Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-10-2010, 10:54   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Back in beautiful Cartagena
Boat: Slipper 42
Posts: 55
OpenCPN and Windows 7

I have just bought my new Acer Aspire one, as advised, and it came with windows 7. It appears that this mix doesn't work. My old (very old) PC has XP and runs perfectly but is hardly suitable for on-board use. How can I get Opencpn to run on my beautiful, shiny new Acer?

Motley.
__________________

__________________
Motley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 11:05   #2
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
AFAIK OpenCPN has no problems running on Windows 7 32/64 Bit.
I myself have a Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit and OpenCPN runs perfectly well.

So what version of Windows 7 do you have?
Which version of OpenCPN did you try to install?
What where the problems?

Like always: The more input - the better the support.

Gunther
__________________

__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 11:07   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
rebel heart's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,190
Images: 3
I have Windows 7 64; works fine for me.
__________________
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 11:40   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Back in beautiful Cartagena
Boat: Slipper 42
Posts: 55
I downloaded the same charts that I have on the PC and I added them to the selection but they don't show on Opencpn itself. When I try to find them on the world map the outlines aren't there.
__________________
Motley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 11:59   #5
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley View Post
When I try to find them on the world map the outlines aren't there.
But chart outlines are enabled (F12)?
Which charts are you using?
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 13:15   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Back in beautiful Cartagena
Boat: Slipper 42
Posts: 55
I'm not using ANY charts just n ow... That's the problem! But I downloaded the US Pilot charts for the Caribbean and the chart from Colombia. Both these worked fine on the PC but all I get now is the basic world outline with no charts shown. I have tried to select these charts from the folder and they seem to get selected but in the overall world outline picture, there's nothing. I'm going nuts here!
__________________
Motley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 13:46   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motley View Post
I'm not using ANY charts just n ow... That's the problem! But I downloaded the US Pilot charts for the Caribbean and the chart from Colombia. Both these worked fine on the PC but all I get now is the basic world outline with no charts shown. I have tried to select these charts from the folder and they seem to get selected but in the overall world outline picture, there's nothing. I'm going nuts here!
Can we have a look at your logfile please. Instructions to find it on Windows at the bottom of this page. Installing OpenCPN | Official OpenCPN Homepage
You may have to rename the file with a ".doc" ending to be able to upload it to the forum.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2010, 20:11   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Back in beautiful Cartagena
Boat: Slipper 42
Posts: 55
I couldn't work out how to send the log (whatever that may be); so I just had another go at sorting out opencpn. That's when I remembered that you DON'T select individual charts. So I selected the folders instead and BINGO! (Some people are just too stupid to be helped). Thanks to everyone who selflessly tried anyway...

Motley.
__________________
Motley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 01:59   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 8
Lightbulb Open CPN

I cant get past the black screen with red outline after I downloaded charts. I've not used a chart plotter before. I read the chart download manual notes on the Open CPN w'site but still can't work out how to view the geographical charts. Can anyone help - Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Hawyeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN for Windows Mobile? BorisK. OpenCPN 4 03-07-2011 15:04
Raytech RNS and Windows 7 and Windows XP kene66 Marine Electronics 2 23-02-2010 15:50
Windows ? BruceC Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 09-11-2009 10:41
windows shawnkillam Monohull Sailboats 22 13-11-2008 14:50
Sweating Windows 1sailaway Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 10-11-2004 10:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.