Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-01-2014, 06:54   #1
Registered User
 
mdsilvers's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Boat: Antares 44i - Field Trip
Posts: 93
OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

I currently have a Furuno NN3D chart plotter integrated with MaxSea on my laptop over ethernet.

I'm wanting use OpenCPN and use the NMEA from NN3D to feed GPS, etc, etc to the program. I can't seem to find anywhere the IP and Port for the NMEA broadcasts from the Furuno NavNet. MaxSea works great, but it automatically configures the instruments from the data stream...but does not show the IP, Port, etc. I'm assuming this is probably a UDP stream, but not sure, and am getting frustrated.

Anyone have any ideas on how to use OpenCPN with Furnuno NavNet??

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Mark

http://svfieldtrip.blogspot.com
mdsilvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2014, 07:06   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Boat: 50' catamaran
Posts: 432
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

You will probably not get any help from the Furuno or Maxsea people.
I would also like to know and if you find a way, I hope you will post the details.
__________________

__________________
http://www.svrevelations.com
Revelations is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2014, 07:28   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

mdsilvers....

What we need is a capture from WiresharkWireshark Download to see what is actually present on the network as produced by NN3d. Maybe we can decode this, and figure out the ip/port and datastream contents.

Good Luck
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2014, 08:01   #4
Registered User
 
sy_gilana's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On board
Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Posts: 1,101
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Try this, I presume youre on windoze.
Get it all up and running as per normal.

click Start, type cmd (enter) and in the black window that appears type "ipconfig /all"

There you should see all the info you need.

OpenCPN ROCKS!
__________________
Tight sheets to ya.
http://gilana.org
sy_gilana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2014, 03:37   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdsilvers View Post
Anyone have any ideas on how to use OpenCPN with Furnuno NavNet??
With the disclaimer that I don't have NavNet to check this, a number of sources, including comments on panbo articles and a note on an entry in opencpn flyspray suggest it's an IPv4 broadcast on udp port 10021, so create a network data connection, set it for UDP, set the address to 0.0.0.0 and port to 10021. Please do report back as to whether this works or not.
__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2014, 16:08   #6
Registered User
 
StarryHorizons's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Helia
Posts: 173
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Just curious, why are you looking to make the switch to OpenCPN from MaxSea?
StarryHorizons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2014, 17:49   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
mdsilvers....

What we need is a capture from WiresharkWireshark Download to see what is actually present on the network as produced by NN3d. Maybe we can decode this, and figure out the ip/port and datastream contents.

Good Luck
Dave
The NMEA messages are sent as UDP broadcast to 172.31.255.255.

All messages are sent on port 10021.

In addition messages from fast updating sources like compass and wind are sent on their separate ports.

The contents in the UDP packets seems to be a prefix/extra information followed by the NMEA message in 0183 format.

I have run OpenCPN with NMEA logging activated, and it is receiving the messages, but it looks like it is not able to decode the contents.
The printouts are all like this:
Code:
09:14:18 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10036 (Priority: 0)
09:14:30 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:14:30 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10034 (Priority: 0)
09:14:39 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:14:39 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10038 (Priority: 0)
09:15:02 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:15:02 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10021 (Priority: 0)
09:15:04 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:15:04 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10038 (Priority: 0)
09:15:09 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:15:10 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10036 (Priority: 0)
09:15:16 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:15:16 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10034 (Priority: 0)
09:15:30 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:15:30 CET: Changing NMEA Datasource for %& to UDP:0.0.0.0:10038 (Priority: 0)
09:15:56 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+

09:16:01 CET: MEH.NMEA Sentence received...$%&'()*+
This is with version 3.2.2 on OpenSUSE Linux.
I have a working build environment set up, and have added som debug logging to try to figure out what is going on.

I have tried to attach a Wireshark capture I have done, but it seems this is not a valid file type/extension.
__________________
jpterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2014, 18:03   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Looks like it may work now when I have changed the file extension to .doc.

The extension is actually .pcapng.
Attached Files
File Type: doc NoRadar2.doc (141.9 KB, 85 views)
__________________
jpterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2014, 15:21   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Plenty of interest there. Notably...if data were being parsed how the NMEA claim everyone should have been doing it all along (when TAG blocks broke a lot of people's code with -0183v4) I think you'd be OK. Looks like the port 10021 (everything except $HCHDG $GPMWV and RADAR??) stuff has an 8 byte preamble with what looks like a 2 byte sequence number (?) at the beginning. If you don't assume the sentence starts at the beginning of the packet but take it from the $/! to CR LF it looks like it'd be fine.

