Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-09-2016, 10:05   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: French Polynesia
Boat: Allied 39
Posts: 413
OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

We have been using OpenCPN for years and for the past two years loading up the fleet code from Fiji for the SP. I know Pavel has some upgrades to OpenCPN fleet code plugin in the que.

Version 4.4

When the fleet code button is depressed we can see the screen flicker like its activating the fleet code but can not see it on the screen. For the past 6 months the started fleet code would appear on very edge of the bottom of the screen. Now it can't be seen at all

Have tried reinstalling OpenCPN / fleet code with the same issue.

Have put the question out to the SSB fleet and had a number of boats say the same thing. Like us they have given up on using the fleet code plug in and Have reverted back to using physPlot but would like to start using it again with OpenCPN.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Chuck
Jacaranda
Tuamotus, French Polynesia



jacaranda-journey
__________________

__________________
www.jacarandajourney.com
chouliha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2016, 10:41   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,194
Re: OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

I just tried the plugin, downloading Nadi fleetcode from saildocs and pasting the raw data.
No problem displaying the data set, all seemed OK.
Using Kubuntu 14.04 + OpenGl

What operating system are you using?

/Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2016, 11:11   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: French Polynesia
Boat: Allied 39
Posts: 413
OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

Windows 7

Others (us too)have said it worked ok for some time and then moved down the screen and finally unable to view.

www.jacarandajourney.com
__________________
www.jacarandajourney.com
chouliha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2016, 14:36   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

Chuck...
Try the build I have just uploaded to opencpn.org. And a little rant - The problems you guys don't report won't get magically discovered and fixed. And I see exactly zero reports of this problem in the OpenCPN bugtracker or the plugin's Github...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2016, 21:05   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: French Polynesia
Boat: Allied 39
Posts: 413
Re: OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Chuck...
Try the build I have just uploaded to opencpn.org. And a little rant - The problems you guys don't report won't get magically discovered and fixed. And I see exactly zero reports of this problem in the OpenCPN bugtracker or the plugin's Github...

Pavel

Hi Pavel

First I want to say I think you guys.... the designers / developers are great! Thanks so much for all you do.

This is the first time that we have had any real internet for more than a few minutes in about 8 months. Barely able to get email in these tiny villages. Hence not reporting it sooner. To be honest I have never heard of bug tracker or github until now. I guess that's what happens when you are out cruising away from civilization and away from the cruiser forum for so long.

I downloaded the current fleet code plugin as you suggested and it has solved the problem with the fleet code screen disappearing. I did notice that the fleet code window that opens (allowing you to point to the file to use)has only an "X" in the upper right hand corner(exit) and no way to reduce the screen. I am not sure if this was the way the old screen worked or not.

It's working for me now and I will pass the word on the morning SSB net that you fixed it. Will also mention bug tracker and github as well.

Thank you again for your quick response. Moving out of Internet range tomorrow for probably a month.

Regards

Chuck
Jacaranda
Tuamotus
French Polynesia





www.jacarandajourney.com
__________________
www.jacarandajourney.com
chouliha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2016, 03:41   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

Chuck, there are more changes in the display logic - just click the plugin icon in the toolbar to hide the window, then again to show it, the fleetcode overlay stays displayed until you close the window using the X or Close buttons



Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2016, 09:05   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: French Polynesia
Boat: Allied 39
Posts: 413
Re: OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Chuck, there are more changes in the display logic - just click the plugin icon in the toolbar to hide the window, then again to show it, the fleetcode overlay stays displayed until you close the window using the X or Close buttons



Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum

Pavel

I knew it had to be something clever like that!

On another note.... Was curious if you may have also addressed the issue we discussed many months ago where a certain Fiji fleet code forecast would cause the fleet code plug in to show corrupted data? I think we last traded emails about 6-7 months ago? You mentioned at the time it was on your to do list.

Thank you again

Chuck





www.jacarandajourney.com
__________________
www.jacarandajourney.com
chouliha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2016, 13:25   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: OpenCPN and Fleet Code Issues

Chuck..
No, that one is still sitting in the queue.

Sorry

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAC Fleet Compatible with OpenCPN 4.2.0 Maine_bill OpenCPN 23 26-02-2016 11:47
opencpn code structure... ma5645 OpenCPN 7 07-09-2013 09:29
What IDE use to edit openCPN source code zodd OpenCPN 17 17-05-2013 07:31
PlugIns: Fleet Code and GRIB kiltym OpenCPN 8 05-01-2013 04:53


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.