Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-01-2012, 21:32   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Romania
Posts: 2
OpenCPN and GPS

Good morning,i have OpenCPN and a usb gps receiver Skylab SKM55,the problem i have is the position,it always showing my position sideway,even if i have full signal at the gps receiver.The difference for showing me sideway it differs from 10-20m up to 50-60m.I wonder,i must calibrate it somewhere?
__________________

__________________
Gabriel27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 10:55   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,248
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

What chart are you using, and what is the chart datum?
Is it WGS84 compatible.
If you compare he gps reading of a known object with the lat&long from google-earth - is there still an offset?

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 11:13   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Romania
Posts: 2
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

I'm using an Inland ECDIS 2.1(.000) chart made by local administration of the river for Danube river.And from what i've read on google about chart datum...this map have only 3 values of depth from which are made the contoures.
And unfortunately i haven't had time to compare it the gps reading on google earth..
And what do you mean by WGS84?
Also on the software which was delivered with the gps the altitude was never correct,does this have an effect of the position on map?
__________________
Gabriel27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 14:26   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

I am using a Garmin etrex GPS connected to my computer running OpenCPN. This GPS works flawlessly with other mapping software I have but not with OpenCPN. My settings in the OpenCPN Tools/GPS menu are correct & Open CPN seems to recognize that my GPS is attached to the correct com port but my data stream window is empty & my location is not showing on the chart. Can anyone help me complete my OpenCPN/GPS connection so OpenCPN correctly identifys my location?

Your assistance is appreciated.

Mark
__________________
Mark Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 16:10   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

Also: The OpenCPN manual said that OpenCPN users were experiencing problems with the GlobalSat BU-353 GPS receiver. Have these problems been worked out or is the BU-353 still not recommened for use with OpenCPN running in Windows 7? If they have been worked out I would consider buying the BU-353 to run in OpenCPN.

Thanks again, Mark
__________________
Mark Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 11:34   #6
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ward View Post
I am using a Garmin etrex GPS connected to my computer running OpenCPN. This GPS works flawlessly with other mapping software I have but not with OpenCPN. My settings in the OpenCPN Tools/GPS menu are correct & Open CPN seems to recognize that my GPS is attached to the correct com port but my data stream window is empty & my location is not showing on the chart. Can anyone help me complete my OpenCPN/GPS connection so OpenCPN correctly identifys my location?

Your assistance is appreciated.

Mark
Mark, assuming you are on a windows computer and since other apps can see the gps, perhaps try "xport" or a similar emulator as an intermediary just to see. It's a useful app anyways, because you can run two nav programs from the same gps at the same time!
The other things that come to mind are the settings in the gps itself.Double-check and Set this to NMEA output,not "Garmin".
also, a "search" of this opencpn forum or the navigation forum may turn up something solved specific to the etrex.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 11:53   #7
Registered User
 
familycruisers's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On the boat
Boat: Westerly Centaur. 26'
Posts: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to familycruisers
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

My BU-353 works well. Just make sure you let it do its thing before opening OpenCPN.
__________________
familycruisers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 13:19   #8
Registered User
 
lolarose's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Re: OpenCPN and GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by familycruisers View Post
My BU-353 works well. Just make sure you let it do its thing before opening OpenCPN.
same here. i am using bu-353 for few years now with opencpn and never had one single problem. actually i already crossed biscay twice using this combination, only what you just said, i first let bu-353 to pick up satelite and then i open ocpn.
__________________

__________________
lolarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Loses GPS Puck After Standby StanL OpenCPN 12 16-12-2011 02:39
Open CPN and Google Earth bgrimwade OpenCPN 19 09-12-2011 16:32
OpenCPN - GPS Feed from PolarCOM TritonYawl OpenCPN 1 01-10-2011 20:51
OpenCPN Version 2.5 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 86 02-09-2011 19:14
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.