If you're using linux you could try running it through the 1.1beta version of kplex before feeding it into opencpn: that implements parsing which should cope with it (as opposed to earlier versions which like of course would drop sentences preceded by TAG blocks or extraneous characters :-). I can expand on that with an appropriate config if anyone's interested in trying it.

Is that a radar at 172.31.254.3?
__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2014, 16:11   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Yes the radar is at 172.31.254.3.
When in standby it only uses port 10034.
When active it looks like the radar data is on port 10024.

I have managed to compile and install kplex.
If you post an appropriate config I can probably test this tomorrow.
Some instructions on how to do it would also be good.
__________________
jpterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2014, 16:58   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpterj View Post
If you post an appropriate config I can probably test this tomorrow.
Some instructions on how to do it would also be good.
You can do it from the command line or via a config file, as a daemon or in the foreground. This would be the command line taking in broadcast on 10021 and re-broadcasting (in a hopefully more sanitised form) on 10110 over device eth0 (modify for different interfaces):
kplex -f- broadcast:direction=in,port=10021 broadcast:direction=out,device=eth0,port=10110

(any line breaks were not intentional there)

If you want to do it via a config file and give the data to opencpn via a 38400 baud pty called /var/tmp/navnet which opencpn can use like a serial interface, set up your config file thus:
[broadcast]
direction=in
port=10021
[pty]
direction=out
baud=38400
filename=/var/tmp/navnet
mode=master

Any stupid errors entirely due to it being half past rioja in this timezone.
Do use the 1.1beta not the 1.0: the latter is stable but the parsing is different (as discussed). Do let me know if it works: it's just a theory :-)
__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2014, 17:33   #12
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

muttnik...

Feel free to post a patch correcting the NMEA0183 code to parse starting from the $ delimiter, if you like. Its on my list, but seems to be receding over the horizon....

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2014, 09:36   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by muttnik View Post
You can do it from the command line or via a config file, as a daemon or in the foreground. This would be the command line taking in broadcast on 10021 and re-broadcasting (in a hopefully more sanitised form) on 10110 over device eth0 (modify for different interfaces):
kplex -f- broadcast:direction=in,port=10021 broadcast:direction=out,device=eth0,port=10110

(any line breaks were not intentional there)

If you want to do it via a config file and give the data to opencpn via a 38400 baud pty called /var/tmp/navnet which opencpn can use like a serial interface, set up your config file thus:
[broadcast]
direction=in
port=10021
[pty]
direction=out
baud=38400
filename=/var/tmp/navnet
mode=master

Any stupid errors entirely due to it being half past rioja in this timezone.
Do use the 1.1beta not the 1.0: the latter is stable but the parsing is different (as discussed). Do let me know if it works: it's just a theory :-)
This worked perfectly!

It looks like OpenCPN picks up information from all the devices that are connected to the MFD, including AIS. It even handles AIS-SART correctly, but the MFD does not pick it up at all.

I have an Em-Trak B100 that supplies the MFD via NMEA 0183 and the Raymarine i70 via NMEA 2000.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0203.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	368.6 KB
ID:	76471   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0208.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	343.3 KB
ID:	76472  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0210.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	321.0 KB
ID:	76473  
__________________
jpterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2014, 11:50   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by muttnik View Post
if data were being parsed how the NMEA claim everyone should have been doing it all along (when TAG blocks broke a lot of people's code with -0183v4) I think you'd be OK.
Just to be certain as forums/usenet have huge potential for ambiguity especially with an international audience....this was in no way a criticism of opencpn's parsing. It's actually an ironic comment regarding the NMEA's statement that nmea-0183v4 *is* backwards compatible as long as everyone followed the letter of the implementation doc. Which of course open source developers cannot legally reference.

Anyway, glad jpterj has things working. I suppose it would be nice to figure out the navnet protocol. I will take a look at the opencpn parsing when I get a chance but suspect it might be non-trivial: I'm good with the one-liners, less adept with the serious OO-fu.
__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2014, 14:24   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: OpenCPN & Furuno NavNet3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Its on my list, but seems to be receding over the horizon....
Are you sure you haven't addressed it already? Looks like I was wrong: Barring no subtle error or simple misunderstanding on my part, in DataStream::OnSocketEvent you look for a "*" then the $ which precedes it. Which should drop what I was supposing was confusing OpenCPN. So I was talking nonsense.
__________________

__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, furuno, navnet, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.