Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2013, 19:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

For the life of me I cannot figure out how to configure the GPS unit to work with Open CPN. The GPS is working away spitting out streams of numbers but OpenCPN seems disinterested. When I look in the help section of OpenCPN i see some great instructions for Windows 7 or XP but Windows 8 is a different animal.

Help. Someone throw me a life line.
__________________

__________________
Land an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 19:17   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

Land an...
Like your story telling style, but could we have a look at those "streams of numbers" and your config, please? Screenshot of the connections Tab in OpenCPN's Toolbox and something showing what your GPS spits out will be good for a start.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 19:38   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Re: OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

hmmm. tried a print screen to show you the GPS window but nothing appeared when I tried to paste here.

in GPS window I got to chose port (COM4) and Baud rate (4800). When I start the GPS there are just streams of lines that circle up the page

in the OpenCPN window Im asked to filter NMEA course and filter period (1)

under properties i chose serial and port and priority (1).

then I can accept "checksum" or use garmin. I chose checksum

finally I can accept only sentences or ignore sentences

Does this help. Or do you know how I can cut and paste into this message

Thanks
__________________
Land an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 19:51   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

We really need to see what those lines contain You have to save the image you capture with the printscreen first and then attach it as a file here.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 20:24   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
Re: OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

sent you a PM. W8 has me flustered
__________________
Land an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:54   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 217
Re: OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

Land an - are you sure you have the correct baud rate? BU-353 will normally be 9600 and if you set 4800 you'll possibly get streams of rubbish ad infinitum.
__________________
hoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 07:36   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 40
It's working now at 4800 baud. Would it work better at 9600? Eat more power though?
__________________
Land an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:24   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: OpenCPN and BU-353S4 and Windows 8

Land an...
It will change nothing, 4800 is more than enough to transfer what this GPS produces.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.