Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-02-2013, 23:09   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Error code is (0x80070057).

Tried opening the program from desktop icon but nothing appear.

Understand that the fault may have something to do with "64bit" of Windows 8.

TX.
__________________

__________________
Alexang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2013, 04:12   #17
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Boat: Hanse 445 (October 2012)
Posts: 9
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

I have no problem with running under Windows 8 64 bit.

I did have to purchase a new GlobalSat BU-353S4 GPS on Ebay as I had mislaid the previous one. It is a good investment as it is much faster to connect, can find more satellites and is much more sensitive. Was $50 Australian on Ebay. Works well on both my Win 8 desktop and "XP" lightweight Sony laptop which is too old to be upgraded.

I have also installed the start button with the free Classic Shell.

As Win 8 was an upgrade I have the best of both worlds, one mouse move and click and it runs as a Win 7 desktop or as a Win 8 desktop.

My next challenge will be if I get an Android tablet, but it seems from reading that the earlier problems have now been resolved.

Mind you I have a Simrad chart plotter mounted in the cockpit table between the wheels and only use OpenCPN as back up and for planning with CM93 Charts (Jan 2011) which interestingly seem more up to date in the area I usually sail than those on the new Chart Plotter (late 2012) and are easier to update.

John
__________________

__________________
John23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2013, 23:23   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Hi "John23",

I do not intend to purchase any other devices and also will not be hooking up a gps device. Mainly used for general plotting of CM93 charts.

My laptop is brand new and came with windows 8 64bit.

was there any settings you require to change or adjust before/after the installation?


If someone has a immediate remedy please reply a post or you may also email me at alexangyb@hotmail.com . Thanks.


Rgds,
Alex
__________________
Alexang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2013, 05:55   #19
SJF
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 4
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Alex,
I note you said you are trying version 3.0.2. I haven't tried that version but do currently have the latest release candidate working correctly on Windows 8 64 bit.

My suggestion would be that you uninstall the old version and try again with the latest release candidate which you can get from further down the OpenCPN downloads page in the Beta Release section (my understanding is that this is very soon to become the latest stable release anyway).

Kind Regards
Simon
__________________
SJF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 00:28   #20
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Boat: Hanse 445 (October 2012)
Posts: 9
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Hi Alex,

Sorry can't help, for me it just worked, made nice change from my usual experiences.

Still running 3.0.2

Kind regards,

John
__________________
John23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 00:34   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Tx Guys for your comments. I will continue with troubleshoot and keep you posted obce rectified. Gd weekend..
__________________
Alexang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 02:07   #22
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Beneteau 373
Posts: 151
Hi from wet sydney
I would say this is a rights issue? Also you can set xp mode by going into properties of the icon and setting xp mode.
If this fails right click on the icon and select run as administrator
Hope this helps
Matt
__________________
ben373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 07:01   #23
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

I had some issues with Wndows 8 not being able to access certain directories (and I think one was OpenCPN) because of the ownership . I found a neat little zap to the registry that adds a "Take Ownership" to the menu when you right click a directory (or file). Clicking this gives your userid ownership of it. You can get it here:

Take Ownership Shortcut - Windows 7 Support Forums

After installing it you right click on the OpenCPN folder and click "Take Ownership"

It works for Windows 8 for me but I suggest to create a recovery point before running it.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 09:47   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Alex...
As others noted, it might be a permissions issue, the error number as it usually is with these MS errors is actually not very helpful - your's can mean anything from disk hardware problem to incompatible language settings.
What are your language settings? If it's something "not mainstream", especially non-US english, try to change it to US English for a while and run OpenCPN or try the 3.1 RC where this possible problem is solved...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 18:44   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Guys,

Managed to get started with opencpn finally. Had to reinstall with the beta version 3.1.1417 .

Thank you.


Brgds,
Alex
__________________
Alexang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 15:02   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

I tried installing and running OpenCPN on my semi-new HP laptop which I got with Windows 8 preinstalled.

It installs without any error messages, but starting OCPN only give me a disclaimer screen where I can click OK (accepting the disclaimer) and Cancel (rejecting the disclaimer), and than nothing. No error messages, no evidence that anything opens, and I cannot find any errorlog or configuration anywhere.

In short, the program doesn't start and I get no information whatsoever on why
__________________
skippern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 20:17   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

skippern...
Can you look for the logfile in C:\ProgramData\opencpn and post it's contents? Be aware that the folder is hidden by default so you will not be able to see it with default system settings... See Windows 8 How To: 19. Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives - Dr. Z's Blog - Site Home - MSDN Blogs
Also there perhaps could be something in the system event log.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 21:35   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Code:
03:40:54: 2013-04-05
03:40:54:  ------- Starting OpenCPN -------
03:40:54: Version 3.2.0 Build 2013-02-26
03:40:54: wxWidgets version: wxWidgets 2.8.12
03:40:54: MemoryStatus:  mem_total: 2038 mb,  mem_initial: 7 mb
03:40:54: SData_Locn is C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\
03:40:54: Creating new Config_File: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\opencpn.ini
03:40:54: Styles loading from C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\uidata\styles.xml
03:40:54: No styles found at: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\
03:40:54: No styles found at: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\.opencpn\
03:40:54: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 33.358, -79.282
03:40:54: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 33.358, -79.282
03:40:54: System default Language:  pt_BR
03:40:54: Retrieving initial language selection from Windows Registry
3:40:54 AM: Opencpn language set to:  en_US
3:40:59 AM: ChartSymbols loaded from C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\s57data\chartsymbols.xml
3:40:59 AM: Using s57data in C:\Program Files\OpenCPN\s57data
3:40:59 AM: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 33.358, -79.282
3:40:59 AM: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 33.358, -79.282
__________________
skippern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 11:09   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

Solved!

After upgrading to OpenCPN 3.2.2 and running the No GL version I finnally got it to play!
__________________
skippern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 18:10   #30
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida and New Jersey
Boat: O'Day, 26, 25' 8"
Posts: 19
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 8

I too have learned that my Globsat BU 353 will not work under Windows 8 without a work round.

The work around, of using a old version of the driver, seems to come with only one downside - you need to turn off the automatic update of software. There is a sub-option of letting Windows find and download updates, then you decide what to implement. That seems OK, and maybe even better for software that seemingly has too frequent updates.

Although the cost of the Windows 8 compatible BU - 353 S4 at about $36 is not too bad for keeping things current.

Anyone have new experience with this issue? Thoughts on how best to proceed?

Ken
__________________

__________________
emenskl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.