Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2015, 11:54   #1
Registered User
 
Wannabe-007's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the South Pacific
Boat: Leopard 40 Catamaran
Posts: 243
OpenCPN and Windows 10

Sorry if it has been asked/answered already, but I couldn't find any information.

Windows 10 upgrades are rolling out all over the place, so whats the story with OpenCPN and Windows 10?
__________________

__________________
----
Attitude is EVERYTHING!
Wannabe-007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2015, 12:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

There is no story, it just works.

Pavel


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2015, 13:25   #3
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Si... Can confirm OpenCPN works fine...
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2015, 20:21   #4
Registered User
 
Wannabe-007's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the South Pacific
Boat: Leopard 40 Catamaran
Posts: 243
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Thats the best kind of story!

Someone should update the 'platforms' section of the about page and add Windows 10.
OpenCPN | Official OpenCPN Homepage
__________________
----
Attitude is EVERYTHING!
Wannabe-007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2015, 21:27   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Someone did
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 16:01   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

OK OpenCPN as such works in Windows 10 but I can't seem to get it to receive a gps feed from my bluetooth gps receiver. The Windows bluetooth drivers in Windows 8 were suspect, fixed in Windows 8.1, but what about Windows 10?
I have an Acer W810 Windows tablet and a Holux m-1000 bluetooth gps receiver.
This combination worked fine in Windows 8.1. As far as I can tell I have installed all the required drivers, looked in Device manager to find the relevant COM ports, gone into OpenCPN settings configuration "Connections" and added the connections with a baud rate of 38400 - and nothing happens. The tablet setting indicate that Bluetooth is ON and paired with the Holux m-1000.
Is there something I am missing? It is some time since I set up OpenCPN with Windows 8.1 but from memory I did not do anything different then.
The gps receiver send a signal to a different app on my phone OK. To eliminate any possible interference from the receiver being paired with a different device I powered of the phone.
Thanks for any available help
Athol
__________________
atholr2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 16:17   #7
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by atholr2001 View Post
OK OpenCPN as such works in Windows 10 but I can't seem to get it to receive a gps feed from my bluetooth gps receiver. The Windows bluetooth drivers in Windows 8 were suspect, fixed in Windows 8.1, but what about Windows 10?
I have an Acer W810 Windows tablet and a Holux m-1000 bluetooth gps receiver.
This combination worked fine in Windows 8.1. As far as I can tell I have installed all the required drivers, looked in Device manager to find the relevant COM ports, gone into OpenCPN settings configuration "Connections" and added the connections with a baud rate of 38400 - and nothing happens. The tablet setting indicate that Bluetooth is ON and paired with the Holux m-1000.
Is there something I am missing? It is some time since I set up OpenCPN with Windows 8.1 but from memory I did not do anything different then.
The gps receiver send a signal to a different app on my phone OK. To eliminate any possible interference from the receiver being paired with a different device I powered of the phone.
Thanks for any available help
Athol
Its definately not an OpenCPN issue, more like a hardware integration issue.

First thing to do is to open the NMEA Debug window and see if you are getting any data at all. If you are not getting data, then something is wrong in the config of the com port or OpenCPN.

If you are seeing data, then a screenshot of the data would help. I had an issue with my GPS device where it stopped sending NMEA data and started sending another format. I had to use a utility to chang it back to NMEA.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 16:30   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Hi, I forgot to mention that there was no data in the Debug window. I don't believe that the issue is with OpenCPN but is as you say a hardware integration or Windows 10 issue. The setup was working fine up to last week with Windows 8.1. Unfortunately I can not go back to Windows 8.1. Is there any cinfiguration settings that I am overlooking?
Athol
__________________
atholr2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 16:32   #9
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Alright.. Post a screenshot of your Device Manager and the properties of the COM port. Also a screenshot of "Connection" screen in OpenCPN. Something is misconfiged for sure..
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 17:17   #10
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

I've managed to upgrade ms surfacepro3 to win 10. Ocpn is working fine.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 17:23   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Thanks. Here are some screenshots.

Athol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150821_105204.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	107674   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150821_105454.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	130.3 KB
ID:	107675  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20150821_105601.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	107676   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150821_110144.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	104.1 KB
ID:	107677  

__________________
atholr2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 17:28   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

I have been using a holux gps slim 240 bluetooth and find that if it does not connect I need to delete/remove the bt device and reinstall it. When they are getting paired I put in 0000 for the code and it is accepted. Once paired successfully your device should reconnect readily when you turn it on. If it does not work try turning it off for a minute then back on. Make sure you have a com port for the device under Device Manager and note the com port number. Then make sure you have created a connection com port with that number in ocpn settings -connections. Using correct baud etc.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 17:33   #13
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Yup I would remove the bluetooth device and com ports in device manager. Then repair.

Also check the baud rate on the com ports in device manager (properties of the com port). Ensure its set correctly.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 19:02   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

Atlior
Your screenshots look very similar to mine. I have double coms with bluetooth similar.
I just use one of the com ports, the first one that shows a nmea gps data stream in ocpn.

TravellerW
Agreed about setting baud properly in both the device manager com port and in ocpn. I often find them off, but my puck gps works anyway, however holux may not.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 19:02   #15
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: OpenCPN and Windows 10

"Off" as in incorrect.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8 Land an OpenCPN 7 04-06-2013 08:24
OpenCPN and Windows Desktop Position svCopacetic OpenCPN 4 14-07-2011 10:14
OpenCPN and Windows xp Laodice OpenCPN 2 14-03-2011 17:12
OpenCPN and Windows 7 Motley OpenCPN 8 28-10-2010 01:59
Raytech RNS and Windows 7 and Windows XP kene66 Marine Electronics 2 23-02-2010 15:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.