Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-11-2011, 02:02   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cruising the world
Boat: Cross 46 Trimaran
Posts: 25
OpenCPN Auto Anchor Mark ?

Hi All,
OpenCPN used to drop an anchor mark at boat's location when certain criteria were met:
1. valid GPS feed
2. No boat motion for x (5?) minutes
3. OpenCPN closed.

This was a great feature. Is it still in 2.5. Doesn't seem to be working any more for me.

Thanks,
Bruce
s/v Migration
__________________

__________________
bbalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 05:58   #2
Registered User
 
SimonV's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 1,316
Re: OpenCPN auto anchor mark?

I dont see the benifit of an auto anchor mark...what if after 15 min you find your location is crap and move 200m away to a better spot now you have two anchors shown. I like the option of putting the mark down when I am happy and also add a bit of text about the anchorage.
__________________

__________________
Simon

https://svgoodonya.blogspot.com.au/
SimonV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 06:38   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almería, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Re: OpenCPN auto anchor mark?

I never understood this feature, in pre-anchor watch days I used to get the occasional mark turning up when I spent some time in a place.. Not too keen on it
__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2011, 00:14   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Re: OpenCPN Auto Anchor Mark ?

Without entering in the debate whether this functionality is good or not , I would say it's still in the code .
You have to find in your init file : "AutoAnchorDrop=0" and change it to AutoAnchorDrop=1
Nevertheless never tested it

JP
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2011, 02:10   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cruising the world
Boat: Cross 46 Trimaran
Posts: 25
Re: OpenCPN Auto Anchor Mark ?

Thanks, JP. The default must have gone from 0 to 1 in some release. I just installed 2.5 on a clean machine so it didn't pick up all my old settings and therefore I thought it was gone. Really appreciate the help.
Cheers,
Bruce
s/v Migration
__________________
bbalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN, Mapsource Chartpak Capt.Don OpenCPN 4 13-11-2011 09:24
OpenCPN Version 2.5 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 86 02-09-2011 19:14
OpenCPN Stops Running BobLarkin OpenCPN 2 31-08-2011 00:38
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.