugging.

UDP is an ideal protocol for local distribution of NMEA data, since it is non-connection oriented, so there is no notion of a client and server. It is just a stream of data, like NMEA. The messages typically repeat at reasonable frequencies, so masking any intermittent transmission errors.

Thanks for the info
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:36   #35
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 490
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperWe View Post
No , I also asked you to try to delete the AUI section from the ini file (with opencpn NOT running), then starting opencpn and test if the same problem still exists.

Sorry for the delay. I did too that and it dock at the top when horizontally but not vertically. What am I doing wrong?
Bye
P_Dub
__________________
P_Dub is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:43   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Thunder Bay, On
Boat: C&C Landfall 38
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
BrianAlex...

quote:
"Can you reinsert magnetic deviation from WMM to the RMC output? "

This should be working now. Variation coming from WMM should be applied globally, and thus end up in RMC out.

Do you have any logs, or screen shots to share?

Thanks
Dave
Here are screenshots of portmon and the NMEA window. This is on winxp.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nmea window.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	434.6 KB
ID:	49366   Click image for larger version

Name:	portmon.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	445.3 KB
ID:	49367  

__________________
brianalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:48   #37
Registered User
 
HotRod's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SW Norway
Boat: Nidelv 28, 28ft
Posts: 243
Send a message via MSN to HotRod Send a message via Skype™ to HotRod
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Why has an old translation been used in the later beta's?
I have submitted several updated 3.1.x translations (Norwegian)... It's a bit annoying to have to translate the same lines over and over again just because it's not been updated in the master branch.
Currently the po file says 2.6.1705... Can this be merged with the newer ones, this way I don't have to translate that many lines again...
__________________
Best Regards
OpenCPN Norge - Norwegian OpenCPN community
Frode
HotRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 15:17   #38
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by P_Dub View Post
Sorry for the delay. I did too that and it dock at the top when horizontally but not vertically. What am I doing wrong?
A Horizontal dashboard will only dock at top and bottom.
A Vertical dashboard will only dock at left and right sides.
If this is what you are seeing you are not doing anything wrong, this is just the way it is with horiz/vertical.
__________________
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 16:28   #39
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperWe View Post
Can you repeat the crash without any plugins installed?
If not, try to see which plugin is causing the crash.
after deleting the opencpn.ini and starting at zero with only cm93 installed no crash yet...

will try my old configuration one step after the other...., this will take a while....
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 21:18   #40
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,880
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

brianalex....

Hmmm... I see what you mean.
We insert the mag variation in APA and APB sentences, but not into repeated RMC sentences. And I don't think that we should.

Reason: This is a repeated sentence, not a sentence originated by OpenCPN. I don't think we should be in the general business of receiving, editing and re-issuing arbitrary NMEA sentences. We should pass repeated messages through verbatim.

I'm not sure just now how to handle your particular requirement. Your scenario seems to be not too common, unless I am missing some data.
You may need a custom build to support your AP configuration......

I invite comments.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 21:25   #41
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,880
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Frode...

Sorry you have been creating po files that have not been used for 3.1.
We have not been focused on translation for 3.1, since we knew that a major UI update was coming. I guess we did not communicate that information well enough....

Anyway, send me your latest, and I will push to master. It will show up in the next Beta, coming in a few days only.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:21   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chania, Crete, Greece
Boat: comfortina 32
Posts: 20
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Dear friends

Unfortunately I still cannot get the GPS data from the AIS stream. I tried "accepting" all the sentences in the respective dialogue. Then nothing came through the OpenCPN debugger plugIn and neither AIS nor GPS information could be seen in the OpenCPN program. When the filter list is empty, then I get several NMEA messages in the OpenCPN debugger plugIn, and I get AIS information but still no GPS data in the program (boat remains grey, no GPS signal in the NE corner of the screen). In any case, most of the times I do not get any data in the (new) NMEA Debug window. (WIN 7)

The GPS data as part of the AIS stream did not work for version 3.0, it worked OK from version 3.0.2 on until now.

A couple more questions on this Connections dialogue:
1. Do I need to control checksum?
2. What priority should I use?
3. If no output (to NMEA or autopilot) is needed should the list in the output filter be empty?

Another point (minor for me, as I use windows-7 at my boat and Mac at home): the dashboard plugIn does not appear in the Mac (where no NMEA input is present).

Thank you very much

Alexandros
__________________
Alexandros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 05:32   #43
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Thunder Bay, On
Boat: C&C Landfall 38
Posts: 17
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
brianalex....

Hmmm... I see what you mean.
We insert the mag variation in APA and APB sentences, but not into repeated RMC sentences. And I don't think that we should.
................................
Dave
Dave,

Yes, I understand the logic, however I have been using a version of the master since a commit on July 27th where the variation was inserted into the RMC sentence.
An output of the APB sentence would serve. (beyond my capability to program, alas).
If you can point to the right area of the new master where I could insert the the deviation into RMC, I might be able to do it for my own use.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Brian
__________________
brianalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:40   #44
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,880
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

Alexandros....

You say most of the time you get no data in the new NMEA Debug window.
When you do, what is the configuration of input ports? Can you show us a screen shot of the Connections dialog and the Debug Window at the same time?

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:46   #45
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,880
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1105 Released

BrianAlex....

You should be able to use "ECRMC", which is available on the Output filter list. This will be sent when a route is active only. Will this serve?

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.